Forum Thread: Vulnerable program not installed

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Adobe Systems
And, this specific program:
Adobe Acrobat 9.x

This thread has been marked as resolved.
geosibley Vulnerable program not installed
Member 12th Jan, 2013 20:34
Ranking: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 1st Aug, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Secunia PSI shows that Adobe Acrobat 9x is vulnerable and needs to be updated, but the program is not installed on my computer. Any advice from anyone will be appreciated.

Post "RE: Vulnerable program not installed" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: Vulnerable program not installed
Handling Contributor 13th Jan, 2013 16:18
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
What path is PSI showing to the vulnerability?

FINDING A FILE PATH USING PSI

VERSION 2


From the DASHBOARD page click on SCAN RESULTS.

1. This will list all your programmes with a + to the left of each programme.
2. Click the + sign next to the item that U want help with.
3. This will reveal the path under DETECTED INSTANCES.
4. Below DETECTED INSTANCES you will see this You can double click this row for additional information & options>double click it>a box will appear>look to the RIGHT & U will see TROUBLESHOOT REPORT in BLUE writing under the heading TOOLBOX> click TroubleShoot Report & it will reveal some information in a box>highlight the information revealed from ---START--- to ---END--- & copy it (CTRL+C) then post it to the Forum (CTRL+V)

VERSION 3
This version does not have such an easy method to publish the path.

Open PSI>once open select Show Programs.
U will now see a page full of programme icons or a list.
Right click on the programme in error>select Show Details - that will open a box showing the path & version number of the offending file.
U now have 2 options:
1. Write down the exact file path & install version - return to the Forum & type that information.
2. Take a screen shot & publish that.

Last Reviewed 15:06 13/01/2013


--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
geosibley RE: Vulnerable program not installed
Member 13th Jan, 2013 16:37
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 1st Aug 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hi,

I do appreciate your help, but I think I solved the problem. I found the file path which was in Windows.old folder. I simply deleted the folder, and Acrobat does not appear in Secunia PSI anymore. (I did it before I read your reply).
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Vulnerable program not installed
Handling Contributor 13th Jan, 2013 16:42
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Pleased to see you are all fixed up.

On that basis, I will lock this thread for U sometime tomorrow unless U post back asking for it to be left open.

This will protect your mail box from possible update emails from "tag on" posts

You can of course lock threads U have created. Just click the ACCEPT button in the post of the helper who offered U the best solution/advice to solve your problem.

Secunia Support can always reopen threads by applying by email to: support@secunia.com



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.