Forum Thread: Oh Shoot!

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
joe schmoe Oh Shoot!
Member 26th Aug, 2013 13:35
Ranking: 41
Posts: 144
User Since: 26th Nov, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 26th Aug, 2013 13:37

Are we having trouble with Secunia servers again?

Reason I ask is because of some difficulty in logging into here and, PSI (version listed at bottom for W7) is not running a manual scan as it usually does. W7 runs 3.0.0.7009

It's completed (finished) in only one second!

--
XP Pro SP3 P4 3.2 HT 2 GB RAM Avast! 9.0.2018 AIS
Win 7 Home Pro SP1 Pentium D 2.8 3 GB RAM Avast 9.0.2018 AIS
Secunia PSI 2.0.0.3003 XP Pro 32-bit & Win 7 H Pro 64-bit

This user no longer exists RE: Oh Shoot!
Secunia Official 27th Aug, 2013 08:46
Last edited on 27th Aug, 2013 08:47 Judging from the lack of responses it does not look like a general issue, nor have I noticed it myself.
For how long did it last for you? Are you still having issues?
joe schmoe RE: Oh Shoot!
Member 27th Aug, 2013 09:10
Score: 41
Posts: 144
User Since: 26th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
As previous posts have indicated, I've run version 3.0.0.7009 only as manual init. It does not have the start up option ticked when windows starts.

Problem is still ongoing atm. It does the scan when it opens, but the tray icon remains gray despite the report of 100% secure in gui. Repeating the scan as a manual results in a one second scan. I hope this is clear enough.

Also note number of recent posts and replies are down since I last visited, especially in "All Topics" category. Seems not much is going on here?

--
XP Pro SP3 P4 3.2 HT 2 GB RAM Avast! 9.0.2018 AIS
Win 7 Home Pro SP1 Pentium D 2.8 3 GB RAM Avast 9.0.2018 AIS
Secunia PSI 2.0.0.3003 XP Pro 32-bit & Win 7 H Pro 64-bit
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Oh Shoot!
Secunia Official 27th Aug, 2013 09:29
Looking at your previous threads it seems like this is the one you are referring to:
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/143...
If so, I believe you have already contacted us by email and that we are in the process of assisting you as best we can.
joe schmoe RE: Oh Shoot!
Member 28th Aug, 2013 23:34
Score: 41
Posts: 144
User Since: 26th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Oh Shoot!

I'm a doofus!

It turned out that, whilst I was doing start-up entry work on the Win 7 system, I'd also disabled both entries for PSI 3.0 in services.msc.

My mistake entirely, I own up to it, and setting both entries to manual fixed all:

Secunia PSI Agent - manual
Secunia Update Agent - manual

Everything now runs as it should, except for the issue noted above by you.

Goof indeed!

--
XP Pro SP3 P4 3.2 HT 2 GB RAM Avast! 9.0.2018 AIS
Win 7 Home Pro SP1 Pentium D 2.8 3 GB RAM Avast 9.0.2018 AIS
Secunia PSI 2.0.0.3003 XP Pro 32-bit & Win 7 H Pro 64-bit
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Oh Shoot!
Secunia Official 29th Aug, 2013 08:56
No problem. I have closed the bug report so our developers do not spend any more time trying to fix it.
As for the issue you have mentioned regarding the grey color of the tray icon, I have not yet been able to reproduce it. However, others have reported the same issue and a bug report has been created.
joe schmoe RE: Oh Shoot!
Member 29th Aug, 2013 11:37
Score: 41
Posts: 144
User Since: 26th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Thank you for all your help.

Re: grey icon issue (may be a bit off topic for this thread):

Noted that when both services above were set to manual start, icon was green as normal.

I think that one or the other (Secunia Update agent most likely) is the culprit as that service (sua.exe) is a part of the updating process and requires network connectivity and access, and thus would need confirmation from Secunia servers that all was as it should be on the client's system.

If it is not running, as when I mistakenly set it to disabled, one should be able to reproduce the grey icon issue quite easily.

--
XP Pro SP3 P4 3.2 HT 2 GB RAM Avast! 9.0.2018 AIS
Win 7 Home Pro SP1 Pentium D 2.8 3 GB RAM Avast 9.0.2018 AIS
Secunia PSI 2.0.0.3003 XP Pro 32-bit & Win 7 H Pro 64-bit
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Oh Shoot!
Secunia Official 29th Aug, 2013 12:47
Even with the Secunia Update Agent disabled and not started on my Windows 7 test system the tray icon stays at the correct green color. But thank you for the information, perhaps future attempts to recreate the issue will provide different results.

This thread has been marked as locked.