Forum Thread: PSI gets stuck with "examining program"

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
MrIvan PSI gets stuck with "examining program"
Member 17th Apr, 2013 20:04
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 17th Apr, 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Whenever the main Secunia PSI screen is opened and it has a software listed that has updates, the status is always stuck in "examining program". Any fixes for that except manually updating software?

Thanks.

This user no longer exists RE: PSI gets stuck with "examining program"
Secunia Official 18th Apr, 2013 12:06
Are you using PSI 3? If so, please see this thread where others are having the same problem.
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/132...
Our developers are still working to solve the issue in a future version of PSI 3.

The solution in this thread could also be interesting.
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/136...

nm4857 RE: PSI gets stuck with "examining program"
Member 18th Apr, 2013 17:26
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 18th Apr 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I have had the same problem for quite some time, finally getting around to try and fix and saw your post. Here's what I've tried, but the problem persists. Interested in other ideas

Windows 7 Ulitmate (64 bit)
1. Uninstall Secunia (Control Panel > Programs & Features)
2. Delete HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Secunia
3. Delete HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Wow6432Node\Secunia
4. Delete C:\Program Files (x86)\Secunia
5. Ran CCleaner (http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner) on both System & Registry (I did not see that it found/cleaned any items specific to Secunia, but since I ran it, I thought I should mention it)
6. Shut down, wait, and re-power (as opposed to a soft "Restart")
7. Reinstall PSI (Control Panel > Programs & Features shows 3.0.0.6005 is installed)
8. Services panel shows "Secunia PSI Agent" is "Started/Automatic". "Secunia Update Agent" is not shown

-- I also followed the FAQ regarding Internet Options (here: http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...)
-- This machine previously had PSI 2 installed, if that helps
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
MrIvan RE: PSI gets stuck with "examining program"
Member 23rd Apr, 2013 22:55
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 17th Apr 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Yes, it is PSI 3. I have same issue on Win7 x64 and Win8 x64. Tried everything from other threads and it still won't work.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: PSI gets stuck with "examining program"
Secunia Official 24th Apr, 2013 09:36
In that case I can only point you to the threads that I have mentioned, specifically my latest post in this thread:
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/132...

You can also install PSI 1 or 2 which are still supported and not affected by the issue. They can be downloaded from this site:
http://secunia.com/products/consumer/PSI/sys_req/
nm4857 RE: PSI gets stuck with "examining program"
Member 24th Apr, 2013 13:55
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 18th Apr 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I just sent my psialog files to the support email, as you advised in the other thread

Thank you
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.