Forum Thread: Startup Error

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
iamhuman Startup Error
Member 30th Aug, 2011 12:33
Ranking: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 30th Aug, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 30th Aug, 2011 12:51

Get following startup error message... "An error occurred while removing the Secunia PSI startup shortcut."

ReInstall no help!

Windows 7 Pro 64 bit

All SW up-to-date including drivers.

Would appreciate any help.

--
RAK

Maurice Joyce RE: Startup Error
Handling Contributor 30th Aug, 2011 12:57
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 30th Aug, 2011 12:59
Did U try a reinstall using this method:

Right click Start>Open Windows Explorer>C:\Programs(x86)>Secunia>PSI - U will see the Uninstall Exe there - activate it.

On completion U will note that Secunia leave behind their folder in the left hand Explorer pane>right click & delete it.

Reinstall using this link:

http://secunia.com/products/consumer/PSI/download_...

EDIT: During the uninstall process the browser will open with a survey asking U why U installed - just close it.



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
iamhuman RE: Startup Error
Member 30th Aug, 2011 18:55
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 30th Aug 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Thanks Maurice:

Followed instructions... receive same error message. Actually I did try uninstalling before with delete of Secunia folder and reinstalled. I thought maybe the link to the download may offer something different.

Thanks again!

--
RAK
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Startup Error
Handling Contributor 30th Aug, 2011 21:09
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 30th Aug, 2011 21:10
Cannot say I have seen that error before the way U discribe it. Can U post a screenshot?

POSTING A SCREEN SHOT TO THE FORUM

To post a screen shot to the Forum U need to:

1. Capture the image by using a programme such as:
a. Microsoft Paint - details here:How To Take A Screenshot:
http://www.wikihow.com/Take-a-Screenshot-in-Micros...
b. Microsoft One Note
c. Microsoft Snippet (Windows 7 & Vista)
d. Any third party equivalent programme.


2. Save the image to an online repository such as Microsoft Skydrive or here: http://imageshack.us/

3. Post the hyperlink to the stored online image to the Forum.

Update 4 20:47 09/03/2011


--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
iamhuman RE: Startup Error
Member 31st Aug, 2011 01:47
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 30th Aug 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hope this works properly?

Image is at http://profile.imageshack.us/user/fllobo



--
RAK
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Startup Error
Handling Contributor 31st Aug, 2011 02:18
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Thank you. I have never seen that error before. I will try to find out a little bit more.

Hopefully Secunia Support will also check this thread & offer assistance.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.