Forum Thread: scan aborted

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Krischu scan aborted
Member 11th Jan, 2012 12:59
Ranking: 0
Posts: 30
User Since: 30th Jul, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: DE
Last edited on 11th Jan, 2012 13:08

I downloaded PSI Personal today to show Secunia PSI to a colleague on his Windows XP (32)
machine. Installation went fine.

I started a scan. It already appeared strange to me that the scan didn't start immediately to show any action so that one was tempted to repeat the click on the scan icon. It took several, mybe 15 seconds, until the scan really started. From the attached screenshot you can see until where the scan worked until PSI was bailed out by an abort, anyone having an idea of what the cause could be?

--
Christoph

Sorry, I don't know how to attach the image to this post. It's happen quite late in the scan, although the progress bar is at the beginning. It's a little messagebox with Title "Alert", message: Scan Aborted" and an OK button.

Maurice Joyce RE: scan aborted
Handling Contributor 11th Jan, 2012 15:13
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 11th Jan, 2012 15:18
Open PSI>Configuration>Settings>click the drive tab

Can U see the drives listed with a box to the left of C drive that is ticked (check marked)?

EDIT:

POSTING A SCREEN SHOT TO THE FORUM

To post a screen shot to the Forum U need to:

1. Capture the image by using a programme such as:
a. Microsoft Paint - details here:How To Take A Screenshot:
http://www.wikihow.com/Take-a-Screenshot-in-Micros...
b. Microsoft One Note
c. Microsoft Snippet (Windows 7 & Vista)
d. Any third party equivalent programme.


2. Save the image to an online repository such as Microsoft Skydrive or here: http://imageshack.us/

3. Post the hyperlink to the stored online image to the Forum. Use CTRL+C to copy & CTRL+V to post to the Forum.

Update 5 13:51 12/11/2011



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Krischu RE: scan aborted
Member 11th Jan, 2012 15:28
Score: 0
Posts: 30
User Since: 30th Jul 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: DE
:) Are you going to pull my leg and are you assuming I don't know how to do a screen shot?

And of course I know that there are ways to use external web image hosters.

But obviously there is no way to upload and attach an image to a post here in the forum.

--
Christoph
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Krischu RE: scan aborted
Member 11th Jan, 2012 15:48
Score: 0
Posts: 30
User Since: 30th Jul 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: DE
Last edited on 11th Jan, 2012 16:25
And coming back to the actual problem:

I found some references googling for "secunia psi alert box aborted".
The given recipes don't work in my case. The progress bar doesn't show at all.

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/408/clipboard...

EDIT: I gave it another try. This time I made a screenshot

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/694/psiscanbe...

before the abort box had appeared, and one can see that it happens very late in the scanning process, right before the results
are about to be reported back to the site.


--
Christoph

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: scan aborted
Handling Contributor 11th Jan, 2012 17:21
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
U have not answered my question which was -
Open PSI>Configuration>Settings>click the drive tab
Can U see the drives listed with a box to the left of C drive that is ticked (check marked)?


Instead U elected to make flippant remarks about how to use elements of the Forum after admitting U have no idea with this statement on your opening post.

Sorry, I don't know how to attach the image to this post.

I try to create posts for users whatever their PC ability & make them all inclusive if possible. Clearly U are a clever PC user & do not want that detail in which case U can solve your own problem. Try searching the Forum - your case is not unique. I will unsubscribe & stop wasting my time.



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Krischu RE: scan aborted
Member 12th Jan, 2012 10:34
Score: 0
Posts: 30
User Since: 30th Jul 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: DE
Last edited on 12th Jan, 2012 11:39
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
gmccarthy RE: scan aborted
Member 12th Jan, 2012 14:11
Score: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 10th May 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Seems to be a common problem with no real solution. I had to go back to the previous version to get it working.

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/118...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Krischu RE: scan aborted
Member 12th Jan, 2012 15:45
Score: 0
Posts: 30
User Since: 30th Jul 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: DE
Last edited on 12th Jan, 2012 16:53
on 12th Jan, 2012 14:11, gmccarthy wrote:
Seems to be a common problem with no real solution. I had to go back to the previous version to get it working.

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/118...


Thanks. I read that thread. My colleague will give it another try under Vista (which he has installed on the same machine). And he will also try 1.5 under XP.

--
Christoph

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Krischu RE: scan aborted
Member 12th Jan, 2012 19:05
Score: 0
Posts: 30
User Since: 30th Jul 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: DE
Next data point: My colleague got the same abort under Windows Vista.

FWIW, he is a Windows NT-domain user.

--
Christoph
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.