Forum Thread: Microsoft problem report.

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Open Discussions

This thread has been marked as resolved.
Leendert Kip Microsoft problem report.
Contributor 5th Aug, 2011 07:43
Ranking: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Last edited on 5th Aug, 2011 07:45

At startup of my pc I get a problem report with information about a problem with PSIKey. 1) Solve a problem with PSIKey. 2) Click for download from website Protexis Inc. 3) Result a file called LicensingServiceInstaller, type: windows installer package 861 kb. Does anybody know what this is? Do I need this and why?

--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL

Post "RE: Microsoft problem report." has been selected as an answer.
puget1 RE: Microsoft problem report.
Member 5th Aug, 2011 08:42
Score:
Posts: 612
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 5th Aug, 2011 09:24
@Leendert Kip

Here are two links advising of this product: http://licensing-service-installer.software.inform... and http://www.protexis.com/ as for what they really are; I found no reference as to them being thought of as Spyware or anything malicious,but with so much "SCAREWARE" out in cyper space,who really knows for sure. Hope this helps. How did you come by this? Was it a piece of download "dross" that came with something else.

I found this:The Windows Installer (previously known as Microsoft Installer) is a software .... Windows Installer service (specifically, the LocalSystem account). ... Custom Actions typically validate product license keys, or initialise more complex ...

In this thread http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/108... will note E.Petersens reply to "click on the wildcard and report what you find". I have done this on three seperate occasions and was going to report what i found directly to E. Petersen. The three things Are 1. server not available 2. Microsoft questioning the certificate of Secunia PSI. 3.A direct form from Microsoft asking and stating that you should not proceed with opening page. I am not sure but I think Anthony Wells had someone questioning certificates once before.
I am wondering if it is possible that this may be an answer with so many people having problems with opening PSI. They swear they have done everything in the FAQ but nothing works. We know that Secunia is working, so I have questioned that something is blocking poss. at the ISP level. I wonder if it has to do with certificates and ISP individual policies????????? Thanks for a can of worms

--
Windows 10 64bit

There is No magic bullet in computing; only work a rounds.
















Was this reply relevant?
+3
-1
Maurice Joyce RE: Microsoft problem report.
Handling Contributor 5th Aug, 2011 09:40
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Not sure it has got anything to do with Secunia PSI as a programme.

It is not dross nor is it scareware. It is a licencing authority as follows:

PSIService.exe is a Windows System Service executable that is part of Protaxis Licencing software. Protexis provides licence registration and verification software and services for application publishers.

This service and its support files were installed when an application using Protexis licencing was installed.

PSIService is required by applications that use Protexis licencing. These applications require the system service to be running in order to validate a licence. Consequently, applications that use Protexis licensing may fail to run if this system service is unavailable.

Corel use this service - are U sure it is not linked to this issue?

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/109...

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Leendert Kip Microsoft problem report.
Contributor 5th Aug, 2011 09:57
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Last edited on 5th Aug, 2011 10:11
Hello Puget & Maurice. Thanks for your answers. Indeed, it was absolutely no
'dross'. Now Maurice tells me that Corel uses this service it's clear to me. The warning I mentioned popped up after every startup since I have succesfully installed Corel WordPerfect X5 last week. The error 1711 was solved at the end with help from the wordperfect universe forum. The cause of the problem
was that there were corel-related entries from the trial version in the registry and the windows installer. After the registry was cleaned by using CCleaner and the installer after installation of windows install cleanup I could install X5 without problem.


--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Microsoft problem report.
Handling Contributor 5th Aug, 2011 11:23
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Are U saying U have now fixed the error? If not I think it is for Corel to sort it out for U as it is looking for your licence details which U have.

I will unsubscribe - the online editor has struck again filling my mail box with real time dross!

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Leendert Kip Microsoft problem report.
Contributor 5th Aug, 2011 11:30
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
on 5th Aug, 2011 11:23, Maurice Joyce wrote:
Are U saying U have now fixed the error? If not I think it is for Corel to sort it out for U as it is looking for your licence details which U have.

Hi Maurice, yes, the problem is solved. I'll close the thread now.

--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.