Forum Thread: http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15486/psi scan res...

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
taffy078 http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15486/psi scan results not shown
Contributor 25th Sep, 2015 23:29
Ranking: 408
Posts: 1,469
User Since: 26th Feb, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
My recent thread has been locked:

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/154...

but I'm still getting the same problem viz orange icon 98% score / sign in / get a 0% score and a welcome greeting from Secunia.

Anyone know what's happening?

I guess I'll have to email the Help team



--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7

taffy078 RE: http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15486/psi scan results not shown
Contributor 25th Sep, 2015 23:43
Score: 408
Posts: 1,469
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I scanned and saw I had 98%. But there's nothing at all in Scan Results/Dashboard - they're both empty. It can't be just me . . . . can it?

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15486/psi scan results not shown
Contributor 26th Sep, 2015 10:29
Score: 408
Posts: 1,469
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Powered-up this morning - icon now red 0% - nothing in scan results nor dashboard. Scanned = 98%.
Firefox 40.0.3.5716 is EOL and Chrome 45.0.2454.93 is Insecure.
I updated both via their home pages rather than via PSI.

I now have Firefox 41.0 and Chrome 45.0.2454.101 per my Control Panel.

Scanned and rescanned. both times showing 98% with Firefox & Chrome again versions as line 2.

What's worse is the Secunia icon is now red and showing 99%.

It can't be me - let's hope Support will respond next week.

PS Is it because I'm still on v2.0.0.3003? Anyone else stull using this? Any problems at your end?

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15486/psi scan results not shown
Handling Contributor 26th Sep, 2015 21:59
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Installed version 2.0.0.3003 and ran it - no problems that you describe as can be see here:
https://1ncuig-ch3302.files.1drv.com/y3pnyilRxEpIK...



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15486/psi scan results not shown
Contributor 28th Sep, 2015 08:15
Score: 408
Posts: 1,469
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Thank you, Maurice. Powered up just now and the Secunia icon was amber 98%. Dashboard, too, showed 98% with no 'Welcome' window, so that's an improvement.

But 'Results' still shows the 'at risk' versions of Chrome & Firefox, even though my Control Panel shows that I have the latest versions installed. I'll have to wait for Support but in the meantime may I ask you another question, Maurice?

Last October, I posted a problem that I can't access the Forums via the 'Learn More' link on the Dashboard. It seemed that Opera was the cause. I had the "unable to locate an appropriate web browser' message. I tried reinstalling Opera and then uninstalling it but the problem remained. Unfortunately, over the next few months I had gallstone problems so I didn't take any further action.

I still can't access the Forums from the Dashboard link. FAQ (http://secunia.com/support/psi/faq/) deals with this problem, pointing to regedit and HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\HTTP\shell\open\command.

My registry has \http (lower case) and it shows "Default Reg_SZ value not set". Should I change the entry per FAQ to add the IE details shown in paragraph 2 of that FAQ or, given my hamfisted expertise is it safer just to uninstal my PSI and reinstall it? In which case will it retain my profile or is there anything else I should do to keep it? (I've searched here but haven't found a relevant thread.)

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15486/psi scan results not shown
Handling Contributor 1st Oct, 2015 12:45
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Sorry about the delay in replying.Have things improved or do you still wish me to respond to your questions?

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15486/psi scan results not shown
Contributor 1st Oct, 2015 14:26
Score: 408
Posts: 1,469
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Hello Maurice. The icon was green 100% this morning and all seems back to normal. But I do see others having similar problems with PSI not picking up Firefox and Chrome recent updates.

No rush but when you've a moment (!!), yes it would help me if you would resolve those issues. I'll hopefully then be able to use the link from the dashboard to here. Thanks.

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
LeendertKip http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15486/psi scan results not shown
Member 1st Oct, 2015 14:34
Score: 35
Posts: 110
User Since: 13th Feb 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
That's strange Taffy. On sept. 23rd I installed Firefox v. 41.0, checked PSI which wasn't yet updated. A few hours later PSI showed the new version. One hour ago I installed v. 41.0.1 successfuly and immeditely ran PSI, which was already updated.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15486/psi scan results not shown
Handling Contributor 4th Oct, 2015 18:48
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I do not use any third party browsers therefore cannot really comment on why a few members experienced a minor issue when updating them. You can always use the Qualy Checker if you suspect something is amiss. https://browsercheck.qualys.com/

Is it this link that does not work for you on the PSI Dashboard? If so you will note it works OK as can be seen here:

https://1ncuig-ch3302.files.1drv.com/y3pQ_dgUNaoYL...

As Secunia explain in their FAQ the registry key to your default browser must be set up correctly for it to work with PSI. This is the set up for IE.

https://1ncuig-ch3302.files.1drv.com/y3pWBnKb1oJvr...

You will note that the key has changed from that published in the PSI FAQ. The third party browser details may also be incorrect so proceed with caution if you intend using another browser as your default.

