Forum Thread: Macrovision Update Service Active X Controls 5.x & 6.x

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Macrovision
And, this specific program:
Macrovision Update Service ActiveX Control 6.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
F2a6nG5 Macrovision Update Service Active X Controls 5.x & 6.x
Member 6th May, 2014 17:13
Ranking: 3
Posts: 11
User Since: 30th Apr, 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: US
A PSI 3.0 scan revealed both Macrovision's Update Service's Active X Controls both 5.x and 6.x in my PC. PSI shows both of these as obsolete. A web search revealed that Macrovision was bought by Flex Connect and that a patch for ver. 6.x to bring it to ver. 6.1 was available but, I cannot find a link for it. Can anyone help with that ie., a link for the ver. 6.1 download ?
Are either one of these programs Vulnerable ? I used both Kaspersky Internet Security 2014, latest version, latest definitions and MalwareBytes Pro, latest version and definitions and neither report a problem. Lastly, the Uninstaller I tried for both of these programs does Not seem to work. I would like to get rid of both of these if they are Not necessary for Active Controls.
I could use some help here. Thanks in advance. fang

Maurice Joyce RE: Macrovision Update Service Active X Controls 5.x & 6.x
Handling Contributor 6th May, 2014 18:38
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Only the vendor of the programme that has those files embedded can update them. They are not native to Windows nor are they critical programme files. That said for safety they should be renamed rather than deleted.

PSI should be showing you the path to where they are installed - normally C:\Windows\Downloaded Program Files

Can you see them there?

If so right click on each one & select rename then rename them by adding an extension of .OLD

A full rescan with PSI & all should be in order.



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
F2a6nG5 RE: Macrovision Update Service Active X Controls 5.x & 6.x
Member 7th May, 2014 22:48
Score: 3
Posts: 11
User Since: 30th Apr 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hi Maurice, I found the files in Downloaded files "only". I cannot find them "installed" in any Program folder. I tried both of the following; the files were both named "setup.exe". I tried renaming them setup.old and setup.exe.old . In each case i rescanned with Secunia PSI but, both programs remained in the PSI scan with "Click to Update" which shows both as Obsolete contact supplier. fang
PS: I have also tried both jv16 PowerTools from Macecraft and CCleaner from Piraform which sometimes list installed programs Not shown in Control Panel Programs to No luck
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Macrovision Update Service Active X Controls 5.x & 6.x
Handling Contributor 7th May, 2014 23:26
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Can you publish the actual paths that PSI give you?

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
F2a6nG5 RE: Macrovision Update Service Active X Controls 5.x & 6.x
Member 10th May, 2014 17:20
Score: 3
Posts: 11
User Since: 30th Apr 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 10th May, 2014 17:34
Hello Maurice, first of all, thank you very much. I had not realized that the path of a Program's location could be displayed in PSI 3.0. A simple right click and then Show Details. Here are the respective paths for Macrovision etc.,
Macrovision 6 : C:\ProgramData\Macrovision\FLEXnet Connect\6\isusweb.dll
Version; 6.1.100.6409
Macrovision 5 : C:\Windows\Downloaded Program Files\isusweb.dll
Version; 5.1.100.47363
Now that I know the location, can I proceed there and just do a Delete ?
I would also do a Registry Clean after Deleting the files. Is there any thing else to watch for ?
Again, thanks a lot for the info on PSI 3.0. A simple task but, I completely overlooked it. fang


Win 7 Pro 64 bit SP1
Dell Vostro 3750
Intel core i5-2410M CPU @2.3 GHz
8.0 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce HD Graphics
Firefox Ver. 29.0.1
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Macrovision Update Service Active X Controls 5.x & 6.x
Handling Contributor 10th May, 2014 17:36
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Personally I would proceed there & Rename them by adding an extension to each one to .OLD.

This action is reversible in the UNLIKELY event of something going pear shaped. If, after a few weeks, things appear normal you can then consider the delete option.

Once renaming (or deleting)is complete a full PSI rescan should clear the problem.

I do not use Registry Cleaners so cannot comment on that action.





--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
F2a6nG5 RE: Macrovision Update Service Active X Controls 5.x & 6.x
Member 10th May, 2014 18:02
Score: 3
Posts: 11
User Since: 30th Apr 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 10th May, 2014 18:24
Hello maurice, I am Not familiar with the extension .OLD. Are you saying to just add the .OLD to the existing file name. For sake of example, say a file had an .dll extension, I would rename it xxx.dll.OLD ? fang

PS: Did a little quick research on the extension .OLD. After renaming the file, will there be any special file viewer required to open or rename again ? fang
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Macrovision Update Service Active X Controls 5.x & 6.x
Handling Contributor 10th May, 2014 18:33
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Yes - Right click>rename and add the .old extension. I use OLD but you can use anything really - some use obsolete/renamed - not really important what is used to cripple the file.

You just reverse the action to return the file to normal by Right click>rename then modify the file by deleting .OLD extension.

Does that help?



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
F2a6nG5 RE: Macrovision Update Service Active X Controls 5.x & 6.x
Member 11th May, 2014 14:38
Score: 3
Posts: 11
User Since: 30th Apr 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hello Maurice, Yes, that answers my question. Thanks fang
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
F2a6nG5 RE: Macrovision Update Service Active X Controls 5.x & 6.x
Member 11th May, 2014 16:13
Score: 3
Posts: 11
User Since: 30th Apr 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hello Maurice, I added the .OLD extension to the respective files and re-ran Secunia PSI. Viola! a 100% score. I also right clicked the respective files to see if I could still rename them and No problem. I bought up that issue because in researching the .OLD extension, I was led to believe that only certain file viewing programs could open/rename the file after the .OLD extension was added. That did Not turn out to be the case in this instance. Thanks again, issue closed. fang
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Macrovision Update Service Active X Controls 5.x & 6.x
Handling Contributor 11th May, 2014 16:22
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 12th May, 2014 10:10
Very good news.

On that basis, I will lock this thread for you sometime tomorrow unless you post back asking for it to be left open.

This will protect your mail box from possible update emails from "tag on" posts

You can of course lock threads you have created. Just click the ACCEPT button in the post of the helper who offered you the best solution/advice to solve your problem.

Secunia Support can always reopen threads by applying by email to: support@secunia.com

EDIT

Thread locked at: 09:09 12/05/2014 BST


--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.