Forum Thread: Programs found that I don't have

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
onedeafeye Programs found that I don't have
Member 16th Jan, 2012 05:44
Ranking: 2
Posts: 24
User Since: 11th Jun, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I've noticed on the last several scans that even though everything is patched, PSI is finding several programs that I no longer have on my computer. I've followed the path indicated in PSI and the programs just don't exist. There are 5 programs that I no longer have, the wrong version of IE is shown (8 instead of 9, both x32 and x64), and there are 6 Firefox addons that have been removed a long time ago. I've even done a search with Everything, and that has come up blank. Am I missing something or are these false positives, or what, and how do I go about rectifying this?
I have Vista x64 Premium SP2 and am only scanning the C: drive.

Post "RE: Programs found that I don't have" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: Programs found that I don't have
Handling Contributor 16th Jan, 2012 18:15
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Can U please publish a Troubleshoot Report for one of the programmes that U claim is not currently installed but found by PSI?


FINDING A FILE PATH

From the DASHBOARD page click on SCAN RESULTS.

1. This will list all your programmes with a + to the left of each one.
2. Click the + sign next to the item that U want help with.
3. This will reveal the path under DETECTED INSTANCES.
4. Below DETECTED INSTANCES you will see You can double click this row for additional information & options>double click it>a box will appear>click TROUBLESHOOT REPORT>Now highlight the information revealed from START to END & copy it (CTRL+C) then post it to the Forum (CTRL+V)

The end result U post to the Forum should look like this:
---START---

Program Name:
Adobe Flash Player 11.x

Security State:
Patched

Download Link:
http://fpdownload.adobe.com/get/flashplayer/curren...

Instances Found:
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\Macromed\Flash\Flash11e.ocx, version: 11.1.102.55 (ActiveX)

Last System Scan (localtime):
2. Jan 2012, 23:01

Operating System:
Microsoft Windows 7.

---END---

Update 11 21:40 14/01/2012

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
onedeafeye RE: Programs found that I don't have
Member 16th Jan, 2012 18:20
Score: 2
Posts: 24
User Since: 11th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
---START---

Program Name:
Spybot - Search & Destroy 1.x

Security State:
Patched

Download Link:


Instances Found:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SpybotSD.exe, version: 1.6.2.46
C:\Program Files (x86)\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SDFiles.exe, version: 1.6.1.7
C:\Program Files (x86)\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SDMain.exe, version: 1.0.0.6

Last System Scan (localtime):
15. Jan 2012, 21:18

Operating System:
Microsoft Windows Vista,

---END---
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Programs found that I don't have
Handling Contributor 16th Jan, 2012 18:46
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Thank you. Just to confirm - U did this to find each file U wish to find/remove?


DELETING A FILE OR FOLDER USING PSI VERSION 2

To delete a vulnerable file or folder found by PSI try this:

1. Open PSI>Scan results.

2. Against the programme marked as vulnerable is a + sign to the left of it.

3. Click that & it will reveal DETECTED INSTANCES.

4. Below that are two yellow folders. Click the one WITHOUT a red dot.

5. That will open Windows Explorer & U will be able to see the vulnerable files or folders.
C:\Program Files (x86)\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SpybotSD.exe, version: 1.6.2.46

6. Right click on it & select delete.

7. Carry out a full PSI scan & all should be in order.

8. If this scan still produces more insecure or End of Life programmes please publish the Troubleshoot Report for each one.



Update 2 23:40 14/01/2012




--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
onedeafeye RE: Programs found that I don't have
Member 16th Jan, 2012 18:54
Score: 2
Posts: 24
User Since: 11th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I did as you said, and a single click on the folder did nothing. If I double-clicked I got the window I used before to get Troubleshoot Report. If I right-clicked on the file then, I also had an option to open the folder, and again I got nothing.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Programs found that I don't have
Handling Contributor 16th Jan, 2012 19:14
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
If U have followed my instruction U should not be anywhere near a Trouble shoot Report.

Navigate to point 4 from my previous instruction.

Click the Yellow Folder which shows immediately below Spybot - Search & Destroy Entry.

That opens Windows Explorer for U to actually see the file.

Do not click the Yellow folder with a red dot or double click on the wording "You can double this row for additional information & options".

This will take U to the Troubleshoot Report or help U create an Ignore Rule.


--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
onedeafeye RE: Programs found that I don't have
Member 17th Jan, 2012 04:25
Score: 2
Posts: 24
User Since: 11th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I did as you said, and I got nothing when I clicked on the folder without the red dot. That's what I said in my first sentence. The rest was an alternate way of arriving at the same place, and it didn't work either.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Programs found that I don't have
Handling Contributor 17th Jan, 2012 09:38
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
In that case I would try a reinstall of PSI - from what U have said it clearly is not functioning correctly.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.