Forum Thread: Stop running this script?

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
pwillener1 Stop running this script?
Member 16th Oct, 2013 07:44
Ranking: 3
Posts: 22
User Since: 25th Jul, 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: JP
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.8013

Since installing this latest PSI version, I am getting the following pop-up at least half a dozen times before PSI opens up

Stop running this script?
A script on this page is causing Internet Explorer to run slowly.
If it continues to run, your computer might become unresponsive.


This happens on both Windows XP and Windows 7.

Maurice Joyce RE: Stop running this script?
Handling Contributor 16th Oct, 2013 19:08
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I assume version 3.0.0.7011 was working correctly? If that is/was the case this thread may be of help unless you require the Arabic language.

https://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/14...

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
pwillener1 RE: Stop running this script?
Member 17th Oct, 2013 05:28
Score: 3
Posts: 22
User Since: 25th Jul 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: JP
Thank you very much. I didn't know that it was just an additional language; there was no changelog when I downloaded 3.0.0.8013 yesterday.

I will observe its behavior for a few days, then revert to 3.0.0.7011 if the problem continues.

P.S. I have also noticed a very high CPU usage by psia.exe for a few minutes after Windows startup. This also is new with 3.0.0.8013.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
john_7 RE: Stop running this script?
Member 17th Oct, 2013 10:47
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 24th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I have had this since installing the LAST version on a W764 bitlaptop. Noy on a 23 bit besk top one yjough. I gat 3 warnings every time its run. Still with the new version.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Leendert Kip Stop running this script?
Contributor 17th Oct, 2013 11:01
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
I can confirm the same when checking this out on my Windows 7/64 bit pc. It's irritating only but I decied to revert to the previous version.

--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Stop running this script?
Handling Contributor 17th Oct, 2013 11:14
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 17th Oct, 2013 11:41
Agreed - not the first time this odd behaviour has been created by Secunia.

They initially released this update & changed the main download link without updating the change log or informing users of a change so anyone reinstalling or installing for the first time were blind on what version was being downloaded.

Version 3.0.0.8013 is still not available (as I type this) to SMB Endpoints as a download link. I wonder why?

Secunia do not supply archive links to all their stable versions which leaves users to search the web looking for a link - not ideal as many of these sites have added "extras".

The left hand not knowing what the right hand is doing springs to mind!!

I have tested the link I supplied to version 3.0.0.7011 & it is free of any surprises.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
pwillener1 RE: Stop running this script?
Member 19th Oct, 2013 06:57
Score: 3
Posts: 22
User Since: 25th Jul 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: JP
I would like to add that these script prompts only occurred the first time I ran PSI on every machine I installed 3.0.0.8013; subsequent runs did not show any of these prompts any more.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
jrivett32 RE: Stop running this script?
Member 19th Oct, 2013 17:18
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 13th Jul 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
I'm getting these messages as well, every time I start PSI or perform a scan. I was running 3.0.0.8013, so per the recommendations here, and using the link provided in the other (locked) thread, I downloaded (what I thought was) the previous version and installed it. Same problem. Checking the version, I see that it's actually 8013, not 7011. Is there somewhere else I can find 7011? Why isn't there an archive of previous versions on this site?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Stop running this script?
Handling Contributor 19th Oct, 2013 18:32
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
My old link in the locked thread worked but the vendor has "pulled the plug".

Sadly Secunia do not offer older download links to the same version.

This link may help.

http://www.download3k.com/Install-Secunia-Personal...

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
jrivett32 RE: Stop running this script?
Member 19th Oct, 2013 21:29
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 13th Jul 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
I'm a bit wary about downloading from that site. Do you use it much? Is it 'safe'?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Stop running this script?
Handling Contributor 19th Oct, 2013 21:37
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 19th Oct, 2013 21:55
I have not used that site before. That said I saved the installer to desktop & ran two scans which proved negative.

You can always do the same & conduct your own tests but looks OK to me.

EDIT: Please note this thread that have used my link - all is perfect & PSI is up & running again.

https://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/14...

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.