Forum Thread: Can't uninstall PSI 2.0 to install PSI 3.0

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
GiftedORnot Can't uninstall PSI 2.0 to install PSI 3.0
Member 2nd Dec, 2014 18:57
Ranking: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 2nd Dec, 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: BR
Hello there!

I tryed to install PSI 3.0, the installer told me it would try to uninstall PSI 2.0 automatically. I clicked 'next', but the program apparently freezed, the uninstall would never happen. I think I killed the process, tryed again another day and same thing happens. Now, when I try to uninstall manually (in control panel --> add or remove programs) I receive a message like "Error trying uninstalling Secunia PSI (2.0.0.4003). It might be already uninstalled. Do you wish to remove Secunia PSI (2.0.0.4003) from the list of programs and resources?"
I translated the windows message because my windows is in portuguese, hope I'd get it right.

PSI 2.0 is still installed and running normally, however there is no uninstall exe in program folder.

I use genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit SP1 on a Dell XPS L502X laptop, my computer has all microsoft and driver updates installed.

Greetings, Rodrigo

Maurice Joyce RE: Can't uninstall PSI 2.0 to install PSI 3.0
Handling Contributor 4th Dec, 2014 22:40
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 4th Dec, 2014 22:42
Are you trying to install PSI V 3.0.0.10004 released on the 2nd December?

Do you use a programme called CryptoPrevent? If so what setting are you using?

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
GiftedORnot RE: Can't uninstall PSI 2.0 to install PSI 3.0
Member 5th Dec, 2014 00:42
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 2nd Dec 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: BR
Thanks for posting!

I was trying to install PSI 3.0.0.9016 downloaded 2014-11-23. I tryed now the version you suggested but the same thing happens: "click next to launch the uninstaller", I click next but nothing happens...

No, I don't use CryptoPrevent.

Hope this helps!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Can't uninstall PSI 2.0 to install PSI 3.0
Handling Contributor 5th Dec, 2014 10:12
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Thank you for the clear explanation. I successfully updated from PSI version 2.0.0.3003 & 2.0.0.4003 to the latest version 3.0.0.10004 without hassle.

Trying to achieved the same thing with CryptoPrevent running on the Maximum Protect mode created the problem you describe hence my question.

Have you looked in Windows Explorer to see if the programme installer is still present?

Right click on the Start Orb>Open Windows Explorer>navigate to C>Program Files(x86)>Secunia> click on PSI and the uninstaller file should show in the right hand pane.

A couple of points:

Secunia have been tinkering with the website & I have not found the old links to reinstall version 1.5.0.2 or 2.0.0.4003. Have you got a copy of either in case you want to revert back if things go wrong? If not I may be able to help with both if you become desperate.

Is there a reason you want to update to version 3? Many on this Forum would argue it is an inferior product to version 2. Entirety a matter for you but if updating (v3 is NOT an upgrade) creates issues I would leave V2 intact until Secunia produce something better than the featureless V3.

If you want Secunia Support assistance they can be contacted at: support@secunia.com

Hope this helps.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
CraigS26 RE: Can't uninstall PSI 2.0 to install PSI 3.0
Member 5th Dec, 2014 20:54
Score: 6
Posts: 25
User Since: 8th Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
on 5th Dec, 2014 10:12, Maurice Joyce wrote:
Thank you for the clear explanation. I successfully updated from PSI version 2.0.0.3003 & 2.0.0.4003 to the latest version 3.0.0.10004 without hassle.

Trying to achieved the same thing with CryptoPrevent running on the Maximum Protect mode created the problem you describe hence my question.

Have you looked in Windows Explorer to see if the programme installer is still present?

Right click on the Start Orb>Open Windows Explorer>navigate to C>Program Files(x86)>Secunia> click on PSI and the uninstaller file should show in the right hand pane.

Uninstall.exe is the Last member in my PSI Folder Maurice mentions.

A couple of points:

Secunia have been tinkering with the website & I have not found the old links to reinstall version 1.5.0.2 or 2.0.0.4003. Have you got a copy of either in case you want to revert back if things go wrong? If not I may be able to help with both if you become desperate.

The url [ http://secunia.com/PSI2Setup.exe ] today still allowed me a Save / Dnload of [ PSI2Setup.exe ]... Properties/Details shows 2.0.0.4003

Is there a reason you want to update to version 3? Many on this Forum would argue it is an inferior product to version 2. Entirety a matter for you but if updating (v3 is NOT an upgrade) creates issues I would leave V2 intact until Secunia produce something better than the featureless V3.

I've stayed with PSI 2 because of its High reliability and no understanding of why Ver 3 is worth the potential grief.

If you want Secunia Support assistance they can be contacted at: support@secunia.com

Hope this helps.

See my (hopefully) Hi-lighted notes just above to Maurice Reply.

