Forum Thread: False alarm on Mcafee Virtual Technician

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
McAfee
And, this specific program:
McAfee Virtual Technician 6.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
torekr56 False alarm on Mcafee Virtual Technician
Member 28th Aug, 2012 10:53
Ranking: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 28th Aug, 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I receive this message in Secunia:
Quick Facts about McAfee Virtual Technician 6.xThis program was detected as Insecure, it is strongly recommended that you apply the latest security patch from the vendor of the program.

The version detected of McAfee Virtual Technician 6.x was 6.0.0.0 while the latest version including one or more security fixes is 6.4.

Looking at the file properties and in Control Panel/../Programs and Features I see that the file is 6.5.

I believe that Secunia is not reporting correctly.

Who should I report this to?

Maurice Joyce RE: False alarm on Mcafee Virtual Technician
Handling Contributor 28th Aug, 2012 11:24
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
You could have an old file installed.

What path does PSI give you?


FINDING A FILE PATH USING PSI

VERSION 2


From the DASHBOARD page click on SCAN RESULTS.

1. This will list all your programmes with a + to the left of each programme.
2. Click the + sign next to the item that U want help with.
3. This will reveal the path under DETECTED INSTANCES.
4. Below DETECTED INSTANCES you will see this You can double click this row for additional information & options>double click it>a box will appear>look to the RIGHT & U will see TROUBLESHOOT REPORT in BLUE writing under the heading TOOLBOX> click TroubleShoot Report & it will reveal some information in a box>highlight the information revealed from ---START--- to ---END--- & copy it (CTRL+C) then post it to the Forum (CTRL+V)

VERSION 3
This version does not have such an easy method to publish the path.

Open PSI>once open select Show Programs.
U will now see a page full of programme icons or a list.
Right click on the programme in error>select Show Details - that will open a box showing the path & version number of the offending file.
U now have 2 options:
1. Write down the exact file path & install version - return to the Forum & type that information.
2. Take a screen shot & publish that.

Update 26 10:23 28/08/2012

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
torekr56 RE: False alarm on Mcafee Virtual Technician
Member 28th Aug, 2012 12:47
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 28th Aug 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have Secunia V2.

The 6.5 version is the actual file (in the correct folder) that Secunia refers to.
There are no duplicate folders/files on my PC.
When I check the file properties of the file (in thefolder) that Secunia directs me to when opening folder in the lower box (path area), I read "Product version 6.5.0.2101"

---START---

Program Name:
McAfee Virtual Technician 6.x

Security State:
Insecure

Download Link:
http://mvt.mcafee.com/mvt

Instances Found:
C:\Program Files (x86)\McAfee\Supportability\MVT\MvtApp.exe, version: 6.0.0.0

Last System Scan (localtime):
28. Aug 2012, 08:13

Operating System:
Microsoft Windows 7, Microsoft Windows 7

---END---

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: False alarm on Mcafee Virtual Technician
Handling Contributor 28th Aug, 2012 14:55
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Are you suggesting that PSI is reading C:\Program Files (x86)\McAfee\Supportability\MVT\MvtApp.exe, version: 6.0.0.0

when in fact the actual file is 6.5.0.2101?

If so that should not be possible - Secunia reads the file meta data supplied by the vendor installed on your system as follows:

The Secunia PSI works by examining files on your computer (primarily .exe, .dll, and .ocx files). These files contain non-specific meta information provided by the software vendor only. This data is the same for all users, and originates from the installed programs on your computer - never from their configuration.

After examining all the files on your local hard drive(s), the collected data is sent to Secunia's servers, which match the data against the Secunia File Signatures engine (https://psi.secunia.com/) to determine the exact applications installed on your system.



You can easily check. Rename C:\Program Files (x86)\McAfee\Supportability\MVT\MvtApp.exe, version: 6.0.0.0

to C:\Program Files (x86)\McAfee\Supportability\MVT\MvtApp.exe - OLD

Now run a PSI scan & it should clear the vulnerability. McAfee should still work.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
torekr56 RE: False alarm on Mcafee Virtual Technician
Member 28th Aug, 2012 16:57
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 28th Aug 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Thank you for responding....

I see that you find it difficult to believe my description.
Unfortunately I cannot post a screen copy.

I changed the file name to MvtAppOLD.exe and still (after rescan) PSI reports that MvtApp.exe (!!) is insecure!!??
Please note that i open the folder via the link within PSI.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: False alarm on Mcafee Virtual Technician
Handling Contributor 28th Aug, 2012 17:32
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 28th Aug, 2012 17:48
POSTING A SCREEN SHOT TO THE FORUM

To post a screen shot to the Forum U need to:

1. Capture the image by using a programme such as:
a. Microsoft Paint - details here if unsure how it is done.
http://www.wikihow.com/Take-a-Screenshot-in-Micros...
b. Microsoft One Note
c. Microsoft Snippet (Windows 7 & Vista)
d. Any third party equivalent programme.


2. Save the image to an online repository such as Microsoft Skydrive or here: http://www.picamatic.com/

3. Post the hyperlink to the stored online image to the Forum. Use CTRL+C to copy & CTRL+V to post to the Forum.

Update 8 08:20 16/08/2012

Two screen shots should help.

1. A shot showing all the files belonging to that programme. Example vhere:

https://akkkug.bay.livefilestore.com/y1pPXkOBxUoug...

2. A shot showing the properties of the file Secunia finds. Example here:

https://akkkug.bay.livefilestore.com/y1pbeiErJV0Rx...

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
torekr56 RE: False alarm on Mcafee Virtual Technician
Member 31st Aug, 2012 09:56
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 28th Aug 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Problem solved.
After trying several times to rescan the files, I did a full rescan from the "Patch your PC" box. This scan found the correct file information.

New problem found. :-)
The single program rescan option in the "Toolbox" did not find the correct file info, and reported
the previous status (version) of the file.

Thanks for your contributions.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

Maurice Joyce

RE: False alarm on Mcafee Virtual Technician
[+]
This reply has been deleted
Maurice Joyce RE: False alarm on Mcafee Virtual Technician
Handling Contributor 31st Aug, 2012 13:11
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 1st Sep, 2012 08:48
That is a well known hassle - much better & quicker to do a full PSI scan & rather than use the "toolbox" rescan option.




--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.