Forum Thread: Secunia PSI 3.0 generates high network traffic on startup

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
krischan111 Secunia PSI 3.0 generates high network traffic on startup
Member 8th May, 2016 01:50
Ranking: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 16th Apr, 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: US
When I start Windows, Secunia PSI 3.0 causes very high network traffic from Secunia to my PC. I use Windows 7 64 bit. For five minutes I can't display a website because all the network ressource is consumed by PSI.

The reason why I'm sure it's Secunia: I logged with Wireshark and saw that the source IP was 212.98.89.186, that is Secunia in Denmark.

Is this normal? Can I do something so that PSI starts this transfer when I don't need an internet connection?

Leendert Kip Secunia PSI 3.0 generates high network traffic on startup
Contributor 8th May, 2016 07:01
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
No, this is not normal and I have no explanation. You can try setting PSI not to start with Windows. Open PSI, in the lower bar you find 'settings', click and you see a menu with 'start with windows', uncheck this and try again. Maybe someone else comes up with other/better solutions.

--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
krischan111 RE: Secunia PSI 3.0 generates high network traffic on startup
Member 11th May, 2016 20:31
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 16th Apr 2014
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I had the option "Download, ask before updating" active. I changed this to "Notify user". Now the high network load after system start-up has gone.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Leendert Kip Secunia PSI 3.0 generates high network traffic on startup
Contributor 11th May, 2016 21:25
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
I see a difference. What's your PSI version? I'm running 3.0.0.11005.

--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.