Forum Thread: Firefox update not recording in psi

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
Nikilet Firefox update not recording in psi
Member 31st May, 2013 00:57
Ranking: 7
Posts: 334
User Since: 15th Jul, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I updated Firefox manually 4 days ago now and I have manually done a re-scan with psi and still it is showing that Firefox needs to be updated. I have found this happen with a few other things recently too, but I don't think it has gone on this long in the past before Secunia finally shows something as updated. Anyone else having this problem?

Post "RE: Firefox update not recording in psi" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: Firefox update not recording in psi
Handling Contributor 31st May, 2013 02:24
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
What path is PSI showing to the file that is vulnerable after a full rescan?

FINDING A FILE PATH USING PSI

VERSION 2


From the DASHBOARD page click on SCAN RESULTS.

1. This will list all your programmes with a + to the left of each programme.
2. Click the + sign next to the item that U want help with.
3. This will reveal the path under DETECTED INSTANCES.
4. Below DETECTED INSTANCES you will see this You can double click this row for additional information & options>double click it>a box will appear>look to the RIGHT & U will see TROUBLESHOOT REPORT in BLUE writing under the heading TOOLBOX> click TroubleShoot Report & it will reveal some information in a box>highlight the information revealed from ---START--- to ---END--- & copy it (CTRL+C) then post it to the Forum (CTRL+V)

VERSION 3
This version does not have such an easy method to publish the path.

Open PSI>once open select Show Programs.
U will now see a page full of programme icons or a list.
Right click on the programme in error>select Show Details - that will open a box showing the path & version number of the offending file.
U now have 2 options:
1. Write down the exact file path & install version - return to the Forum & type that information.
2. Take a screen shot & publish that.

Last Reviewed 01:22 31/05/2013



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nikilet RE: Firefox update not recording in psi
Member 31st May, 2013 04:38
Score: 7
Posts: 334
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 31st May, 2013 04:40
---START---

Program Name:
Mozilla Firefox 20.x

Security State:
End-of-Life

Download Link:
http://dl.secunia.com/SPS/Firefox_21.0_en-US_SPS.e...

Instances Found:
C:\Windows\erdnt\cache\firefox.exe, version: 20.0.1.4847

Last System Scan (localtime):
29. May 2013, 10:31

Operating System:
Microsoft Windows Vista,

---END---

I am currently using Chrome, but I just opened Firefox to double check and it shows as up to date with version 21.0.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Firefox update not recording in psi
Handling Contributor 31st May, 2013 09:40
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
It is a bit of old back up dross from version 20 which requires deletion.

DELETING A FILE OR FOLDER

VERSION 2


1. Open PSI>Scan results.

2. Against the programme marked as vulnerable is a + sign to the left of it.

3. Click that & it will reveal DETECTED INSTANCES.

4. Below that are two yellow folders. Click the one WITHOUT a red dot.

5. That will open Windows Explorer & U will be able to see the vulnerable file.
C:\Windows\erdnt\cache\firefox.exe, version: 20.0.1.4847

6. Right click on that file & select delete.

7. Carry out a full PSI scan & all should be in order.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nikilet RE: Firefox update not recording in psi
Member 31st May, 2013 20:14
Score: 7
Posts: 334
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Thanks Maurice. That fixed it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.