Forum Thread: Beta 3.0 - ERROR - "unable to locate appropriate web browser..."

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
btbow Beta 3.0 - ERROR - "unable to locate appropriate web browser..."
Member 8th Jun, 2012 23:23
Ranking: 1
Posts: 17
User Since: 18th Sep, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I just downloaded PSI Beta 3.0, and I get an error message when I click on the HELP link OR the FORUM link.

"unable to locate an appropriate web browser for the requested URL"
I click OK and get a 2nd message -
"an error occurred while attempting to open the specified URL"

Is there a fix for this error??

I do not like the new interface.. too glitzy and doesn't display much useful information.

Hope they fix this before the final release!

Maurice Joyce RE: Beta 3.0 - ERROR - "unable to locate appropriate web browser..."
Handling Contributor 8th Jun, 2012 23:34
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
That is a general error not confined to BETA3. Solution here:

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
btbow RE: Beta 3.0 - ERROR - "unable to locate appropriate web browser..."
Member 9th Jun, 2012 01:10
Score: 1
Posts: 17
User Since: 18th Sep 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Thanks for your response.

I followed the link in your response, regarding the registry key, HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\HTTP\shell\open\command

I have Windows 7 Professional and I do NOT have this key.

Under HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT, I do NOT have a folder HTTP

I did try changing my default browser to IE9 and back to Firefox 13.0.

The Help or Forum links continued to generate the same errors, regardless of which browser I made default.

If in fact PSI is looking for that registry key, it's no wonder that it returns an error in Windows 7 Professional.

Secunia needs to re-examine this link and make some changes
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Beta 3.0 - ERROR - "unable to locate appropriate web browser..."
Handling Contributor 9th Jun, 2012 21:46
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Sorry for the delay.

Not sure that Secunia need to do anything.

This snapshot of the Registry Key was taken from a PC using Windows 7 Professional

https://public.bay.livefilestore.com/y1pm81XAS-TOk...

Only by finding that key & checking the entry can U determine whether the default browser is correctly set.

If that key is correctly set as per the FAQ & the error remains U should contact Secunia Support at support@secunia.com with a snapshot of the Registry Key & the error message encountered when trying to access the Forum.

If the key is missing maybe Microsoft can help in retrieving it.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
btbow RE: Beta 3.0 - ERROR - "unable to locate appropriate web browser..."
Member 9th Jun, 2012 22:08
Score: 1
Posts: 17
User Since: 18th Sep 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I searched for the string...

C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" -nohome in the registry and discovered that it was situated in a sub-directory IE.HTTP , rather than in the HTTP directory.

e.g. HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\IE.HTTP\

My version of Windows - Windows 7 Professional (x64) Service Pack 1 (build 7601)

You might check to see whether your version of Windows Professional also has a sub-directory IE.HTTP in the registry.





Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Beta 3.0 - ERROR - "unable to locate appropriate web browser..."
Handling Contributor 9th Jun, 2012 23:35
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Yes it has because they are standard keys. That is NOT the key U want nor should U change it unless very familiar with the registry.

Manually Open REGEDIT>HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT>expand that key & scroll down about a third of the way & U should see http>expand http & U will see various keys>expand SHELL>U will see command>click on COMMAND> in the right hand pane U should see the data as per my pictorial which shows IE as the default browser.

That string requires checking & if necessary the correct string should be inserted for a 64 Bit system as per the Secunia FAQ.

If U scroll to IE.HTTP U have missed the http key.



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
btbow RE: Beta 3.0 - ERROR - "unable to locate appropriate web browser..."
Member 10th Jun, 2012 00:26
Score: 1
Posts: 17
User Since: 18th Sep 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
As I mentioned in an earlier message, my registry does not have the path

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\HTTP\

Under HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\

the directory listing goes from ..... htmlfile_FullWindowEmbed to HWXInk.E-Ink

If the directory HTTP existed, it would have been possitioned between these 2 directories.

Is your WIN 7 copy European or U.S.... or are there any difference between versions, in this respect?

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Beta 3.0 - ERROR - "unable to locate appropriate web browser..."
Handling Contributor 10th Jun, 2012 00:46
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
If the directory HTTP existed, it would have been positioned between these 2 directories.

