Forum Thread: Secunia reports program insecure but Adobe says up to date

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Adobe Systems
And, this specific program:
Adobe Acrobat X 10.x

This thread has been marked as resolved.
johnehoffman Secunia reports program insecure but Adobe says up to date
Member 6th Sep, 2011 17:38
Ranking: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 6th Sep, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
For the past month or so, Secunia PSI has been reporting that Adobe Acrobat 10.1.0.533 is insecure and should be updated to 10.1.0.534. However, Secunia does not download the update, reporting the update as "scheduled."

When I try to update Acrobat from its own updater, (Help, Check for Updates), it reports that no updates are available.

I am running on Windows 7 x64.

Post "RE: Secunia reports program insecure but Adobe says up to date" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: Secunia reports program insecure but Adobe says up to date
Handling Contributor 7th Sep, 2011 12:48
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Have U checked the location where PSI is finding the vulnerability?

FINDING A FILE PATH

From the DASHBOARD page click on SCAN RESULTS.

1. This will list all your programmes with a + to the left of each one.
2. Click the + sign next to the item.
3. This will reveal the path under DETECTED INSTANCES.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
johnehoffman RE: Secunia reports program insecure but Adobe says up to date
Member 7th Sep, 2011 16:24
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 6th Sep 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Yes. Secunia lists Acrobat at it's expected location. It is not an additional instance of Acrobat loaded by another program.

C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Acrobat 10.0\Acrobat\Acrobat.exe, version 10.1.0.533
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Secunia reports program insecure but Adobe says up to date
Member 8th Sep, 2011 08:49
Hi,

Have you tried running a full rescan?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
johnehoffman RE: Secunia reports program insecure but Adobe says up to date
Member 8th Sep, 2011 16:12
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 6th Sep 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Yes. I have rescanned. There is no change. Secunia still reports that 10.1.0.533 is out of date and that the current version is 10.1.0.534, and Acrobat continues to report that there are no updates available.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Secunia reports program insecure but Adobe says up to date
Member 8th Sep, 2011 16:33
Last edited on 8th Sep, 2011 16:33 Hi,

Did you try manually applying the solution offered by the PSI?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
johnehoffman RE: Secunia reports program insecure but Adobe says up to date
Member 8th Sep, 2011 17:21
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 6th Sep 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I manually downloaded the update from Secunia, installed it, and rescanned. Secunia still reports the program as insecure with version 10.1.0.533 installed and says a version 10.1.0.534 is available.

Have you checked to see if there really is a 10.1.0.534 version or whether someone at Secunia made an error in entering the version number of the current version of Acrobat?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Secunia reports program insecure but Adobe says up to date
Secunia Official 9th Sep, 2011 08:50
Last edited on 9th Sep, 2011 08:51 We have installed Adobe Acrobat X 10.x on a test system to verify that the program is correctly picked up by the PSI, which was indeed the case. The version detected is 10.1.0.534 which is required by the PSI to detect Adobe Acrobat X 10.x as patched/secure.

Would it be an option for you to completely uninstall Adobe Acrobat X 10.x, scan with the PSI to make sure it is no longer detected, and then install it again from scratch? That is what worked in our test.
johnehoffman RE: Secunia reports program insecure but Adobe says up to date
Member 10th Sep, 2011 05:22
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 6th Sep 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Thank you.

I uninstalled Adobe Acrobat X and reinstalled as recommended. Secunia now reports that Acrobat is up to date.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.