Forum Thread: Data Exception at PSI Startup - (XP-SP3)

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
edmundbill Data Exception at PSI Startup - (XP-SP3)
Member 5th Jul, 2011 17:08
Ranking: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 5th Jul, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Both PSI V2 and PSIV1 getting DEP at startup. It used to work. Any advice appreciated.

--
XP-SP3
Dell Inspiron

edmundbill RE: Data Exception at PSI Startup - (XP-SP3)
Member 5th Jul, 2011 17:59
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 5th Jul 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Further to my original note: I recently reinstalled PSI after rebuilding my system (after an HD failure). It worked prior to the rebuild. Here is the debug data for the V2 failure. The V1 failure debug data is similar

Event type: BEX
P1 : psi.exe
P2 : 2.0.0.3003
P3 : 4dac2397
P4 : unknown
p5 : 0.0.0.0
p6 : 00000000
p7 : 00000000
P8 : C0000005
p9 : 00000009

--
XP-SP3
Dell Inspiron
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Data Exception at PSI Startup - (XP-SP3)
Handling Contributor 5th Jul, 2011 21:37
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Try to right click on My Computer> Properties> Advanced> Performance> Settings> Data Execution Prevention then add the application to the exception list to see if that helps

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
edmundbill RE: Data Exception at PSI Startup - (XP-SP3)
Member 6th Jul, 2011 00:07
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 5th Jul 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Thanx for the response. I had already tried to exclude PSI from DEP checking ... with no success.

--
XP-SP3
Dell Inspiron
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Data Exception at PSI Startup - (XP-SP3)
Member 6th Jul, 2011 11:26
Hi,

Have you applied all available patches?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
edmundbill RE: Data Exception at PSI Startup - (XP-SP3)
Member 6th Jul, 2011 14:13
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 5th Jul 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
What patches should I check?
PSI is at level 2.0.0.3003.
Windows Sp3 is fully up-to-date for critical updates.

Thanx for the help.

--
XP-SP3
Dell Inspiron
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Data Exception at PSI Startup - (XP-SP3)
Member 7th Jul, 2011 09:10
Hi,

Sorry for being vague - I was referring to Windows Patches.

Are you running any security software, particularly any with real-time monitoring? If so, be sure to add psi_tray.exe and psi.exe as excepted programs in this security program or suite.

Have you had similar issues with other programs, or have you disabled any services or windows features considered nonessential?

Hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
edmundbill RE: Data Exception at PSI Startup - (XP-SP3)
Member 7th Jul, 2011 14:10
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 5th Jul 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
I have excluded the 2 psi programs (and restarted the PC), but it still fails.

I also deleted ERROR-END, in case there was a conflict. No help.

I can't recall changing any settings recently.

Thanx for trying.


--
XP-SP3
Dell Inspiron
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Data Exception at PSI Startup - (XP-SP3)
Member 8th Jul, 2011 09:59
Hi,

Please ensure that you're running the latest version by reinstalling from the link in my signature.

Then, try this:

1) Go to Start > Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services.
Please ensure that both the 'Secunia PSI Agent' and 'Secunia Update Agent' are set to 'Started' under status and 'Automatic' under 'Startup type'

2) Go to where you installed the PSI (Probably C:\Program Files\Secunia\PSI), right-click PSI.exe, click Properties, go to the Compatibility tab, and set a check at 'Turn off advanced text
services for this program'

3) Go to Control Panel > Regional and language options > Languages Tab > Details > Advanced. From here, set a check at 'Turn off advanced text services'
(Please note that this is a global setting unlike what is described in step 2).

hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
edmundbill RE: Data Exception at PSI Startup - (XP-SP3)
Member 9th Jul, 2011 00:26
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 5th Jul 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
That fixed it!! Well done Emil.

The only setting that I had to change was #3 ... "Turn OFF advanced text services".

After turning this setting off, PSI ran successfully. To double-check, I turned ON the setting and reran PSI; it failed, so that's the culprit.

Thanx for all the help.



--
XP-SP3
Dell Inspiron
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.