Forum Thread: Update is not functioning

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Steen Jensen Update is not functioning
Member 25th Aug, 2012 17:31
Ranking: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 16th Jan, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: DK
Today I got told that 3 programs needed up date. Running version PSI 3.0 on XP 64 bit.

Adobe Flash Player 11.x (ActiveX)
Adobe Flash Player 11.x (NPAPI)
Microsoft XML Core Services (MSXML) 4.x

Tried to click on update for all three programs, went shopping, coming home it said I needed restart. Restarted computer, scanned with PSI and got same result: no update.

Have given up to use the click here to update as it takes extremely long time!

Any way to go back to fetch them like in version before?

Just now it has been running updating first of above for around 10 mins, saying "Updating - in Danish), but still not finished. My connection is 40/40 mbit.




jarome RE: Update is not functioning
Member 25th Aug, 2012 17:50
Score: 0
Posts: 23
User Since: 19th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Same here. I had to do the Adobe ones manually, but Windows Update says I am up to date, so not sure what to do about the core services. The new PSI 3.0 is rather useless when it hangs doing an update, and you cannot figure out why. There needs to be a right-click status and solution option. At least the manual ones in PSI 2.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
john181818 RE: Update is not functioning
Member 25th Aug, 2012 20:09
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 8th Jul 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I am having the same issues with Adobe products on both of our computers.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Update is not functioning
Handling Contributor 25th Aug, 2012 20:57
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
The solution is on this thread:

https://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/13...

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Steen Jensen RE: Update is not functioning
Member 26th Aug, 2012 00:25
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 16th Jan 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: DK
In that thread is mentioned

"IE & Other Browsers using the Trident Rendering Engine."

Sorry - but don't know what is Trident ....bla.bla.bla.

can I go back to use version 2 of PSI - that was easy to find out!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Update is not functioning
Handling Contributor 26th Aug, 2012 00:31
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
A Trident rendering engine uses Active X like IE .

U can always revert to version 2 if you prefer it. The links are below my Signature Block - I would advise using version 2.0.0.3003.

Just click the link of your preferred version & SEcunia will auto uninstall your old version/install the new.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Steen Jensen RE: Update is not functioning
Member 26th Aug, 2012 01:10
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 16th Jan 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: DK
Thanks, gone back and life looks much easier again!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Update is not functioning
Handling Contributor 26th Aug, 2012 01:12
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Good News - post again if you need more help.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
joesoap1264 RE: Update is not functioning
Member 26th Aug, 2012 15:50
Score: 0
Posts: 70
User Since: 22nd Dec 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Hi Maurice, I too am having trouble with xl 4 windows update.
Did as instructed, downloaded 2.03 mb from your link, now got 2 errors, still the 4x, and now 6x, did a restore point prior to download, but errors still there, 96%Did adobe manually,ok.
I,ve had url problems and logging in for ages.just use search.
This windows update is my main concern now, any help appreciated
windows vista home premium, 32 bit,

--
Acer laptop 5920
2gb
IEdefault
windows vista premium sp2

Chrome
Aol
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Update is not functioning
Handling Contributor 26th Aug, 2012 16:35
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Which version of MSXML 4 does PSI state U have installed?


--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
joesoap1264 RE: Update is not functioning
Member 26th Aug, 2012 16:40
Score: 0
Posts: 70
User Since: 22nd Dec 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 26th Aug, 2012 16:46
Hi Maurice, in all programs I,m using 2.4003. or is this not what you require?
edit, so sorry maurice, gaga today;
it originally detected 4.30.2100.0 which I tried to update from windows, which said up to date.
downloaded the link 2.3mb , now have, same as above, also 6.20.5005.0 as well, even after rollback.

--
Acer laptop 5920
2gb
IEdefault
windows vista premium sp2

Chrome
Aol
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Update is not functioning
Handling Contributor 26th Aug, 2012 16:50
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I suspect it is telling U that this is not installed:

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.as...

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
joesoap1264 RE: Update is not functioning
Member 26th Aug, 2012 17:01
Score: 0
Posts: 70
User Since: 22nd Dec 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
just tried ti download that, got error;;;windows installer;;error opening istal logfile; verify that it,s location exists and is writable

--
Acer laptop 5920
2gb
IEdefault
windows vista premium sp2

Chrome
Aol
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
joesoap1264 RE: Update is not functioning
Member 26th Aug, 2012 17:16
Score: 0
Posts: 70
User Since: 22nd Dec 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 26th Aug, 2012 17:59
cannot find that kb in windows latest updates, last 1 is2722913 ie9
update;;;;
100%.
ok now maurice thanks, rooled back again, re-downloaded windows 4x. ran secunia, 100%
green again; thankyou;

--
Acer laptop 5920
2gb
IEdefault
windows vista premium sp2

Chrome
Aol
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Update is not functioning
Handling Contributor 26th Aug, 2012 20:16
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
@joesoap1264
Pleased to see U are now OK again.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
joesoap1264 RE: Update is not functioning
Member 27th Aug, 2012 08:07
Score: 0
Posts: 70
User Since: 22nd Dec 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
thanks again maurice;; keep up the good work.
regarding url and community connection via interface;; never did it successfully, don,t like messing with registry, unless neccessary;;;tried it several times, nogo;
I just connect via browser, any,and save to favourites, easier.
cheers

--
Acer laptop 5920
2gb
IEdefault
windows vista premium sp2

Chrome
Aol
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.