Forum Thread: DLL found in Logitech Harmony Remote Software

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Adobe Systems
And, this specific program:
Macromedia Flash Player 8.x

This thread has been marked as resolved.
dd5087 DLL found in Logitech Harmony Remote Software
Member 29th Mar, 2012 19:12
Ranking: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 5th Sep, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
PSI is reporting an end-of-life program for Macromedia Flash Player 8.x . This file, NPSWF32.dll, is at C:\Program Files (x86)\Logitech\Logitech Harmony Remote Software 7\gre\plugins. The Logitech software has not changed for a long time so I don't understand why this is showing up? I checked for updates with Logitech and I have the most current. What action do I need to take with this? Thanks for any assistance.

Post "RE: DLL found in Logitech Harmony Remote Software" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: DLL found in Logitech Harmony Remote Software
Handling Contributor 29th Mar, 2012 22:02
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I would not be too concerned - That file is embedded & could well be a false positive.

It is only showing as End of Life which is a friendly "warning" rather than it actually being vulnerable & exposing your PC.

It is worth contacting Secunia Support at support@secunia.com & explain the situation then ask whether it could be a false positive.

If it is they will adjust their database.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
dd5087 RE: DLL found in Logitech Harmony Remote Software
Member 29th Mar, 2012 22:33
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 5th Sep 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I will forward to support and see what they tell me. Thanks
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Jack87505 RE: DLL found in Logitech Harmony Remote Software
Member 31st Mar, 2012 05:29
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 7th Dec 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Same thing is happening to me.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
coopa RE: DLL found in Logitech Harmony Remote Software
Member 2nd Apr, 2012 16:11
Score: 2
Posts: 7
User Since: 9th Mar 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
on 29th Mar, 2012 22:02, Maurice Joyce wrote:
I would not be too concerned - That file is embedded & could well be a false positive.

It is only showing as End of Life which is a friendly "warning" rather than it actually being vulnerable & exposing your PC..


All due respect, I think it's actually a valid result. The NPSWF32.dll shown as EOL was digitally signed in 2005 by Macromedia Inc. - about the right time for Flash Player 8 - and has a date modified in 2009 (despite me only installing windows on this PC in May of 2011). So everything seems to be correct with the EOL warning.

The attack vector is probably limited given that the Harmony program is hardcoded to visit Logitech and doesn't allow free browsing, but I renamed the old NPSWF32.dll to NPSWF32.dll and replaced it with a version from an installation of the latest copy of Adobe Flash Player 11 and the Harmony Remote application & Secunia are both happy now (Harmony app works fine, Secunia no longer reads EOL).
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-1
Maurice Joyce RE: DLL found in Logitech Harmony Remote Software
Handling Contributor 2nd Apr, 2012 18:13
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 2nd Apr, 2012 18:14
Of course it is valid in that it states End of Life - so what? It is not showing as vulnerable. As I suggested it may be a false postive being as the file is embedded.

Of course U can replace the file if U want & know how. Some do not have that skill so why both if it is a false positve?

Not sure what Secunia has told the thread originator by email which was part of my solution.

Being End of Life DOES NOT mean a vulnerability exists or should be acted on in a mad panic.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
dd5087 RE: DLL found in Logitech Harmony Remote Software
Member 2nd Apr, 2012 18:36
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 5th Sep 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I sent an email to support@secunia.com on March 29th, but have not received a reply.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: DLL found in Logitech Harmony Remote Software
Handling Contributor 2nd Apr, 2012 18:39
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Thank U. I will have a go for U to see what is going on.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
coopa RE: DLL found in Logitech Harmony Remote Software
Member 2nd Apr, 2012 18:42
Score: 2
Posts: 7
User Since: 9th Mar 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 2nd Apr, 2012 18:42
on 2nd Apr, 2012 18:13, Maurice Joyce wrote:

Being End of Life DOES NOT mean a vulnerability exists or should be acted on in a mad panic.


Of course, but as far as I can determine, there does seem to be a vulnerability.

http://www.adobe.com/support/security/bulletins/ap...

(unknown source)
Affected software versions: Adobe Flash Player 9.0.115.0 and earlier, and 8.0.39.0 and earlier.


The fix is:
(unknown source)
Solution:Adobe recommends all users of Adobe Flash Player 9.0.115.0 and earlier versions upgrade to the newest version 9.0.124.0, by downloading it from the Player Download Center, or by using the auto-update mechanism within the product when prompted.


Barring that, the version of the DLL is 8,0,22,0 (Shockwave Flash 8.0 r22) which predates 8,0,39,0 (Shockwave Flash 8.0 r39). 8.0.39.0 and earlier are vulnerable to the exploits in the Adobe bulletin above.
(Screenshot of the DLL properties):
http://i.imgur.com/Ry0oS.png

So it does seem to be a case of actual vulnerability instead of just EOL. If anyone has proof otherwise, I'd be glad to take a look at it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-1
Maurice Joyce RE: DLL found in Logitech Harmony Remote Software
Handling Contributor 2nd Apr, 2012 18:45
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
That is why we are contacting Secunia! Reminder email just sent telling them this thread requires their comment.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
This user no longer exists RE: DLL found in Logitech Harmony Remote Software
Member 3rd Apr, 2012 09:00
Hi,

It seems that this was indeed a false positive.

We have adjusted our rules so false positives for Macromedia Flash should no longer occur.

Hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: DLL found in Logitech Harmony Remote Software
Handling Contributor 3rd Apr, 2012 09:08
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
@dd5087

You need to complete a full PSI rescan to confirm your PC is clear of this error.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: DLL found in Logitech Harmony Remote Software
Handling Contributor 4th Apr, 2012 00:26
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
From the relevancy score I assume your problem is now fixed.

On that basis, I will lock this thread for U sometime tomorrow unless U post back asking for it to be left open.

This will protect your mail box from possible update emails from Forum "tag on" posts

You can of course lock your own threads yourself. Just click the ACCEPT button in the post of the helper who offered U the best solution/advice to solve your problem.

Secunia Support can always reopen threads by applying by email to: support@secunia.com



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.