Forum Thread: Windows 8 and PSI 3

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
cmug Windows 8 and PSI 3
Member 30th Jun, 2012 11:08
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 6th Aug, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: DE
Hi,

I am running the latest Windows 8 Consumer Preview / Release Candidate whatever it is called at the moment. I installed the PSI version 3 release on top of it, but it hangs at the "Loading" when I launch the application.

I know Windows 8 is still not released, I know PSI needs to understand things about the OS. But please make sure you get Windows 8 support in as soon as possible.

Cheers

throkr. RE: Windows 8 and PSI 3
Contributor 30th Jun, 2012 12:50
Score: 139
Posts: 137
User Since: 22nd Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: BE
Just for info : I installed recently PSI 2.0.0.4003 on the latest Win 8 Release Preview x64 and it worked without any problem. Didn't try yet with PSI 3 ...

--
Win 10 Pro x64

Malwarebytes Premium - Windows Defender - SAS Pro - Flexera PSI
Cyberfox (x64) - Waterfox (x64) - SRWare Iron (x64)

- All current versions & updates -
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
larry2012 RE: Windows 8 and PSI 3
Member 30th Jun, 2012 14:08
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 30th Jun 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: RO
same happens for me... although by hearing the hard drive i can tell it scans something but i never get to the initial screen to scan the system and all that
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
jimayo RE: Windows 8 and PSI 3
Member 30th Jun, 2012 23:46
Score: 22
Posts: 9
User Since: 8th Sep 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I am running Windows 8 RP and the 1st time I installed 3.0 it would hang. I reinstalled it using "run as administrator" and it finally worked. But I went back to 2.0 as 3.0 is just not what I want.

Jim
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
spamless RE: Windows 8 and PSI 3
Member 8th Jul, 2012 00:46
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 8th Jul 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: DE
on 30th Jun, 2012 23:46, jimayo wrote:
I am running Windows 8 RP and the 1st time I installed 3.0 it would hang. I reinstalled it using "run as administrator" and it finally worked. But I went back to 2.0 as 3.0 is just not what I want.


That sounded promising, but it didn't work for me. I re-installed as administrator, but 3.0 still hangs on opening when I click on the tray icon. (The tray icon says there are manual updates that need to be reviewed.)

I run Win 8RP on an x64-based system.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
cmug RE: Windows 8 and PSI 3
Member 8th Jul, 2012 12:49
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 6th Aug 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: DE
It worked for me also, reinstalling with "Run as Administrator" helped. Not sure if I had to run the application as Admin also, though.

PSI 3.0 really is awful. Back to 2.0..
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
spamless RE: Windows 8 and PSI 3
Member 13th Jul, 2012 15:34
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 8th Jul 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: DE
I still can't get it to work in Win 8 RC, despite uninstalling and re-installing as admin. I also just tried adding it to the Windows Firewall as allowed. Didn't help. So I can't tell whether 3.0 is awful or not yet; it just won't open.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.