Forum Thread: Chrome issues PSI wrong.

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
taffy078 Chrome issues PSI wrong.
Contributor 15th Apr, 2016 20:09
Ranking: 408
Posts: 1,469
User Since: 26th Feb, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
My PSI icon is white on a grey background.

Clicking on it takes several minutes to load and it then shows a score of 98% with "Programs that need updating (4)" below which is one, Chrome, not four.

It said that I had v49.x so I updated it from there. I now have Chrome v50.0.2661.75 m.

But the PSI window still shows 98% and Chrome needing updating.

Anyone else having this?

FWIW I'm using Windows 10 Home version 1511 (updated yesterday without problems to build 10586.218)

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7

Maurice Joyce RE: Chrome issues PSI wrong.
Handling Contributor 16th Apr, 2016 09:24
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Your result is consistent with the colour of your icon as per the user manual:

"The Secunia icon on your taskbar will change colour depending on the security status of your system:

Grey indicates that the scan results have not been retrieved.

Green indicates that all your software is up to date.

Red indicates that you may have outdated software that requires security patching. Double-click the icon to open the Secunia PSI and then click Scan again to start a new scan and install the latest security patches".





--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
taffy078 RE: Chrome issues PSI wrong.
Contributor 16th Apr, 2016 09:42
Score: 408
Posts: 1,469
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Thanks Maurice. I did search for the FAQs and User Manal before I posted but couldn't find it. There aren't any obvious/clear routes and Search was not helpful.

When I powered up this morning the small icon was Green but when I opened PSI it said that all of my 94 programs were up-to-date but gave me a score of 96%!

It's showing 100% now.

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Chrome issues PSI wrong.
Handling Contributor 16th Apr, 2016 10:24
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
All makes sense to me. You are now back in tune with the server. Not sure what causes this oddity - it is fairly common error and Flexera do not explain how to correct it.

Have a nice weekend.






--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.