Forum Thread: No advanced options/view?

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
galmok No advanced options/view?
Member 14th Aug, 2013 15:53
Ranking: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 19th Jan, 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: DK
I seem to remember that PSI 3.0 had an advanced view, but I currently can't find out how to show it. All I see are the programs to be updated which I can left click on if it says "click to update". There is also a "Scan again" button and a Help link (which points to a web page). there is nothing else.

But I believe there should be. Am I wrong? If so, how do I make it show? I have tried shift/control/alt/windows+left/middle/right click on all areas but nothing works (Advanced options is now revealing itself).

I am using version 3.0.0.0005 (which I assume is the latest as PSI hasn't detected a newer version).

Maurice Joyce RE: No advanced options/view?
Handling Contributor 14th Aug, 2013 17:37
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 15th Aug, 2013 09:22
I do not recognise your version.The latest version is 3.0.0.7011 - you can download it from here:

https://secunia.com/products/consumer/PSI/sys_req/

Just click the download link & it will auto uninstall the old before updating itself.

PSI currently has no way of showing users they need to update. It will only do that if an older version is vulnerable.

The interface should look like this:
https://1ncuig.bn1.livefilestore.com/y2p42wOLy3xfx...


--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
MrSwilson RE: No advanced options/view?
Member 16th Aug, 2013 07:43
Score: 2
Posts: 8
User Since: 20th Jun 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: AU
A quick addition to the above information.

When you do have a valid version of 3.0, to see detailed results do this:

Scan -> Patch -> Rescan (probably not required but get your score to 100% -> Click "Show Programs" -> Click "Settings" button at bottom of UI -> Check box "Detailed View"

From there you will see:

Program name
Installed Version
Secure Version
Criticality
Status

Hope this helps somewhat.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
galmok RE: No advanced options/view?
Member 16th Aug, 2013 13:27
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 19th Jan 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: DK
Seems to work... I have 12 programs that are in Updating state now and have been so for 2 days now. Guess they wont complete anytime soon.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: No advanced options/view?
Handling Contributor 16th Aug, 2013 21:47
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I assume you have auto update set up to run?

If that is the case it is worth checking the file path to the programmes it is trying to update.

The reasoning behind this is that the auto updater will try to update any vulnerabilities it finds except Microsoft products or those that are clearly marked as a manual update only.

These vulnerabilities maybe on a back up hard drive or a remnant of an older programme that was not properly uninstalled. It will churn on attempting to update but will not succeed as it will only update to the default location.

Given that the Secunia servers have been slow all week it may be in your best interests to switch off auto updating & complete any updates manually direct from the vendor until they sort out their server(s).

Hope this helps.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
galmok RE: No advanced options/view?
Member 19th Aug, 2013 11:17
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 19th Jan 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: DK
I have tried all 3 update settings but none of my programs that are detected as being in need of updating are actually getting updated. PSI has lost that ability it seems. At least it can still tell me if programs are in need of update. :-/
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: No advanced options/view?
Handling Contributor 19th Aug, 2013 11:29
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
What path does PSI give you to the programmes that require updating?

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
galmok RE: No advanced options/view?
Member 19th Aug, 2013 11:34
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 19th Jan 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: DK
One of them is VLC:

C:\Program Files (x86)\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe

All programs that need updating are located in either Program Files or Program Files (x86).
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: No advanced options/view?
Handling Contributor 19th Aug, 2013 11:48
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
VLC is a manual update & even if updated remains vulnerable. This advisory refers:

https://secunia.com/advisories/54451/

The vendor site to update is here:

http://www.videolan.org/vlc/



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
galmok RE: No advanced options/view?
Member 19th Aug, 2013 13:14
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 19th Jan 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: DK
I couldn't know that.

The programs are Mozilla Thunderbird, Oracle Java, Oracle VirtualBox, VLC and Wireshark.

Some of these I have updated through PSI before, but now all these programs say "Updating" and the hourglass is shown on mouse over. Nothing happens when I click on them.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: No advanced options/view?
Handling Contributor 19th Aug, 2013 13:40
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
PSI is not fully automatic & some research is still required by the user particularly when those programmes appear "to hang" when silently updating.

When this happens it is always best to "grab the bull by the horns" & manually update them.

Details on Thunderbird are here:
http://www.mozilla.org/security/known-vulnerabilit...

The download link is here:
http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/thunderbird/all.html

Wireshark
http://www.wireshark.org/download.html

Virtual Box - one of many sites.
https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads

Oracle JAVA

Details and links on this thread:
https://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/14...

Once all are updated run a full PSI scan - has that cleared all the issues?





--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
galmok RE: No advanced options/view?
Member 22nd Aug, 2013 11:15
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 19th Jan 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: DK
I have upgraded the programs in question manually and PSI has acknowledged that they are all current. But the issue is probably still present (i.e. PSI cannot update any program).
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: No advanced options/view?
Handling Contributor 22nd Aug, 2013 12:17
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Are you stating that after a full PSI scan you get a 100% return score from Secunia.

You are correct - not all programmes can be auto updated.



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
galmok RE: No advanced options/view?
Member 22nd Aug, 2013 12:20
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 19th Jan 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: DK
That is what I am stating.

When programs cannot be autoupdated, PSI really should say so instead of writing "Upgrading" next to the program. "Upgrading" is very misleading as the user expects the program to be updated which in fact will not happen.

With previous PSI versions, I was told that the program couldn't be updated automatically and when I clicked it, I was offered a manual download that I could install. I really prefer that instead of the misleading "Upgrading"...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.