Agreed - between those two entries are two folders - http & https.

Is your WIN 7 copy European or U.S.... or are there any difference between versions, in this respect?

Purchased in the UK - unsure if there are any differences.

Can U successfully run a manual Windows Update scan via the Action Centre?

What string is in the right hand pane if U scroll down to the IE.HTTP folder>command?



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
btbow RE: Beta 3.0 - ERROR - "unable to locate appropriate web browser..."
Member 10th Jun, 2012 01:09
Score: 1
Posts: 17
User Since: 18th Sep 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi Maurice

As I mentioned in an earlier reply, the string found in the IE.HTTP folder is:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" -nohome

I suspect that there may be differences in the European and U.S. versions of WIN 7 (which we have in Canada).

All of my MS patches are up to date - no outstanding patches to be downloaded/installed.

Can Secunia be programmed to look for EITHER of those paths in order to make the HELP and FORUM links functional?

Bruce
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Beta 3.0 - ERROR - "unable to locate appropriate web browser..."
Handling Contributor 10th Jun, 2012 01:31
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 10th Jun, 2012 01:35
Bruce,
U may have made a typo in that your entry is slightly different to mine. The differences are highlighted on my entry.

YOUR ENTRY = C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" -nohome
MY ENTRY = "C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe" -nohome

Can Secunia be programmed to look for EITHER of those paths in order to make the HELP and FORUM links functional?

I do not work for Secunia so am unable to answer this.

Secunia do not work over the weekend. I will write to them tomorrow & ask that they look at your problem & my submissions to U.

Hopefully they will be able to clear it up for both of us. In the interim I would do nothing in the Registry unless backed up first.

Hope that helps.

EDIT: Late here in UK - Off to bed - Cannot miss Canadian Grand Prix tomorrow!




--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
btbow RE: Beta 3.0 - ERROR - "unable to locate appropriate web browser..."
Member 10th Jun, 2012 01:44
Score: 1
Posts: 17
User Since: 18th Sep 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Just another thought - I use Firefox 13.0 for my browser, not IE9
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
btbow RE: Beta 3.0 - ERROR - "unable to locate appropriate web browser..."
Member 10th Jun, 2012 01:46
Score: 1
Posts: 17
User Since: 18th Sep 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Have a good rest - I can't miss Euro 2012 tomorrow either!!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Beta 3.0 - ERROR - "unable to locate appropriate web browser..."
Secunia Official 11th Jun, 2012 09:38
If the registry path "HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\HTTP\shell\open\command" do not exist on a Windows system I would suspect that the registry has become corrupted.

I am not aware that this entry should only be present on some versions of Windows and not others, and I do not remember anyone else reporting to be missing those registry entries. If however anyone else should experience this, then please write to support@secunia.com and let us know which exact version of Windows you have installed.
Gwarin RE: Beta 3.0 - ERROR - "unable to locate appropriate web browser..."
Member 14th Jun, 2012 08:18
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 21st Nov 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
btbow RE: Beta 3.0 - ERROR - "unable to locate appropriate web browser..."
Member 19th Jun, 2012 18:24
Score: 1
Posts: 17
User Since: 18th Sep 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have solved the problem of not being able to access the appropriate web browser from Secunia- PSI

My Win 7 registry was missing the required HTTP registry entry, ([HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\http] ).

Luckily, I was able to export this key from the WIN 7 registry on my laptop and import it into my WIN 7 registry on my desktop computer.

How PSI links function as they did before.

Bruce
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Beta 3.0 - ERROR - "unable to locate appropriate web browser..."
Handling Contributor 19th Jun, 2012 18:53
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 20th Jun, 2012 22:12
Bruce,
Wondered where U had gone! Pleased to see U have the key back & all is well.

On that basis, I will lock this thread for U sometime tomorrow unless U post back asking for it to be left open.

This will protect your mail box from possible update emails from "tag on" posts

You can of course lock threads U have created. Just click the ACCEPT button in the post of the helper who offered U the best solution/advice to solve your problem.

Secunia Support can always reopen threads by applying by email to: support@secunia.com

EDIT:

Thread locked at: 21:11 20/06/2012













--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.