Forum Thread: Adobe Flash Player

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Adobe Systems
And, this specific program:
Adobe Flash Player 21.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
djfro Adobe Flash Player
Member 13th Apr, 2016 17:29
Ranking: 2
Posts: 13
User Since: 5th Mar, 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Secunia PSI is telling me that I need to update my Adobe Flash Player. I run Google Chrome which is telling me that Chrome + all programs (including Adobe Flash) are up to date. How can I get Secunia to recognize this?

Maurice Joyce RE: Adobe Flash Player
Handling Contributor 13th Apr, 2016 17:41
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
What is the path to vulnerability that PSI gives you?

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
djfro RE: Adobe Flash Player
Member 13th Apr, 2016 17:47
Score: 2
Posts: 13
User Since: 5th Mar 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Maurice,

Not sure what you're asking?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Adobe Flash Player
Handling Contributor 13th Apr, 2016 17:56
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
What path does PSI give you to the offending file after a reboot and full PSI scan?

FINDING A FILE PATH USING PSI

VERSION 2


From the DASHBOARD page click on SCAN RESULTS.

1. This will list all your programmes with a + to the left of each programme.
2. Click the + sign next to the item that U want help with.
3. This will reveal the path under DETECTED INSTANCES.
4. Below DETECTED INSTANCES you will see this You can double click this row for additional information & options>double click it>a box will appear>look to the RIGHT & U will see TROUBLESHOOT REPORT in BLUE writing under the heading TOOLBOX> click TroubleShoot Report & it will reveal some information in a box>highlight the information revealed from ---START--- to ---END--- & copy it (CTRL+C) then post it to the Forum (CTRL+V)

VERSION 3
This version does not have such an easy method to publish the path.

Open PSI>once open select Show Programs.
You will now see a page full of programme icons or a list.
Right click on the programme in error>select Show Details - that will open a box showing the path & version number of the offending file.
You now have 2 options:
1. Write down the exact file path & install version - return to the Forum & type that information.
2. Take a screen shot & publish that.


Last Reviewed 16:53 13/04/2016



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
djfro RE: Adobe Flash Player
Member 13th Apr, 2016 18:12
Score: 2
Posts: 13
User Since: 5th Mar 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US
C:\Windows\SysWOW64\Macromed\Flash\Flash.ocx Installed version 21.0.0.182 (IE)
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Adobe Flash Player
Handling Contributor 13th Apr, 2016 21:48
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
That is an old file that belongs to Flash in Internet Explorer. I assume you are using Windows Vista or 7 - what method did/do you use to update Flash?

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
djfro RE: Adobe Flash Player
Member 13th Apr, 2016 23:54
Score: 2
Posts: 13
User Since: 5th Mar 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Presently, I'm using Windows 10. I had been updating Flash through the Secunia PSI status button. When it didn't work this time, I checked on the Google chrome site. The info I found said "You get Adobe Flash player on Chrome automatically, and it updates when Chrome does." My chrome is updated to the newest release so I guess that means that Flash is also updated. How do I then get Secunia to recognize this?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Adobe Flash Player
Handling Contributor 14th Apr, 2016 00:39
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Chrome has got nothing to do with the embedded Flash Player used by IE and Edge in Windows 10. You need to read this thread on the details about Windows 10. Basically ONLY Microsoft can update your outdated flash player so you need to run a manual Windows Update.

https://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/15...

Chrome uses a different version of Flash as does Firefox.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
djfro RE: Adobe Flash Player
Member 14th Apr, 2016 02:08
Score: 2
Posts: 13
User Since: 5th Mar 2013
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Maurice,

That did the trick-everything is now "up to date". Many thanks for your assistance.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.