Forum Thread: Start-in-tray

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
PaoloR Start-in-tray
Member 22nd Jan, 2009 16:42
Ranking: -1
Posts: 36
User Since: 22nd Jan, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: IT
Hi all.
In my laptop WinXP SP3, PSI v. 1.0.0.2 starts on boot.
But the PSI window is open maximized and not only in tray.
The link is "C:\Programmi\Secunia\PSI\psi.exe --start-in-tray"
Thanks.

Maurice Joyce RE: Start-in-tray
Handling Contributor 22nd Jan, 2009 21:07
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Shot in the dark - update programme to version 1.0.0.3 & rerun.

The changelog says it is only to install Spanish language but U never know .......

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
PaoloR RE: Start-in-tray
Member 23rd Jan, 2009 16:30
Score: -1
Posts: 36
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: IT
Thank you for your message.
But the problem remains: at startup, PSI is launched in a maximized windows and not only in tray.
I can not leave PSI in AutoRun.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Start-in-tray
Handling Contributor 23rd Jan, 2009 17:02
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Very odd because I cannot see any setting that allows that behavior. At the bottom of this thread U will see a blue link called Contact which gives an email link to support.

I would raise this with them.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
PaoloR RE: Start-in-tray
Member 23rd Jan, 2009 18:02
Score: -1
Posts: 36
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: IT
I have sent a message to the support.
I hope in an answer.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
PaoloR RE: Start-in-tray
Member 29th Jan, 2009 18:58
Score: -1
Posts: 36
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: IT
Why no Secunia technical answer me?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Start-in-tray
Secunia Official 30th Jan, 2009 12:49
Hi PaoloR

What happens if you open the CMD and open the psi with this: "C:\Programmi\Secunia\PSI\psi.exe" --start-in-tray

Does it still open a window?



Morten Hansen
PaoloR RE: Start-in-tray
Member 30th Jan, 2009 13:07
Score: -1
Posts: 36
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: IT
Yes, the window of PSI appears, maximized.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Start-in-tray
Secunia Official 30th Jan, 2009 13:10
Did you completely shut down the PSI first?
PaoloR RE: Start-in-tray
Member 30th Jan, 2009 13:25
Score: -1
Posts: 36
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: IT
Yes, of course.
I have removed PSI from AutoRun, and I just turned on the PC.
The same thing happened when I was running PSI automatic at startup.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Start-in-tray
Secunia Official 30th Jan, 2009 13:59
This is a tough one, we never had this problem before.

The PSI should only open the window if it is already in the tray and you try to run PSI.exe

The only thing we can think of is that the program is actually starting twice for a unknown reason.

The PSI also starts on boot even if it does not appear in the "startup"??

PaoloR RE: Start-in-tray
Member 30th Jan, 2009 14:32
Score: -1
Posts: 36
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: IT
No. PSI is not running automatically. I have checked also in registry.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Start-in-tray
Secunia Official 30th Jan, 2009 14:48
Last edited on 30th Jan, 2009 14:51 "C:\Programmi\Secunia\PSI\psi.exe" --start-in-tray
should as i said before, only open the PSI in the tray, unless its already open.

"C:\Programmi\Secunia\PSI\psi.exe"
Will always open the window, make sure this one is not used.

Try to close PSI, and copy/paste the first line into the CMD, what happens?


edit: Copy/pasting this will only work for people with Italian? setup. "Programmi" would be "Program Files" on english setup.
PaoloR RE: Start-in-tray
Member 30th Jan, 2009 17:26
Score: -1
Posts: 36
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: IT
With "C:\Programmi\Secunia\PSI\psi.exe" starts PSI in maximized windows.
With "C:\Programmi\Secunia\PSI\psi.exe" --start-in-tray starts only in tray.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
PaoloR RE: Start-in-tray
Member 30th Jan, 2009 17:54
Score: -1
Posts: 36
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: IT
... but PSI starts in maximized windows when is in autorun, at startup of the PC.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
effadj RE: Start-in-tray
Member 6th Feb, 2009 21:39
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 8th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
on 30th Jan, 2009 17:54, PaoloR wrote:
... but PSI starts in maximized windows when is in autorun, at startup of the PC.
Make sure that the Target of the startup shortcut has the double-dash "--" in front of the "--start-in-tray" parameter. I was short one dash and it exhibited what you are seeing.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
PaoloR RE: Start-in-tray
Member 6th Feb, 2009 22:48
Score: -1
Posts: 36
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: IT
It's ok: --
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.