Forum Thread: Firefox 10?

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Mozilla Foundation
And, this specific program:
Mozilla Firefox 10.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
CJH21 Firefox 10?
Member 4th Apr, 2012 17:17
Ranking: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 4th Apr, 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I have firefox 11 installed but secuina is still telling me I only have 98% as I have end of life firefox 10 which needs a patch, but I don't have firefox 10 on my computer, I took it off

any idea what to do?

Maurice Joyce RE: Firefox 10?
Handling Contributor 4th Apr, 2012 18:23
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Have U carried out a full PSI rescan? After that scan is it still showing as vulnerable? If so what path does PSI give U:


FINDING A FILE PATH USING PSI VERSION 2

From the DASHBOARD page click on SCAN RESULTS.

1. This will list all your programmes with a + to the left of each programme.
2. Click the + sign next to the item that U want help with.
3. This will reveal the path under DETECTED INSTANCES.
4. Below DETECTED INSTANCES you will see this You can double click this row for additional information & options>double click it>a box will appear>look to the RIGHT & U will see TROUBLESHOOT REPORT in BLUE writing under the heading TOOLBOX> click TroubleShoot Report & it will reveal some information in a box>highlight the information revealed from ---START--- to ---END--- & copy it (CTRL+C) then post it to the Forum (CTRL+V)

As an EXAMPLE the end result U post to the Forum should look something like this:
---START---

Program Name:
Adobe Flash Player 11.x

Security State:
Patched

Download Link:
http://fpdownload.adobe.com/get/flashplayer/curren...

Instances Found:
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\Macromed\Flash\Flash32_11_2_20 2_228.ocx, version: 11.2.202.228 (ActiveX)

Last System Scan (localtime):
3. Apr 2012, 09:25

Operating System:
Microsoft Windows 7

---END---


Update 15 09:31 04/04/2012

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
CJH21 RE: Firefox 10?
Member 4th Apr, 2012 18:31
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 4th Apr 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
---START---

Program Name:
Mozilla Firefox 10.x

Security State:
End-of-Life

Download Link:
http://dl.secunia.com/SPS/Firefox Setup 11.0 en-GB.exe

Instances Found:
C:\Windows\ERDNT\cache\firefox.exe, version: 10.0.1.4421

Last System Scan (localtime):
2. Apr 2012, 20:53

Operating System:
Microsoft Windows Vista,

---END---

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Firefox 10?
Handling Contributor 4th Apr, 2012 18:47
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK


That old version is located in a backup folder. To clear your problem do this:

DELETING A FILE OR FOLDER USING PSI VERSION 2

To delete a vulnerable file or folder found by PSI try this:

1. Open PSI>Scan results.

2. Against the programme marked as vulnerable is a + sign to the left of it.

3. Click that & it will reveal DETECTED INSTANCES.

4. Below that are two yellow folders. Click the one WITHOUT a red dot.

5. That will open Windows Explorer & U will be able to see the vulnerable file.
C:\Windows\ERDNT\cache\firefox.exe, version: 10.0.1.4421

6. Right click on it & select delete.

7. Carry out a full PSI scan & all should be in order.


Update 7 17:46 04/04/2012



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
CJH21 RE: Firefox 10?
Member 4th Apr, 2012 20:35
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 4th Apr 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
sorted

thanks
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Firefox 10?
Handling Contributor 4th Apr, 2012 21:59
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 5th Apr, 2012 20:46
Pleased to see U are all fixed up.

On that basis, I will lock this thread for U sometime tomorrow unless U post back asking for it to be left open.

This will protect your mail box from possible update emails from Forum "tag on" posts

You can of course lock your own threads yourself. Just click the ACCEPT button in the post of the helper who offered U the best solution/advice to solve your problem.

Secunia Support can always reopen threads by applying by email to: support@secunia.com

Thread locked at: 19:46 05/04/2012



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.