Forum Thread: Downloading PSI

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
ron80in72 Downloading PSI
Member 31st Jan, 2009 17:52
Ranking: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 29th Feb, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I just replaced my hard drive. Now I cannot get to the download page of PSI. (or even the online scan, for that matter.) I have used and depended on Secunia for years and I really need it. Any suggestions?
I have tried using IE7, IE8, and also Firefox. No difference. I have XP with ZoneAlarm.

Maurice Joyce RE: Downloading PSI
Handling Contributor 31st Jan, 2009 18:49
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Is this link any value?
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ron80in72 RE: Downloading PSI
Member 31st Jan, 2009 19:57
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 29th Feb 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Thanks, but no. That is the page I originally tried to download PSI from. The message on the page after I click on DOWNLOAD is shown below.

This object has been blocked.


That is all I get.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Downloading PSI
Handling Contributor 31st Jan, 2009 20:33
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
This link is from PC World server.
http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file/fid,67137-or...

Does that work?

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ron80in72 RE: Downloading PSI
Member 31st Jan, 2009 21:16
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 29th Feb 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Downloading PSI
Handling Contributor 31st Jan, 2009 21:23
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Ron,
Could be your IE settings. Open IE>TOOLS>INTERNET OPTIONS>and check the settings on the SECURITY - PRIVACY & ADVANCED tabs are all set to DEFAULT & give it another go.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ron80in72 RE: Downloading PSI
Member 31st Jan, 2009 22:01
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 29th Feb 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

I defaulted all settings in IE8, this resulted in re-opening IE7. No difference, though.

The error console gave this explanation. Does this help?

Warning: Unknown property 'text-vertical-align'. Declaration dropped.
Source File: http://secunia.com/default.css?5
Line: 130

I see that this warning has been happening every time I try to download PSI.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Downloading PSI
Handling Contributor 31st Jan, 2009 22:20
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 31st Jan, 2009 22:21
Ron,
Little bit confused why U say IE8 has reverted to IE7. As far as I am aware it only defaults back when U uninstall IE8 via add/remove.

IE8 should be showing in add/remove as:
WINDOWS IE8 RELEASE CANDIDATE 1 - is that what U have?

Do other sites open in the browser?

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ron80in72 RE: Downloading PSI
Member 31st Jan, 2009 22:44
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 29th Feb 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I assumed it had reverted since it welcomed me to IE8, the same as it did when I downloaded it originally. It wanted me to set my preferences and I declined, wanting to preserve the default settings you instructed me to use. Guess it didn't as it says I am running IE8
Release Candidate 1. Sorry.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Downloading PSI
Handling Contributor 31st Jan, 2009 23:03
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
OK - close the browser comepletely then reopen.

If U are asked to set up IE8 use the Windows recommended settings & click save when prompted.

Will it now open this link?

http://www.harrods.com/harrodsstore/

if yes what about this one

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ron80in72 RE: Downloading PSI
Member 31st Jan, 2009 23:14
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 29th Feb 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Downloading PSI
Handling Contributor 31st Jan, 2009 23:44
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 1st Feb, 2009 00:02
Ron,
Looks like IE8 is OK so really back to square one. By chance I am replying to an email from Secunia Support tonight - I will ask them to look at this thread.( now done so hopefully they will take a look)

Your problem is not one listed in their FAQ

Sorry I cannot be of more help now but I will dig around for answers.

You may just wish to recheck your IE settings to see if Secunia has somehow got blocked - details to look at are:
Open the browser>TOOLS>INTERNET OPTIONS.
Click the SECURITY tab -click EACH ICON in turn & click DEFAULT LEVEL
Click on the SITES button & check everything is clear - if not clear it

Click on the PRIVACY tab
Check the slider is on medium
Click on sites - it should be clear if not remove them

Click on CONTENT tab
Click CLEAR SSL STATE

Click on ADVANCED tab
Click RESTORE ADVANCED SETTINGS then OK

Try to open the sites I have given U already



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ron80in72 RE: Downloading PSI
Member 1st Feb, 2009 00:40
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 29th Feb 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Sorry, but that didn't help either. I am puzzled. I have never had this kind of trouble. Probably would have been better for me if I had because there are lots of useless and harmful programs and I have gotten a few. But this is a new hard drive. Just trying to get it running as good as I can and Secunia is part of that attempt. Again, thanks for your trouble. Maybe Secunia support can help.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Downloading PSI
Secunia Official 2nd Feb, 2009 10:39
Hi

Is it only our website your having trouble with? or is it random?



Morten Hansen
This user no longer exists RE: Downloading PSI
Secunia Official 2nd Feb, 2009 10:56
Also check you settings in Zonealarm.
ron80in72 RE: Downloading PSI
Member 2nd Feb, 2009 13:55
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 29th Feb 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Thanks. I not only checked the settings in Zone Alarm, I had to shut it down, to load PSI. I wish there were instructions on how to do that short of my "fix". But as I said, Secunia is an important part of keeping my computer secure. Thanks again.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Downloading PSI
Handling Contributor 2nd Feb, 2009 13:57
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Ron,
Do I take it U are all fixed up now?

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ron80in72 RE: Downloading PSI
Member 2nd Feb, 2009 16:57
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 29th Feb 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Yes, and thank you for all your time. After our last message, I just shut Zone Alarm down. PSI loaded first time. I never had to shut down anything when I used Norton. I guess I will start using it again. Aggravating sometimes, I suppose, but I am sorry I didn't post a thank you directly to you.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.