Forum Thread: PSI 3.0 "forgets" scan results after PC restart

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Mike406 PSI 3.0 "forgets" scan results after PC restart
Member 28th Oct, 2012 22:05
Ranking: 1
Posts: 19
User Since: 27th Aug, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I've used PSI for years now and have recently upgraded (from 2.0) to 3.0 to see what's new. I like the new interface and all that, but it doesn't seem to remember my scans. I did a full scan last night and when I turned my PC on this morning PSI reported I had never done any scan. Scanned again, and after restarting a few hours later, the icon was red again and reported as I never did a scan. I have never experienced this issue with any other version of PSI.

My OS is Windows 7 Professional x64

-Mike

Maurice Joyce RE: PSI 3.0 "forgets" scan results after PC restart
Handling Contributor 29th Oct, 2012 00:28
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Mike,
Worth looking at your User ID to see if this has been corrupted by the install of V3.

It is located here:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Secunia\PSI

It should look like this:

https://akkkug.bay.livefilestore.com/y1p1FS5on3fMx...

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Mike406 RE: PSI 3.0 "forgets" scan results after PC restart
Member 29th Oct, 2012 01:01
Score: 1
Posts: 19
User Since: 27th Aug 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hi Maurice, thanks for that tip. My userid appears to be normal and is a string of 50 characters.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: PSI 3.0 "forgets" scan results after PC restart
Handling Contributor 29th Oct, 2012 01:06
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Mike,
That was just a shot in the dark.

Does the log file give any clues? It is located in the filing system of PSI via Windows Explorer.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Mike406 RE: PSI 3.0 "forgets" scan results after PC restart
Member 29th Oct, 2012 07:39
Score: 1
Posts: 19
User Since: 27th Aug 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 29th Oct, 2012 07:44
First link shows the log from when I click 'Restart' to when the computer finishes booting:
http://pastebin.com/eZ9qEzfW

I'm also getting a TON of these, they are filling the log up endlessly:
http://gyazo.com/2af16f79d0f70f4a910efcf9936ed5f0

Also, there appears to be 2 log files. 'psialog.txt' and 'sualog.txt', I got those entries from psialog.txt.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: PSI 3.0 "forgets" scan results after PC restart
Handling Contributor 29th Oct, 2012 11:36
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Mike,
Secunia Support are active on the Forum. I will bring this to the top of the pile so they can easily see it & hopefully offer help from the publication of your log file.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
This user no longer exists RE: PSI 3.0 "forgets" scan results after PC restart
Secunia Official 29th Oct, 2012 13:08

This thread has been marked as locked.