I can confirm that this key string is correct for IE which you can copy and paste if required.

"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe" %1

As you are aware the best way to install/reinstall PSI is to activate the installer of the PSI version you want. It will auto uninstall the old version prior to any install/reinstall.

This method will not remove your all important USER ID in the registry nor will it alter your Profile which is web based and nothing to do with any software updating.

Hope this helps - just proceed with caution if you are going to make changes to your registry.




--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15486/psi scan results not shown
Contributor 5th Oct, 2015 10:58
Score: 408
Posts: 1,469
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Thanks Maurice. I'll reinstall as you suggest - there's no way that I want to go anywhere near the registry!

Leendert - I emailed support about my problem. Although they still haven't responded, is it possible they took action, which could explain why all is back to normal on my PC and why you had that strange experience.

By the way, I'm pretty sure that when I created this thread I didn't put the link to my previous thread in the heading. It's a pretty novel way to do things but it's meant that every time I get a 'someone has replied' email, it points me to the old thread and when I'm busy I see the 'Locked' message and go no further. Ihad time today which is why I eventually got here.

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15486/psi scan results not shown
Contributor 5th Oct, 2015 11:32
Score: 408
Posts: 1,469
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 5th Oct, 2015 11:46
I've searched everywhere on Secunia to find a link to install PSI v2 but got nowhere. I kept getting pointed to the same screen for the latest PSI. I found a link on one screen that pointed to FAQ but there's nothing in there either.

Anyway, I found a link on an external site and it's installed OK. Just scanning and will then see if I can use the link here from the dashboard. Fingers crossed.


--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15486/psi scan results not shown
Contributor 5th Oct, 2015 12:16
Score: 408
Posts: 1,469
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 5th Oct, 2015 12:20
Just uninstalled/reinstalled v.2.0.0.4003 from here: http://www.afterdawn.com/software/general/download...

It scanned - 100% - but when to I tried to access this forum via Learn More -> Support/Forum -> Visit the Community Forum I got those blasted messages
"Unable to locate an appropriate web browser for the requested URL" then
"An error occurred while attempting to open the specified URL".

In my previous threads on this problem, everything pointed to the cause of the above (& incorrect registry entry) having been the installation then removal of Opera. But I've just installed PSI (which included removing what I had) from what I imagine is a respected source so why has the download failed again?

Common sense tells me that I've wasted enough of my time & yours, that I should now uninstall my PSI with Revo free and then install PSI using a different profile/ID. Losing my previous data, score etc isn't the end of the world, is it!

I'll give it some thought.



--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15486/psi scan results not shown
Handling Contributor 5th Oct, 2015 15:27
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 5th Oct, 2015 19:01
It will not do much good doing anything with Secunia until you sort out your registry. It is looking for your default browser entry as per my last post. You should consider your registry as corrupt and that missing entry may affect other programmes not just Secunia.

Do you not know anyone local who could fix it for you? Reinstalling Secunia will not replace the missing key - that key belongs to your default browser that puts it on for you.

Previous tests have shown that Revo free (trialsware) does not remove all the keys for a clean uninstall so tread with caution so that you do not create an even larger problem.

EDIT:
If you take a snapshot of the missing registry key area where the string is allegedly missing I may be able to give you detailed instructions on how to fix it. I am hoping from what you have described it looks like this:

https://1ncuig-ch3302.files.1drv.com/y3py9nfq5Osbh...

The correct download links for Secuna programmes are here https://secunia.com/support/download/


--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0
taffy078 RE: http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15486/psi scan results not shown
Contributor 6th Oct, 2015 09:08
Score: 408
Posts: 1,469
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Thanks again, Maurice. Here's a snapshot of the registry entry:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/uzdjpu9h3y03e1w/Screensh...

(Hoping I've done this right!)

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15486/psi scan results not shown
Handling Contributor 6th Oct, 2015 15:32
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 7th Oct, 2015 20:59
You are in the right area of the registry but I cannot see all the details on the left side of the page.
I have reproduced your submission and added the correct registry entries for comparison here and will await your comments:

https://1ncuig-ch3302.files.1drv.com/y3p-dPvMZhW21...

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15486/psi scan results not shown
Contributor 8th Oct, 2015 10:50
Score: 408
Posts: 1,469
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
hello Maurice. Part of your link appears to have been chopped off so I can't get to it. I'll re-post my screen print soon.

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15486/psi scan results not shown
Contributor 8th Oct, 2015 10:57
Score: 408
Posts: 1,469
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
is this any better, Maurice? (regedit screen print)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/0m5ixhigcurkvwm/Screensh...

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15486/psi scan results not shown
Handling Contributor 8th Oct, 2015 11:43
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Yes thank you. Sadly the keys and strings for this part of the Registry have been corrupted as can be seen from my comparison here:

https://1ncuig-ch3302.files.1drv.com/y3pQ5u2nXCsZr...

How have you tried to fix it in the past?

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.