Forum Thread: Click to update -> Windows Update

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Joliegew Click to update -> Windows Update
Member 16th Nov, 2012 20:25
Ranking: 1
Posts: 13
User Since: 7th Mar, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Last edited on 16th Nov, 2012 20:52

The day before yesterday I accepted the abt. 20 automatic Windows Update alerts. Just went fine.
PSI 3.0 alerts me for 8 vulnarabilities concerning Windows elements.
Even after rescanning with PSI (which took long), PSI keeps telling to "Click to update" which leads to Windows Update that tells me there are no updates available.
What can there be wrong?

Windows Vista

Maurice Joyce RE: Click to update -> Windows Update
Handling Contributor 16th Nov, 2012 22:03
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Have you rebooted before completing a full PSI rescan?

If so & the vulnerabilities still show what happens when you run a manual Windows Update scan?

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
piaengra1 RE: Click to update -> Windows Update
Member 17th Nov, 2012 13:47
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 12th Jul 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 17th Nov, 2012 13:49
on 16th Nov, 2012 20:25, Joliegew wrote:
The day before yesterday I accepted the abt. 20 automatic Windows Update alerts. Just went fine.
PSI 3.0 alerts me for 8 vulnarabilities concerning Windows elements.
Even after rescanning with PSI (which took long), PSI keeps telling to "Click to update" which leads to Windows Update that tells me there are no updates available.
What can there be wrong?

Windows Vista

I have exactly the same problem and I have not yet found a solution. Tried and ( Fix IT ) of Microsoft but no result
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
gwilki RE: Click to update -> Windows Update
Member 17th Nov, 2012 15:40
Score: 0
Posts: 27
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
I have the same issue. PSI shows a problem with IE9, IE9 (64 bit) and Windows 7. All are up to date as of two days ago. I did a manual windows update scan. All is well, according to MS. I did a full scan with PSI. It still shows 3 bad. My PC has been cold shut down 3 times.
I don't worry about these things, though. I find that, frequently, PSI takes a few days to be able to detect that something has been updated. It would be good if that were not so, but I figure that, for free, it's a pretty good app.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Joliegew RE: Click to update -> Windows Update
Member 17th Nov, 2012 17:07
Score: 1
Posts: 13
User Since: 7th Mar 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Yes, thank you: This helped: reboot +scan anew!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Click to update -> Windows Update
Handling Contributor 17th Nov, 2012 19:43
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
@joliegrew

Does that mean it has solved your problem?

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.