Forum Thread: Adobe FlahPlayer 64 bit active x

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
peterrrr Adobe FlahPlayer 64 bit active x
Member 19th Dec, 2012 14:42
Ranking: 2
Posts: 95
User Since: 5th Sep, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Secunia keeps rotating over this program and I do noy know what to do about it.
It seems, in the dtails, it hs been listed 4 times.
I just installed Win 8 and have a 64 bit system.
Thank you for your help
Peter

Post "RE: Adobe FlahPlayer 64 bit active x" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: Adobe FlahPlayer 64 bit active x
Handling Contributor 19th Dec, 2012 16:53
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Peter,
I think it is where Microsoft store their old copies of Flash which has been raised here:
https://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/13...

I have asked Secunia Support to comment on that thread as & when time allows.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
peterrrr RE: Adobe FlahPlayer 64 bit active x
Member 19th Dec, 2012 19:58
Score: 2
Posts: 95
User Since: 5th Sep 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I tried to attach a prntscrn of this file's details and the file itself but do not see any place for attachments.
I was sure there was a place for attachments.

So, when you have time, please let me know about attachments and what is to be done with this file that we are discussing.
Thank you
Peter
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Adobe FlahPlayer 64 bit active x
Handling Contributor 19th Dec, 2012 22:18
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Peter,
I do not have Windows 8 IE10 therefore do not know how to advise. Hopefully Secunia Support will respond giving the information.

This is how to post a screen shot:

POSTING A SCREEN SHOT TO THE FORUM

To post a screen shot to the Forum U need to:

1. Capture the image by using a programme such as:
a. Microsoft Paint - details here if unsure how it is done.
http://www.wikihow.com/Take-a-Screenshot-in-Micros...
b. Microsoft One Note
c. Microsoft Snippet (Windows 7 & Vista)
d. Any third party equivalent programme like this:
http://www.techsmith.com/snagit-customer-stories.h...

2. Save the image to an online repository such as Microsoft Skydrive or here: http://www.picamatic.com/

3. Post the hyperlink to the stored online image to the Forum. Use CTRL+C to copy & CTRL+V to post to the Forum.

Last Reviewed 21:15 19/12/2012

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
genegold99 RE: Adobe FlahPlayer 64 bit active x
Member 20th Dec, 2012 02:07
Score: 5
Posts: 141
User Since: 25th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 20th Dec, 2012 02:08
I ran into this in the last day or so too. That update in PSI runs on an on. Here's a screenshot of what I'm looking at: <"http://i47.tinypic.com/15nk2ts.jpg">. Adobe says I'm up to date, while It's impossible to tell from the PSI details what exactly it is one is supposed to be looking for. Last night, there was still an 11.5.x version showing in the details, which allowed me to see what the two files that needed copying are. The problem is that it's not easy in Win 8 to copy them over, even if one is lucky enough to know which ones, since Administrator rights are needed and Win 8 is stingy about those without going into a full Administrator account (vs. a Local/Administrator one that most people will use).
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
nickpayne RE: Adobe FlahPlayer 64 bit active x
Member 20th Dec, 2012 05:02
Score: 4
Posts: 16
User Since: 14th May 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
The problem is that MS keeps the old versions of flash around under C:\Windows\WinSxS\amd64_adobe-flash-for-windows_et c... (this is on Win 8 64-bit, I presume on 32-bit the path would be different). Under Windows 8 you can't delete these, even from the administrative desktop, so for the moment the only thing you can do is to either tell PSI to ignore updates to this program, or put up with the red icon and warnings about a program needing manual update.

As I don't have Flash installed per se - what PSI is complaining about is old versions of the flash that's em bedded in IE10, I just told it to ignore updates to that program. I don't use IE10 anyway, I use Chrome, so I don't care whether or not Flash in IE10 is up to date or not.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
genegold99 RE: Adobe FlahPlayer 64 bit active x
Member 20th Dec, 2012 06:34
Score: 5
Posts: 141
User Since: 25th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 20th Dec, 2012 06:35
Thanks for saving me the time playing around in my Admin account. I hadn't noticed the 'ignore' choice, so that will have to do.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Adobe FlahPlayer 64 bit active x
Handling Contributor 20th Dec, 2012 16:23
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Peter,
By reading this thread you will note this issue is fixed.

https://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/13...

There is no requirement to do anything except complete a full PSI rescan & you should get the correct result.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
peterrrr RE: Adobe FlahPlayer 64 bit active x
Member 20th Dec, 2012 16:49
Score: 2
Posts: 95
User Since: 5th Sep 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 20th Dec, 2012 16:50
Maurice
Thank you so much for the help. I did not want to just disregard it.
Peter
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

MickeyMouse456

RE: Adobe FlahPlayer 64 bit active x
[+]
This reply has been deleted
Maurice Joyce RE: Adobe FlahPlayer 64 bit active x
Handling Contributor 20th Dec, 2012 17:00
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Peter,
Is it now showing correctly for you?

You are correct in waiting for Secunia to respond rather than create an ignore rule without the necessary security information.

The original information given by Secunia was either a false positive (detection error/mismatch) or it is vulnerable. As it turned out they corrected their database reporting proving the older version cached by Microsoft are safe in IE10.



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
peterrrr RE: Adobe FlahPlayer 64 bit active x
Member 20th Dec, 2012 18:30
Score: 2
Posts: 95
User Since: 5th Sep 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 20th Dec, 2012 18:30
Hi Maurice
I Implied that it is now working with my previous post but can't thank you enough. I am glad this worked out on both ends.
Blessed Holiday. I never know whether to tic accept or reply so I'll try accept now.
Peter
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.