Forum Thread: Screen sticks on Loading

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Froglady4647 Screen sticks on Loading
Member 3rd Feb, 2013 11:04
Ranking: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 3rd Feb, 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I was trying to update PSI on my laptop computer, which showed a red screen and said I needed a manual update. However, the opening screen sticks on "Loading" and Secunia won't open. I then tried to open Secunia on my desktop and the same thing happens. I've used PSI for some years and while it is often very slow to load I haven't had this problem.

Both computers run Win 7 Home. The laptop is 32 bit and the desktop is 64 bit. PSI version is 3.0.0.2004 on both. Active scripting is enabled on both and Secunia is in the trusted programs and is turned on in Services.

Suggestions?
Thanks.

--
~~~~~~~~~~~~
Froglady

Maurice Joyce RE: Screen sticks on Loading
Handling Contributor 3rd Feb, 2013 11:12
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Close PSI (top right) Then reactivate the tray icon - does that work?

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Froglady4647 RE: Screen sticks on Loading
Member 3rd Feb, 2013 11:38
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 3rd Feb 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
No changes.

--
~~~~~~~~~~~~
Froglady
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Screen sticks on Loading
Handling Contributor 3rd Feb, 2013 11:43
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Thank you. I have just noticed you are not using the up to date version of PSI 3.

It can be downloaded using this link:

http://secunia.com/PSISetup.exe

Just let the installer run. It will auto uninstall the old version & update you.


--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Froglady4647 RE: Screen sticks on Loading
Member 3rd Feb, 2013 11:57
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 3rd Feb 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Hi, Maurice.

I've updated Secunia on both laptop and desktop but the loading screen is still hanging on both.

Barbara

--
~~~~~~~~~~~~
Froglady
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Screen sticks on Loading
Handling Contributor 3rd Feb, 2013 12:03
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 3rd Feb, 2013 12:04
Barbara,
Just tested it on this PC & it loads extremely fast. Although I have know doubt you have looked before can you please check all the necessary settings are as per the FAQ here:

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Froglady4647 RE: Screen sticks on Loading
Member 3rd Feb, 2013 14:25
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 3rd Feb 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I've just double-checked on my desktop and everything asked for in the thread marked "Secunia PSI is stuck at verifying internet" is okay.

I've also been to work for an hour or two today and updated the Secunia program ion that computer and it opened, scanned very quickly, like yours, so it must be something either on my computers or my network.

I'm using Firefox to browse and use Vipre Security 2013 as my firewall and antivirus.
However, I've used Secunia for years and haven't changed anything except updates to programs I run, so I can't understand why it has stopped working now.

--
~~~~~~~~~~~~
Froglady
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Screen sticks on Loading
Handling Contributor 3rd Feb, 2013 15:27
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Am I to understand that both PC's now scan & you get a result?

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Froglady4647 RE: Screen sticks on Loading
Member 3rd Feb, 2013 15:42
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 3rd Feb 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
No, neither will complete loading Secunia so I never get to scan. It's my work computer that will scan, not these two home computers.


--
~~~~~~~~~~~~
Froglady
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Screen sticks on Loading
Handling Contributor 3rd Feb, 2013 18:08
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Are the services available?

Start Orb>Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Services - can you see these two set to automatic?

https://akkkug.bn1.livefilestore.com/y1pYdMgxgDXY9...


--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Froglady4647 RE: Screen sticks on Loading
Member 3rd Feb, 2013 18:35
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 3rd Feb 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Secunia PSI Agent is started and automatic. Secunia Update Agent isn't there at all.
Barbara

--
~~~~~~~~~~~~
Froglady
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Froglady4647 RE: Screen sticks on Loading
Member 3rd Feb, 2013 19:09
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 3rd Feb 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Hi, Maurice
I tried to open Secunia again after my last reply and it opened, said my 2 (!) programs were up-to-date.

I set it to re-scan and now it's stuck on Scanning for outdated programs -- Retrieving scanning results. The top left says 100% score but the tray icons is red and says I have a program that needs a manual update. Closed and tried again but now it's not loading.

I seem to be having other connectivity issues today, don't know if it's my ISP or something here.
Barbara

--
~~~~~~~~~~~~
Froglady
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Screen sticks on Loading
Handling Contributor 3rd Feb, 2013 21:01
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Could be - if it is stuck at retrieving results that is a fairly common error - try to close again then reopen - the scan results will show - you can then try another scan & it should complete much quicker.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Froglady4647 RE: Screen sticks on Loading
Member 4th Feb, 2013 10:08
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 3rd Feb 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
HI, Maurice

I'm stuck again at the loading screen and nothing happens. I think I will uninstall and reinstall and see if that makes a difference.

Barbara

--
~~~~~~~~~~~~
Froglady
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Screen sticks on Loading
Handling Contributor 4th Feb, 2013 10:23
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Barbara,
Just tested mine again & the whole operation only took 20 seconds with 116 items to scan.

Now unlikely to be your ISP so a reinstall looks like a good options. Have you thought of trying another version on one of your PC's to compare?

Links to other supported versions are below my signature block. If you want to try just click the install link - the "old" version will auto uninstall & the new will set up.


--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Froglady4647 RE: Screen sticks on Loading
Member 4th Feb, 2013 10:51
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 3rd Feb 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Hi, Maurice

Reinstalling did nothing but then I tried turning off my firewall and lo, Secunia loaded and I ran a scan. Then turned firewall back on and tried to run again but nothing happens. I've added Secunia as "allowed" in my firewall settings and, as I said, this is a new issue while I've run Secunia and Vipre forever and not had a problem.

I think I'll contact Vipre and see if they can help.

Will let you know later.
Barbara

--
~~~~~~~~~~~~
Froglady
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Screen sticks on Loading
Handling Contributor 4th Feb, 2013 11:25
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Thank you.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Froglady4647 RE: Screen sticks on Loading
Member 4th Feb, 2013 17:35
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 3rd Feb 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Hi, Maurice

I just got home and tried to run Secunia once more before contacting GFI about Vipre and it ran fine on both desktop and laptop. Go figure.

Anyway, thanks for all your help and let's close this case for now. I'll be back in touch if I have trouble in future.

Barbara

--
~~~~~~~~~~~~
Froglady
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Screen sticks on Loading
Handling Contributor 4th Feb, 2013 18:13
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Barbara,
Cyberworld at its best. Pleased to see all is looking good for you.

I will lock this thread which will protect your mail box from any "tag on" posts.

If it happens again Secunia Support at support@secunia.com can always unlock it for you or you can create a new thread.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.