Forum Thread: no update for GoogleChrome

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
triggerhippyfr no update for GoogleChrome
Member 1st Oct, 2015 09:36
Ranking: 0
Posts: 15
User Since: 17th Feb, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
Hello to everybody .

since 3 days , despite my manual update downloading Chrome version 45.0.2454.101 m , PSI still indicates that this update is needed ... :(

any idea of the problem ???

Maurice Joyce RE: no update for GoogleChrome
Handling Contributor 1st Oct, 2015 12:57
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 1st Oct, 2015 12:58
It looks like PSI has found an old version - what path does PSI give you?

This PSI FAQ refers:

I have updated one of my programs, but an older version is still detected by the Secunia PSI. What can I do?

Some programs leave behind the older version when updating to a new one. Some vendors do this deliberatively by policy, and some vendors by mistake. An example of a vendor deliberatively leaving behind the old version is Google, who do not remove old versions when installing updates for Google Chrome. This is an intentional policy on Google's behalf, and is done to prevent developers using Chrome from losing any of their work.

How you wish to deal with such older versions is entirely up to you. For assistance, please contact the vendor. You can also post to our community forum: http://secunia.com/community/forum/




--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
triggerhippyfr RE: no update for GoogleChrome
Member 1st Oct, 2015 13:32
Score: 0
Posts: 15
User Since: 17th Feb 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
the path is C:\Progam Files(x86)\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe 45.0.2454.99


but when i go to this place there's only the folder 45.0.2454.101 , a folder Plugins

the icon for the Application ( which is 45.0.2454.101 )

and a XML Document : VisualElementsManifest

... that's it
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: no update for GoogleChrome
Contributor 1st Oct, 2015 13:51
Score: 408
Posts: 1,469
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
fwiw, I had this problem.

This refers: https://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15...

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.