Forum Thread: FIrefox 3.06 still shows insecure after installing patch

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Mozilla Foundation
And, this specific program:
Mozilla Firefox 3.0.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
mrmikeh FIrefox 3.06 still shows insecure after installing patch
Member 11th Feb, 2009 01:53
Ranking: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 31st Oct, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Even after installing Firefox 3.06, which is the current version, Secunia PSI shows program as insecure. Properties of file show version 3.06, but PSI detects 3.05.

Program located in C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe.
I used the patch link in PSI to install the current version 3.06
Rescanned the program and it still shows version 3.05 detected.

Thanks, Mike

This user no longer exists RE: FIrefox 3.06 still shows insecure after installing patch
Secunia Official 11th Feb, 2009 09:12
Hi Mike

You might still have remains of 3.0.5 on your computer. Thats what the PSI detects.
Make sure to remove every trace of 3.0.5



Morten Hansen
fbloss RE: FIrefox 3.06 still shows insecure after installing patch
Member 13th Feb, 2009 06:55
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 9th Jan 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have the same problem. How, exactly, does one go about removing "all traces of 3.0.5"?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Robt RE: FIrefox 3.06 still shows insecure after installing patch
Member 18th Feb, 2009 14:13
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 3rd Sep 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
After upgrading to fireFox 3.06 Secunia was still finding the insecure version in my trash bin. The fix was to empty it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mrand90706 RE: FIrefox 3.06 still shows insecure after installing patch
Member 23rd Feb, 2009 01:58
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 20th Apr 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 23rd Feb, 2009 02:03
I have the same problem. Secunia shows 3.05 in the location for the program, the 'Program Files\Mozilla Firefox' folder on the C drive, not in the trash, not in any backups. Firefox shows it is version 3.06 when running. If it helps anyone figure this out, I also have a utility from FileHippo.com that searches for programs that need updates and it also shows 3.05 installed.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Underlien RE: FIrefox 3.06 still shows insecure after installing patch
Member 23rd Feb, 2009 10:24
Score: 0
Posts: 95
User Since: 4th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: DK
Try to uninstall firefox completely, rescan with PSI.

It should remove the treat completely, if not you can easier find the files related to 3.0.5 since 3.0.6 is not present



Then you can install 3.0.6 again (you can download the installer before uninstalling, this way you don't have to open IE)

Underlien
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
war59312 RE: FIrefox 3.06 still shows insecure after installing patch
Member 26th Feb, 2009 07:17
Score: 3
Posts: 19
User Since: 26th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Might want to backup your profile first if you decide to uninstall firefox.

See: http://support.mozilla.com/en-US/kb/Backing+up+you...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
RockyMtnMiss RE: FIrefox 3.06 still shows insecure after installing patch
Member 9th Mar, 2009 14:48
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 3rd Feb 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I completely uninstalled Firefox and then I installed the latest version of Firefox (3.0.7) and PSI is still saying that Firefox 3.0.5 is running and insecure.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Underlien RE: FIrefox 3.06 still shows insecure after installing patch
Member 9th Mar, 2009 14:50
Score: 0
Posts: 95
User Since: 4th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: DK
In the PSI you can click on the insecure programs listed to see more details.

What is the path of firefox 3.0.5?



Underlien
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
RockyMtnMiss RE: FIrefox 3.06 still shows insecure after installing patch
Member 9th Mar, 2009 14:58
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 3rd Feb 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Well, I hate to admit this, but the path showed that the problem was on my 3rd hard drive, which is not connected to the outside world. That was an easy fix! That won't happen again.

Thanks!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Underlien RE: FIrefox 3.06 still shows insecure after installing patch
Member 9th Mar, 2009 15:03
Score: 0
Posts: 95
User Since: 4th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: DK
I'm just glad to help :)


We like easy fix's!

Underlien
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
jmj.willemse RE: FIrefox 3.06 still shows insecure after installing patch
Member 10th Mar, 2009 20:26
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 24th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 11th Feb, 2009 01:53, mrmikeh wrote:
Even after installing Firefox 3.06, which is the current version, Secunia PSI shows program as insecure. Properties of file show version 3.06, but PSI detects 3.05.

Program located in C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe.
I used the patch link in PSI to install the current version 3.06
Rescanned the program and it still shows version 3.05 detected.

Thanks, Mike

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: FIrefox 3.06 still shows insecure after installing patch
Member 11th Mar, 2009 12:31
Score:
Posts: 612
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 15th Mar, 2009 20:48
If your problem really is a incomplete uninstall this is the cure for any uninstall problems try it and see: www.revouninstaller.com it works. Secondly, don't forget (like myself)about add-ons. They can block the installation process of just about any download. The fix for this is to DRAG the "Temporarily allow all this page" from toolbar/customize drop down, and placing it on what ever toolbar you like. Use prior to down loading any program. It sure works for me. Be advised that the new Firefox is 3.0.7 LUCK Oh right one other double check is to see what your add/remove has to say about the version you are running.
3-15-09 Just found out something else which is very interesting if you are in the beta testing program. That when a beta is release they (Mozilla) keep the previous stable version in your add/remove in case you want to go back to the stable version by simply uninstalling the beta. Cool

--
Windows 10 64bit

There is No magic bullet in computing; only work a rounds.
















Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
nvanzijl RE: FIrefox 3.06 still shows insecure after installing patch
Member 15th Mar, 2009 20:32
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 14th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have done a rescan of the program and this helped to resolve the issues. I nolonger have the message that I have an unsecure porgram.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
leshill65 RE: FIrefox 3.06 still shows insecure after installing patch
Member 21st Jun, 2009 09:36
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 21st Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 9th Mar, 2009 14:48, RockyMtnMiss wrote:
I completely uninstalled Firefox and then I installed the latest version of Firefox (3.0.7) and PSI is still saying that Firefox 3.0.5 is running and insecure.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: FIrefox 3.06 still shows insecure after installing patch
Member 21st Jun, 2009 19:56
Score:
Posts: 612
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 21st Jun, 2009 20:06


--
Windows 10 64bit

There is No magic bullet in computing; only work a rounds.
















Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Roderunner RE: FIrefox 3.06 still shows insecure after installing patch
Member 25th Jun, 2009 12:37
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 7th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Glasgow, UK
The current Firefox is version 3.0.11 and it, according to PSI is insecure.

--
'Patent Pending'
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.