Forum Thread: PSI will not complete the scanning process

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Justin0 PSI will not complete the scanning process
Member 3rd Feb, 2015 22:08
Ranking: 5
Posts: 5
User Since: 3rd Feb, 2015
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Hi,

I installed secunia version 3.0 several days ago. The initial scan was a success. However, now when I choose to scan again, it gets stuck scanning for outdated programs and never completes the scan. I followed the faq steps so active scripting is enabled and secunia is a trusted site in my browsers, etc. I have AVG antivirus and use Malwarebytes as well. I am able to readily open the interface and can see that my programs are up to date according to the initial scan.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Maurice Joyce RE: PSI will not complete the scanning process
Handling Contributor 4th Feb, 2015 18:24
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
It may be an idea to send your problem to support. These threads refer:

https://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15...

https://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15...

Support Email - support@secunia.com

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Justin0 RE: PSI will not complete the scanning process
Member 4th Feb, 2015 19:15
Score: 5
Posts: 5
User Since: 3rd Feb 2015
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
I will do that.

Thanks,
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Justin0 RE: PSI will not complete the scanning process
Member 9th Feb, 2015 01:19
Score: 5
Posts: 5
User Since: 3rd Feb 2015
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
I have sent an e-mail to support and they have simply referred me to the same thread, indicating that many users have the same problem. I have heard many great things about the program and that is why I tried endlessly to find solutions but to no avail. How are people suppose to appreciate the software if many can't even use it?
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
pwillener1 RE: PSI will not complete the scanning process
Member 9th Feb, 2015 10:16
Score: 3
Posts: 22
User Since: 25th Jul 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: JP
What is your installed PSI version?

I have the same problem with PSI 3.0.0.10. Support sent me a potential solution:
- open the Windows Services panel
- right-click on Secunia PSI Agent and select Properties
- click on the Log On tab
- enable 'Allow service to interact with desktop'
- OK

That seems to have resolved the problem for some users (although not for me).
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0
Justin0 RE: PSI will not complete the scanning process
Member 9th Feb, 2015 22:08
Score: 5
Posts: 5
User Since: 3rd Feb 2015
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Thanks for the tip!

Unfortunately, it is the same with me, still doesn't work. Appreciate the tip though and welcome any others!
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
CraigS26 RE: PSI will not complete the scanning process
Member 13th Feb, 2015 16:18
Score: 6
Posts: 25
User Since: 8th Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I've never upgraded from Ver 2.0.0.4003 and NEVER HAVE ISSUES !!

WILL the Moderators give you access to - Ver 2 Dnload - -- IS the next issue.

I found it on a site I don't know & fearing malware I rarely use Unknown sites for Apps Dnload.

I'll never upgrade until Ver 2 really tanks.


--
Win 7-64 Hm Prem - i5 8G - FF / IE 11 - ESET ESS - MBAM Prem 3 - SuperAS Pro - Macrium Reflect - DK Pro '15 - PSI 3 - EPIM MAIL - No Flash or Java
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: PSI will not complete the scanning process
Handling Contributor 14th Feb, 2015 11:39
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
There are numerous instances of the official PSI version 2.0.0.4003 on this Forum despite the fact that Secunia have withdrawn it from their official website download page.

@Justin0

If you would like to try this version the Secunia link is here:

http://secunia.com/PSI2Setup.exe

Just activate the link - it will auto uninstall version 3 before installing version 2.

It all appears to work correctly as can be seen here:

https://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15...

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Justin0 RE: PSI will not complete the scanning process
Member 15th Feb, 2015 00:45
Score: 5
Posts: 5
User Since: 3rd Feb 2015
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Last edited on 15th Feb, 2015 00:47
Thanks Maurice, version 2 seems to work fine actually. I will continue to use it.

In the meantime, I still welcome any future posts about the current version so we could all enjoy it.

For version 3.0, here is a compilation of things from the forum that have worked for certain users so far.

- FAQ (first collapsible box): http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...
- Task Manager - Services button in Services tab - Secunia PSI agent (stop it) - right click properties - log on tab - click allow interaction with desktop. If it doesn't work retry the same process but on the log on tab click log on from account instead of local systems account.
- Run Secunia in compatibility mode with earlier versions of windows

Thanks,

Justin
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.