Forum Thread: 11.0.12 still shown as 11.0.11

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Adobe Systems
And, this specific program:
Adobe Acrobat XI 11.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
Protopia 11.0.12 still shown as 11.0.11
Member 24th Jul, 2015 18:20
Ranking: 4
Posts: 18
User Since: 22nd Jul, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Adobe Reader XI 11.0.11 is insecure. I manually updated to 11.0.12, and About now shows this version.

But PSI still recognises it as 11.0.11 and says it needs updating.

mogs RE: 11.0.12 still shown as 11.0.11
Member 24th Jul, 2015 21:51
Score:
Posts: 6,279
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
You probably need to delete the older zombie file which Psi is still detecting....before rescanning.

Hope it helps....regards....

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Protopia RE: 11.0.12 still shown as 11.0.11
Member 24th Jul, 2015 22:17
Score: 4
Posts: 18
User Since: 22nd Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
There wasno zombie file shown in the details panel of PSI v2.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: 11.0.12 still shown as 11.0.11
Member 24th Jul, 2015 23:01
Score:
Posts: 6,279
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I'm not as familiar with psi as I used to be..I just look in on the forum now and again. Saw your post and thought I might be of some help.
No...it's not showing a zombie file....but it is detecting the older version of Adobe....it's that you need to delete.
http://secunia.com/support/psi/faq/
Extract
I have updated one of my programs, but an older version is still detected by the Secunia PSI. What can I do?

Permalink

Some programs leave behind the older version when updating to a new one. Some vendors do this deliberatively by policy, and some vendors by mistake. An example of a vendor deliberatively leaving behind the old version is Google, who do not remove old versions when installing updates for Google Chrome. This is an intentional policy on Google's behalf, and is done to prevent developers using Chrome from losing any of their work.
...............................


--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Protopia RE: 11.0.12 still shown as 11.0.11
Member 25th Jul, 2015 20:13
Score: 4
Posts: 18
User Since: 22nd Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
It was me being stupid and confusing Adobe Reader (which was upgraded to 11.0.12) and Adobe Acrobat Pro (which wasn't).

D'oh!!!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.