Forum Thread: psia.exe service

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
ncguy psia.exe service
Member 7th Mar, 2012 18:06
Ranking: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 7th Mar, 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I have Secunia PSI on my Windows XP system. I do not have the program in my startup list. However I see psia.exe service in my list of running services. It is near the top in memory usage. Why is this service running when I have not opened the program?

--
usa-nc-guy

Post "RE: psia.exe service" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: psia.exe service
Handling Contributor 7th Mar, 2012 18:34
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Which version of PSI are U running?

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ncguy RE: psia.exe service
Member 7th Mar, 2012 19:05
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 7th Mar 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I have version 2.0.0.4003.
Since posting the question, I have discovered that in:
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\Startup
there is a shortcut icon called "Secunia PSI Tray" to
C:\Program Files\Secunia\PSI\psi_tray.exe

This no doubt is why service "psia.exe" is in the list of running services. I don't know how the shortcut got put where it is. The question now is: can I just delete the shortcut without there being some bad thing to happen.

--
usa-nc-guy
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: psia.exe service
Handling Contributor 7th Mar, 2012 19:30
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Nothing bad can happen by deleting that.

If PSI stops working to your satisfaction after that action just reinstall it.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ncguy RE: psia.exe service
Member 7th Mar, 2012 20:48
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 7th Mar 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Well, I deleted that "Secunia PSI Tray" shortcut from the StartUp folder and rebooted. Strangely, "psia.exe" was still in the list of active processes. Any ideas?

--
usa-nc-guy
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: psia.exe service
Handling Contributor 7th Mar, 2012 22:47
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 7th Mar, 2012 22:59
Open PSI>dashboard>configuration>setting - have U adjusted those settings?

EDIT:

U can also kil it as follows:

Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Services - Look for Secunia PSI Agent & Secunia Update Agent then change their current status to Disabled

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ncguy RE: psia.exe service
Member 7th Mar, 2012 23:06
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 7th Mar 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
You have identified the problem exactly. The box to start the program at start up is checked. Problem solved. Rather than have the program running in the background all the time, consuming memory, I think it will be sufficient to start it every week and run a scan. My PC is old and its memory is limited by current standards.
Thanks for helping resolve this issue.

--
usa-nc-guy
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ncguy RE: psia.exe service
Member 7th Mar, 2012 23:12
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 7th Mar 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Yes, by doing some Google searches, I had discovered that by entering "services.msc" in "Run" that the list you describe came up. It appears the reason for starting is due to a registry entry, set probably by the PSI option that is checked. I also had located a program "AutoRun" that gives a breakdown of all startup services in a friendlier form than that in Windows.

--
usa-nc-guy
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: psia.exe service
Handling Contributor 7th Mar, 2012 23:14
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Pleased to see U appear to be all fixed up.

On that basis, I will lock this thread for U sometime tomorrow unless U post back asking for it to be left open.

This will protect your mail box from possible update emails from Forum "tag on" posts

You can of course lock your own threads yourself. Just click the ACCEPT button in the post of the helper who offered U the best solution/advice to solve your problem.

Secunia Support can always reopen threads by applying by email to: support@secunia.com




--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.