Forum Thread: gray tray icon

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
rd52 gray tray icon
Member 10th Sep, 2014 17:00
Ranking: 21
Posts: 80
User Since: 4th Dec, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
This morning on boot I got the gray tray icon informing me to check my internet connection. Are others having this problem? I am using Secunia PSI 3.0.0.7009 on a Windows 7/64. I have tried a reboot which didn't help. Before doing anything else, I just wanted to know if others are having this problem. I saw the recent post and also looked at the old posts and didn't see how they were resolved. Thanks for any help.

papak RE: gray tray icon
Member 10th Sep, 2014 18:56
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 9th Apr 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have the same problem. I did apply the latest round of Windows Updates last night. Related, perhaps?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
DieSpam RE: gray tray icon
Member 10th Sep, 2014 20:33
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 10th Sep 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Experiencing the same issues today... running Secunia PSI 3.0.0.7009 on a Windows 8.1/x64 system that was also updated yesterday as part of the Microsoft Patch Tuesday push. Secunia keeps popping up a notification that my "Internet Connection" is down, but that is obviously not the case or I would not be able to post this reply :-)
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
DieSpam RE: gray tray icon
Member 10th Sep, 2014 20:45
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 10th Sep 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: US
To expand on my initial posting...
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.7009 (Win8.1/x64) will not start properly and stays on the splash screen with LOADING... in the lower left corner. The System Tray icon will occasionally pop up with a notification that "Internet connection: please ensure that your internet connection is working properly". Closing and restarting the app does not change anything. Did not notice that the Secunia icon in the System Tray was greyed out after applying the updates or if that just occurred today.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
chuckm1 RE: gray tray icon
Member 10th Sep, 2014 21:16
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 10th Sep 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I also am having the same issue after Microsoft updates today, grey tray icon, Secunia psi starts to open but stays on Loading. Eventually get the same message to check that my internet is working. I have tried all suggestions in Secunia help but nothing resolves this issue. Any solutions yet?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
pyz01 RE: gray tray icon
Member 10th Sep, 2014 22:49
Score: 0
Posts: 13
User Since: 10th Sep 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I have the same issue -- Windows 8.1 64bit, latest version of Secunia. Patches applied as well. Hello tech support?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
PaoloR RE: gray tray icon
Member 11th Sep, 2014 06:25
Score: -1
Posts: 36
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: IT
Last edited on 11th Sep, 2014 06:26
Even I see the same thing.
Has already happened, I think the Secunia server is down.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
papak RE: gray tray icon
Member 11th Sep, 2014 06:47
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 9th Apr 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I don't think so... I was just on my Windows 7/64 laptop, which has not had the latest patches applied, at PSI appears to be communicating fine (green tray icon).
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
pyz01 RE: gray tray icon
Member 11th Sep, 2014 07:49
Score: 0
Posts: 13
User Since: 10th Sep 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: US
OK -- This may have something to do with Win 8. I am using Win 8.1/ 64bit and this happened to me yesterday and still is not working today. I have applied all Windows update patches. Over 15 patches were applied on 9/10.

This started before and after all these patches. It is still gray. Tech support needs to look into this -- I believe it is a Win 8 issue not Secunia servers. But I could be wrong.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
BernadineAD RE: gray tray icon
Member 11th Sep, 2014 11:16
Score: 1
Posts: 6
User Since: 4th May 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Same thing started yesterday with my computer, 8.1, 64 bit but I think it was after the patches, but I'm not certain, might have been before.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
DieSpam RE: gray tray icon
Member 11th Sep, 2014 15:31
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 10th Sep 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: US
New thread starting for same issue...
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/151...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
rd52 RE: gray tray icon
Member 11th Sep, 2014 16:10
Score: 21
Posts: 80
User Since: 4th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I had applied the MS updates as soon as they were available 10:00 AM PST, and Secunia worked fine the rest of the day. Only when I tried to boot the next morning did I get the grey Secunia icon. It is not just Win 8.1 my computer is a W 7/64.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: gray tray icon
Expert Contributor 11th Sep, 2014 16:18
Score: 2542
Posts: 3,402
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi ,

I have replied to the other thread :-

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/151...

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
pyz01 RE: gray tray icon
Member 11th Sep, 2014 20:58
Score: 0
Posts: 13
User Since: 10th Sep 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: US
ALL:

Update to the latest version of Secunia (3.00.9016) and this should take care of the problem you are experiencing w/r/t to the 9/10 MS updates.

Ken
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
DieSpam RE: gray tray icon
Member 11th Sep, 2014 22:01
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 10th Sep 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Installing Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016 resolved the issue... ironic that PSI never told me it was out of date and a newer version was available! :-)
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
rd52 RE: gray tray icon
Member 11th Sep, 2014 23:29
Score: 21
Posts: 80
User Since: 4th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Installed the new version, didn't bother doing a un-install, the new version will do it automatically, and keep all your settings. Secunia is now back to green.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
DieSpam RE: gray tray icon
Member 11th Sep, 2014 23:33
Score: 0
Posts: 9
User Since: 10th Sep 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I'm old school, so when something is having issues, I usually UNINSTALL first, then download and install the latest version from scratch. Big ups to PYZ01 on the simple solution to this problem.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.