Forum Thread: Secunia is not that clever

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
OSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Safety1st Secunia is not that clever
Member 24th Dec, 2008 21:26
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 24th Dec, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I installed Secunia after reading about it in the latest issue of Computer Active. But I have to admit it is not all that good.
It scanned my PC and then gave me a list of insecure software - software which is, I may add, the latest update from the software manufacturers. Anyway, I emailed the said manufacturers reported as being insecure by Secunia and I received their replys.
And guess what? I have all the latest updates and their software is secure (Adobe, Sun Java).
So, I did a reboot and another scan with Secunia - and once again I received the same results, reporting that the software was a risk and needed updating.
I can not update software on my PC which is the latest from the vendor.

So, Secunia, do you have an answer for this?

This user no longer exists RE: Secunia is not that clever
Member 24th Dec, 2008 21:59
A listing of what Secunia reports would be helpful as its Cristal Ball does not let us peer into your system.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Safety1st RE: Secunia is not that clever
Member 24th Dec, 2008 22:06
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 24th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 24th Dec, 2008 22:07
Fair Cop :-)

Both Software are reported as "insecure" and need an update. But they are the latest from Adobe & Java
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Secunia is not that clever
Handling Contributor 25th Dec, 2008 01:04
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
You have not stated which Adobe product is showing as insecure. Flash Player? Shockwave? Adobe reader?

In the case of Java you may well have the latest update installed but have you uninstalled all the older versions? Java do not do this by default.

To purge your system of old Java programmes go to:

http://raproducts.org/

Download the binary JAVARA file to desktop & use it from there.

Maurice




--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wolfenbuttel01@hetnet.nl RE: Secunia is not that clever
Member 25th Dec, 2008 17:46
Score: 0
Posts: 28
User Since: 10th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Safety1st,
Secunia is clever enough! Could state that your machine contains maybe
remnants of old programs. Did you ever use Secunia? It is a pity I could only read your message. I had better hear the sound of
a voice so thrilling ne'er was heard
in springtime from the cuckoobird
(W.W.)
Philip
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.