Forum Thread: Click to Update remains at "updating"

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
NickInCo Click to Update remains at "updating"
Member 13th Sep, 2012 22:15
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 13th Sep, 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I'm using PSI V 3 and I've been trying to update the following:

OpenOffice 3.x
Oracle Java JRE 1.7.x
Oracle VirtualBox 4.x
Sun Java JRE 1.6.x

I click the "Click to Update" link and it then changes to "Updating". It's been 8 hours and no change. I have no idea what is going on or if anything is even happening. The feedback in V 3 is horrendous. I've looked in the forums, but didn't see anything. My apologies if I missed something, but any help is appreciated.

I'm running Windows 7 Home Premium Service Pack 1.

Nick.

Maurice Joyce RE: Click to Update remains at "updating"
Handling Contributor 13th Sep, 2012 22:42
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Nick,

1. Is there a reason that you have two versions of Oracle JAVA installed?

2. As you correctly observed the updating issue is reported by many on the forum - may be better to complete the tasks manually.

3. Bearing in mind that version 3 is not an upgrade to version 2 have you considered reverting to either version 2 or 1 both of which remain supported.

If required,the links to various alternatives are below my Signature Block.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
NickInCo RE: Click to Update remains at "updating"
Member 13th Sep, 2012 23:50
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 13th Sep 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Maurice,

Thank you for your quick reply, it is really appreciated.

I'll reply to each of your points.

1. I did not intentionally install two versions of Java. There must have been some package that installed the Sun version and another that installed the Oracle version. I have not had a chance to look into this.

2. I searched for the "hanging" install, but found numerous references to adobe products, but none with regard to the 4 above. Thank you for verifying it is the same problem

3. I will in fact revert to Version 2 in the near future. Just wanted to give V 3 a test drive.

I'll just update the packages manually. Thanks for you help.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.