--
Win 7-64 Hm Prem - i5 8G - FF / IE 11 - ESET ESS - MBAM Prem 3 - SuperAS Pro - Macrium Reflect - DK Pro '15 - PSI 3 - EPIM MAIL - No Flash or Java
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

mescott

RE: Can't uninstall PSI 2.0 to install PSI 3.0
[+]
This reply has been deleted

mescott

RE: Can't uninstall PSI 2.0 to install PSI 3.0
[+]
This reply has been deleted

mescott

RE: Can't uninstall PSI 2.0 to install PSI 3.0
[+]
This reply has been deleted

mescott

RE: Can't uninstall PSI 2.0 to install PSI 3.0
[+]
This reply has been deleted

mescott

RE: Can't uninstall PSI 2.0 to install PSI 3.0
[+]
This reply has been deleted
mescott RE: Can't uninstall PSI 2.0 to install PSI 3.0
Member 6th Dec, 2014 02:42
Score: 2
Posts: 14
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 6th Dec, 2014 02:45
I like PSI 2.0 but does PSI 3 detect more programs then 2?
I don't know why the multiple replys show up.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Can't uninstall PSI 2.0 to install PSI 3.0
Handling Contributor 6th Dec, 2014 04:43
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Each time you press the reply button it will eventually create one. The forum can be slow at times which makes users believe it is not working hence they keep pressing reply.

PSI version3 does not detect more programmes than version 2. It is a no frills version & the only one that works with SMB(Small Business Beta programme)

The change log is here: http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

The PSI 3 launch blog is here: http://secunia.com/blog/the-new-secunia-psi-30-spe...

If you read the forum around that date you will note it was not universally accepted as a replacement for v1 or v2 . V1,2 & 3 are supported.

Hope this helps.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
mescott RE: Can't uninstall PSI 2.0 to install PSI 3.0
Member 6th Dec, 2014 05:07
Score: 2
Posts: 14
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 6th Dec, 2014 05:08
Is there a way to run PSI 2 and the new PSI 3 at the same time? I hate to keep deleting one and downloading another. After the years of using PSI, I had settled into using 2.0.0.4003 which seems to give more information.

And yes I see what I did. It seems that nothing happens when you click reply.So did it a few more times.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Can't uninstall PSI 2.0 to install PSI 3.0
Handling Contributor 6th Dec, 2014 11:16
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
No - Only one copy of PSI can be used at a time. The installer of any new version includes an auto uninstaller as can be seen here:

https://1ncuig-ch3302.files.1drv.com/y2pSzpW6S4JpD...



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
GiftedORnot RE: Can't uninstall PSI 2.0 to install PSI 3.0
Member 6th Dec, 2014 17:32
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 2nd Dec 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: BR
Sorry for the delay!! Yesterday I was all day off home arrived very tired!

Thanks for the quick reply Maurice!

I'm sure I don't have the uninstaller file on PSI folder anymore. Thanks to CraigS26 I now have a copy of 2.0.0.4003 however, I want PSI 3 because here at home all 3 computers stopped auto-updating with PSI 2 a long time ago, and PSI 3 auto-updates just fine.

Rodrigo
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Can't uninstall PSI 2.0 to install PSI 3.0
Handling Contributor 6th Dec, 2014 18:08
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Worth having a look. If you open Windows Explorer & navigate as per the details in my earlier post you should hopefully see this:

https://1ncuig-ch3302.files.1drv.com/y2p1ryKMVuSoJ...

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
GiftedORnot RE: Can't uninstall PSI 2.0 to install PSI 3.0
Member 6th Dec, 2014 21:44
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 2nd Dec 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: BR
I went into this folder and there is no such file as "Uninstall". How do I post a screenshot?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Can't uninstall PSI 2.0 to install PSI 3.0
Handling Contributor 7th Dec, 2014 00:24
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
POSTING A SCREEN SHOT TO THE FORUM

To post a screen shot to the Forum you need to:

1. Capture the image by using a programme such as:
a. Microsoft Paint - details here if unsure how it is done.
http://www.wikihow.com/Take-a-Screenshot-in-Micros...
b. Microsoft One Note
c. Microsoft Snippet
d. Any third party equivalent programme like these:
http://www.thewindowsclub.com/free-screen-capture-...

2. Save the image to an online repository such as Microsoft OneDrive or a third party programme like Dropbox https://www.dropbox.com/ or try a search using Free File Sharing.

3. Post the hyperlink to the stored online image to the Forum. Use CTRL+C to copy & CTRL+V to post to the Forum.

Last Reviewed 23:22 06/12/2014 GMT






--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
GiftedORnot RE: Can't uninstall PSI 2.0 to install PSI 3.0
Member 8th Dec, 2014 00:59
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 2nd Dec 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: BR
Here it is Maurice...
https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=D95E72694CCA...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Can't uninstall PSI 2.0 to install PSI 3.0
Handling Contributor 8th Dec, 2014 21:37
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Thank you for the screen shot. Not sure I have ever seen that before.

You have a few options:

1. Retain PSI 2 although I fully understand your wish to update to version 3.

2. Try manually removing it from Windows Explorer & the registry before a reinstall - this thread gives details of a successful uninstall but I do urge caution as does the author.
https://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15...

3. Contact Secunia Support at support@secunia.com

You will need to explain your problem again & send that screen shot. If their uninstaller caused your problem they should be prepared to help.

I am interested in hearing how you get on & I am sure Forum members will be delighted to see the details of the fix.


--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.