Forum Thread: Updating Adobe Reader

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Adobe Systems
And, this specific program:
Adobe Reader X 10.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
jbacinti Updating Adobe Reader
Member 17th May, 2013 15:11
Ranking: 0
Posts: 63
User Since: 12th Jun, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Every time there is an update to Reader, PSI tells me that it requires a manual update. First question is why? Second question is when I open PSI it shows Reader as "updating". today it showed Adobe X 10.x. I went to the Adobe website, downloaded Reader 11.X and it installed fine. Why?

Thanks,

jbacinti

Ian8338 RE: Updating Adobe Reader
Member 20th May, 2013 10:16
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 10th Nov 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I have similar problem . Secunia shows me as having both Adobe Reader x10 and x11. It reqiires x10 to be updated but will not allow an update as x10 is not there. How do I remove x10? I cant do it through Secunia and it does not appear on Windows update remove list.
This is not serious but I like to keep my Secunia score down below 99%.
Ian Murray

--
Ian Murray
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Updating Adobe Reader
Handling Contributor 20th May, 2013 10:22
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Ian,
What path is PSI showing to the file that is vulnerable in Reader V 10 after a full rescan?

FINDING A FILE PATH USING PSI

VERSION 2


From the DASHBOARD page click on SCAN RESULTS.

1. This will list all your programmes with a + to the left of each programme.
2. Click the + sign next to the item that U want help with.
3. This will reveal the path under DETECTED INSTANCES.
4. Below DETECTED INSTANCES you will see this You can double click this row for additional information & options>double click it>a box will appear>look to the RIGHT & U will see TROUBLESHOOT REPORT in BLUE writing under the heading TOOLBOX> click TroubleShoot Report & it will reveal some information in a box>highlight the information revealed from ---START--- to ---END--- & copy it (CTRL+C) then post it to the Forum (CTRL+V)

VERSION 3
This version does not have such an easy method to publish the path.

Open PSI>once open select Show Programs.
U will now see a page full of programme icons or a list.
Right click on the programme in error>select Show Details - that will open a box showing the path & version number of the offending file.
U now have 2 options:
1. Write down the exact file path & install version - return to the Forum & type that information.
2. Take a screen shot & publish that.

Last Reviewed 09:20 20/05/2013

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.