Forum Thread: Multiple Versions

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
This user no longer exists Multiple Versions
Member 2nd Jul, 2012 22:29
Ranking: 1
Posts: 3
User Since: 1st Jan, 1970
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Why does Secunia show multiple versions of programs in need of updating? For example, it shows Firefox versions 6 through 12 & Thunderbird versions 6 through12. How do I deal with this?

Windows 7

Version 3.0.0.2003

Post "RE: Multiple Versions" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: Multiple Versions
Handling Contributor 2nd Jul, 2012 23:00
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 2nd Jul, 2012 23:00
One of the problems with PSI 3 is that it does not have a troubleshoot reporting mechanism.

Are U suggesting U have 6 Firefox & Thunderbird icons showing on the programmes installed page or are the 6 entries under one icon?

Can U show us a screen shot of these entries?

POSTING A SCREEN SHOT TO THE FORUM

To post a screen shot to the Forum U need to:

1. Capture the image by using a programme such as:
a. Microsoft Paint - details here if unsure how it is done.
http://www.wikihow.com/Take-a-Screenshot-in-Micros...
b. Microsoft One Note
c. Microsoft Snippet (Windows 7 & Vista)
d. Any third party equivalent programme.


2. Save the image to an online repository such as Microsoft Skydrive or here: http://www.picamatic.com/

3. Post the hyperlink to the stored online image to the Forum. Use CTRL+C to copy & CTRL+V to post to the Forum.

Update 7 21:57 02/07/2012


--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Multiple Versions
Member 3rd Jul, 2012 00:33
http://tinypic.com/m/fn4qz6/2

This is a screen shot.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Multiple Versions
Handling Contributor 3rd Jul, 2012 00:49
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Thank U. Looks like U have multiple versions of each programme installed.

Right click on each icon & select Show Details.

A box will open with the path to the old version.

Double click on that path & it will open Windows Explorer & U will be able to see the old file.

Right click on the old file & select delete.

Once U have deleted all the old files run a full PSI rescan.

That should now have removed all the old versions.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Multiple Versions
Member 3rd Jul, 2012 04:03
Thanks, old versions were in rollback directories. I'm deleting them now.

Solved my problem.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Multiple Versions
Handling Contributor 3rd Jul, 2012 09:11
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Pleased to see everything is in order.

On that basis, I will lock this thread for U sometime tomorrow unless U post back asking for it to be left open.

This will protect your mail box from possible update emails from "tag on" posts

You can of course lock threads U have created. Just click the ACCEPT button in the post of the helper who offered U the best solution/advice to solve your problem.

Secunia Support can always reopen threads by applying by email to: support@secunia.com



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.