Forum Thread: Ignore Updates does not work

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
SZRetired Ignore Updates does not work
Member 15th Aug, 2012 02:21
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 15th Aug, 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
My version of Adobe Photoshop Elements is version 8. I know it's old, but it does what I need. Now Secunia keeps instructing me to update it. I right click on the program icon and choose Ignore Updates to this program, but it still keeps telling me to update it.
Any ideas??????

Post "RE: Ignore Updates does not work" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: Ignore Updates does not work
Handling Contributor 15th Aug, 2012 02:23
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
It is a known bug which Secunia are looking at.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
SZRetired RE: Ignore Updates does not work
Member 15th Aug, 2012 02:30
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 15th Aug 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Thanks Maurice,
My first ever post and your answer came back in a minute!
Steve
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
jay25 RE: Ignore Updates does not work
Member 15th Aug, 2012 05:30
Score: 1
Posts: 1
User Since: 27th Jul 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Yes, I love PSI but I am having trouble ignoring VMware 8 and Photoshop 12, they just keep popping up after i ignore and it is casing me a lot of headaches because i strive to keep my system score a 100% and don't like seeing it below that if i can help.

Secunia please fix this ASAP your software is great but this glitch makes PSI unreliable and more work than necessary. Thanks.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
keith1937 RE: Ignore Updates does not work
Member 15th Aug, 2012 05:49
Score: 12
Posts: 36
User Since: 9th Apr 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: AU
That is the exact same "New Topic" I was just going to post.

I have no idea what happened yesterday to Secunia but I uninstalled it then reinstalled last night.

Today I had the same problem the ignore did not work "BUT" when I first installed V3 that was working perfectly.

I assume (never assume any thing) that Secunia will do an Automatic update ???

Keith
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
lafingman0 RE: Ignore Updates does not work
Member 15th Aug, 2012 06:58
Score: 1
Posts: 5
User Since: 1st Jun 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Thanks, hopefully this gets fixed. Same thing is showing up with my DAMN NFO viewer and Jasc Animation shop. They both work fine and have no security flaws (afaik), they are just not being maintained by the developers anymore.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Bart1938 RE: Ignore Updates does not work
Member 15th Aug, 2012 07:02
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 19th Nov 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Exactly the same here. Two programs, they do what I need so I have no reason to buy a newer version at all.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
PaoloR RE: Ignore Updates does not work
Member 15th Aug, 2012 09:39
Score: -1
Posts: 36
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: IT
I too have the same problem.
Also: where are the settings that could be seen well in version 2?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
MacNala RE: Ignore Updates does not work
Member 15th Aug, 2012 10:02
Score: 1
Posts: 25
User Since: 9th May 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 15th Aug, 2012 10:04
I too have this problem because of an old program no longer supported.
Where is the old option that you could set to ignore a specific program?
If the old program was secure and there are no known vulnerabilities why does it cause PSI to flag it?

Come on guys either we are a security compmany or a 'update all your programs' company!!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mykelturn RE: Ignore Updates does not work
Member 15th Aug, 2012 10:06
Score: 2
Posts: 18
User Since: 11th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: PH
I am having (I guess) similar problems with PSI. All my ignore rules are gone and I cannot ignore any program/application now. Also, my copy of PSI is not detecting any hard drive (such as: C:\). I am currently running v2.0.0.4003. The latest version(s) ... v3.x is just not working for me. That is to say .... v3.x does not provide for me any data at all like what v2.x did. I really do like the availability of the various information that v2 provided. As far as I am concerned v3.x is for dummies. Sorry. That's the way I see it for v3. Anyway, I removed v2. and reinstalled v2 as I thought that maybe my copy of PSI v2 got corrupted. However, after the reinstall of v2, no change.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Ignore Updates does not work
Secunia Official 15th Aug, 2012 10:33
Last edited on 15th Aug, 2012 10:57 Thank you all for reporting this issue. We are fully aware of it and are working to get it fixed ASAP.

Edit: The issue should now have been fixed. A rescan may be required.
keith1937 RE: Ignore Updates does not work
Member 15th Aug, 2012 12:13
Score: 12
Posts: 36
User Since: 9th Apr 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: AU
Secunia

Thank you its working perfectly now.

It updated and fixed its self.

Seeing that was done so fast can any thing be done about the "Loading"

A Green Bar or some thing to show its actually loading.

Again Thank You
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Doctor9fan RE: Ignore Updates does not work
Member 15th Aug, 2012 15:11
Score: 19
Posts: 50
User Since: 10th Jul 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I am having the opposite problem with ver 3, programmes are appearing under ignore when I have not chosen to ignore them, currently these are Works 9 & Windows support tools. Is this being looked into as well as I have previously reported it & emailed support with details.

--
Virginia/Doctor9fan.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.