Forum Thread: Install solution

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
jdoncarlos Install solution
Member 4th Jan, 2012 00:37
Ranking: 0
Posts: 20
User Since: 14th Oct, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I get an unable to locate appropriate browser ... error message using IE 9

Maurice Joyce RE: Install solution
Handling Contributor 4th Jan, 2012 00:56
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 4th Jan, 2012 00:59
I suspect this is your problem:

http://secunia.com/products/consumer/PSI/faq/#q9

I have more detailed instruction if required but will need to know which OS U are using & whether it is 32 or 64 Bit.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
jdoncarlos RE: Install solution
Member 4th Jan, 2012 01:03
Score: 0
Posts: 20
User Since: 14th Oct 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Thank you very much for the help, I am using Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit version 6.1.7601, SP1 Build 7601.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Install solution
Handling Contributor 4th Jan, 2012 02:14
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
CHANGING A DEFAULT BROWSER VIA THE REGISTRY

IT IS IMPORTANT U FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS TO THE LETTER. TINKERING IN THE REGISTRY BEYOND THE INSTRUCTIONS GIVEN BELOW AND GETTING IT WRONG CAN,IN CERTAIN CIRCUMSTANCES, CAUSE A SEVERE LOSS OF HUMOUR AFTER A RESTART AND WINDOWS REFUSES TO BOOT!

1. Opening REGEDIT


Windows 7 Users - Click Start>type regedit in the search box>REGEDIT.EXE will appear at the top of the list>click it>from the prompt allow the programme to run>U are now in the Registry.

2. Finding the correct key to modify

a. Look in the LEFT PANE & at the top U will see HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT. To the left of that key is an arrow. Click it to reveal a long list of Gobbledygook.
b. Scroll down that list to the entry http Click the arrow to the left and look for SHELL click the arrow to the left of Shell and look for OPEN click the arrow to the left of Open and it will reveal COMMAND

3. Modifying the key.

a. Double click on the word COMMAND. The word COMMAND should be highlighted blue.
b. Now look in the RIGHT HAND PANE and U will see an entry starting with an ICON next to the word (default). DOUBLE click on the word (default).
c. A box will appear. U will see an entry called VALUE DATA which will have data in it highlighted in blue. Click the keyboard DELETE key.Make sure ALL the entry is removed.
d. Now highlight & copy (CTRL+C) & then paste(CTRL+V) the detail in bold immediately below into the DEFAULT box. IT MUST BE EXACTLY AS WRITTEN.

"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" -nohome

Once inserted click OK> the browser U have chosen should now show under DATA in the RIGHT PANE.

Now EXIT the registry by click the RED BOX with a X at the top RIGHT corner.

Checking IE9.

Open IE>from the top line menu select TOOLS>INTERNET OPTIONS>select the PROGRAMS tab>ensure in the DEFAULT WEB BROWSER section that the MAKE DEFAULT button is greyed out & there is a tick (check mark) in the box provided.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+4
-0
jdoncarlos RE: Install solution
Member 6th Jan, 2012 19:28
Score: 0
Posts: 20
User Since: 14th Oct 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Thanks again for your help, I don't see SHELL listed under HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\http in the left pane, only Extensions Folder and listed in the right pane under http is: (Default), AppUserModelID, EditFlags, FriendlyTypeName, Source Filter, URL Protocol, WebNavigableCLSID. Is there any way I can send you a screen shot file attachment of my registry?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Install solution
Handling Contributor 7th Jan, 2012 09:43
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
It must be there otherwise U have a corrupt Registry.

The sequence in the LEFT pane is:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT - click the arrow on the left

Scroll down (it is about half way down) until U see http - click the arrow on the left

It reveals 3 entries which includes SHELL - click the arrow to the left of SHELL

That reveals OPEN - click the arrow to the left of OPEN

That reveals COMMAND

Click ON COMMAND - now look in the RIGHT hand pane for the key.

The right pane should be showing

"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" -nohome

If it does not my post above tells U how to modify it.


--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
jdoncarlos RE: Install solution
Member 7th Jan, 2012 22:58
Score: 0
Posts: 20
User Since: 14th Oct 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I was afraid of that, my laptop came preloaded w/Vista and I upgraded to 7. Is there any easy way of fixing the registry? Thanks again for all your help.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Install solution
Handling Contributor 8th Jan, 2012 11:26
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I think it is just a matter of U being unable to locate it. This is what U are looking for having expanded HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/683/201201080...

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
jdoncarlos RE: Install solution
Member 8th Jan, 2012 20:28
Score: 0
Posts: 20
User Since: 14th Oct 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Thank you for your patience, here is a screen shot of my registry:
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/97/screenshot...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Install solution
Handling Contributor 8th Jan, 2012 22:47
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Whoops! I see what U mean. Do U use or have U used a registry cleaner?

U could try to reinstall IE9 to see if that recreates those keys. Link here:

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/internet-explor...

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
jdoncarlos RE: Install solution
Member 9th Jan, 2012 01:25
Score: 0
Posts: 20
User Since: 14th Oct 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Unfortunately, yes on using a registry cleaner, I have a newer version of IE 9 than your link:
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/822/screensho... I reinstalled it and still get the same result in the registry, thanks.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Install solution
Handling Contributor 9th Jan, 2012 02:31
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 9th Jan, 2012 09:58
Having tested many Registry Cleaners (corrupters) I suspect yours has removed those keys rather than the upgrading of the OS.

There are various options:

1. Contact the Registry Cleaner vendor with the details & ask for assistance.

2. Have U got a backup of all the files that the cleaner has removed? If so restore them.

3. Use a Restore Point prior to this problem arising if U have one.

4. Use Scannow to try a repair. Details are here:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929833

5. Ask for assistance from Microsoft Support who may complete a remote fix if the upgrade procedure caused the problem.

Not sure I can help any further. It is very difficult to second guess what has happened if the use of a Registry Cleaner is involved.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.