Forum Thread: Adobe Shockwave Update

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Adobe Systems
And, this specific program:
Adobe Shockwave Player 11.x

This thread has been marked as resolved.
lightning man Adobe Shockwave Update
Member 18th Aug, 2012 17:39
Ranking: 1
Posts: 8
User Since: 12th May, 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Adobe Shockwave is detected as insecure by Secunia PSI 3.0 and says updating, but it has been updating for the past 2 days with no change. I rescanned the program and restarted my computer, but the program is still "updating." Adobe is version 11.6.5.635 and the path is C:\Windows\sysWOW64\Adobe\Shockwave 11\SwInit.exe

Post "RE: Adobe Shockwave Update" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: Adobe Shockwave Update
Handling Contributor 18th Aug, 2012 17:47
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
This should clear shockwave.

1. Download & SAVE these to desktop.

1. Shockwave Uninstaller for your OS from the clearly marked link on this web page:
http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/alternates...

2. The latest Shockwave from here:
http://get.adobe.com/shockwave/

3.The programmes will appear on the desk top. THE IMPORTANT BIT - Before activating the desktop downloads check these programmes are completely shut down (use the Task Manager if necessary (CTRL+SHIFT+ESC) to COMPLETELY EXIT these processes if running)):
a. All Browsers.
b. Windows Messenger.
c. Incredimail.
d. All Adobe Products.
e. PSI - Unless using version 2 or version 3

4. Now uninstall then install the latest version.

5. Complete a full PSI rescan.


Update 8 16:36 18/08/2012

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Chrissy52 RE: Adobe Shockwave Update
Member 20th Aug, 2012 01:36
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 20th Aug 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: AU
I am having the same issue as reported by lightening man with Adobe Shockwave Update. Have followed the instructions that were given here on this forum but PSI still stuck saying I need an update. Help! Thank you
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Adobe Shockwave Update
Handling Contributor 20th Aug, 2012 11:48
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
It looks like a programme has Shockwave elements embedded which could lead to a false positive.

Uninstall Shockwave again using the uninstaller used before.

Now run a full PSI scan before attempting a reinstall.

What result do U get now?

If something is showing what is the path?


FINDING A FILE PATH USING PSI

VERSION 2


From the DASHBOARD page click on SCAN RESULTS.

1. This will list all your programmes with a + to the left of each programme.
2. Click the + sign next to the item that U want help with.
3. This will reveal the path under DETECTED INSTANCES.
4. Below DETECTED INSTANCES you will see this You can double click this row for additional information & options>double click it>a box will appear>look to the RIGHT & U will see TROUBLESHOOT REPORT in BLUE writing under the heading TOOLBOX> click TroubleShoot Report & it will reveal some information in a box>highlight the information revealed from ---START--- to ---END--- & copy it (CTRL+C) then post it to the Forum (CTRL+V)

VERSION 3
This version does not have such an easy method to publish the path.

Open PSI>once open select Show Programs.
U will now see a page full of programme icons or a list.
Right click on the programme in error>select Show Details - that will open a box showing the path & version number of the offending file.
U now have 2 options:
1. Write down the exact file path & install version - return to the Forum & type that information.
2. Take a screen shot & publish that.

Update 25 10:47 20/08/2012



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Chrissy52 RE: Adobe Shockwave Update
Member 20th Aug, 2012 13:26
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 20th Aug 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: AU
Thanks Maurice,

this is the path as requested after program was un-installed:-

C:\Windows\SysWOW64\Adobe\Shockwave11\SwInt.exe

After I re-install the program as downloaded with the link in this forum..PSI still tries to update saying I have installed version 11.6.5.635

When I follow the path as instructed above after the program has been re-installed the path is the same. When checking the files in that link it shows that I actually have installed version 11.6.6.636

Thanks for your help

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Adobe Shockwave Update
Handling Contributor 20th Aug, 2012 15:26
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I assume U now have Shockwave installed again?

If so click on the troublesome file

C:\Windows\SysWOW64\Adobe\Shockwave11\SwInt.exe

Right click on it & select RENAME it. Rename it to .OLD so it looks like this- C:\Windows\SysWOW64\Adobe\Shockwave11\SwInt.exe .OLD

Now click here & run the tester - is shockwave reported as working with animation?
http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/welcome/

You will also see a link on that page to test the Flash Player - is that OK & showing version 11.3.300.271?

Run a full PSI scan - is it still being reported?

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Chrissy52 RE: Adobe Shockwave Update
Member 20th Aug, 2012 16:47
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 20th Aug 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: AU
Thanks for the help initially this didn't help I did what you said...& as nothing had seemed to change so I changed the file name back etc...not sure what happened but PSI seems to have stopped trying to do the update and it is now listed among all the other happy programs as being up to date :)







Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Adobe Shockwave Update
Handling Contributor 20th Aug, 2012 21:21
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Cyberworld at its best! Pleased to see U are fixed up.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.