Forum Thread: Hang and won't load workaround

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
passanto Hang and won't load workaround
Member 14th Feb, 2017 18:50
Ranking: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 12th Feb, 2017
System Score: N/A
Location: MT
Restoring from the other thread:

Version 3.0 keeps on loading.

A workaround is to read log file .\Secunia\PSI\psialog.txt

If applications require update, there you'll find.


PS in that file this string is continuously repeated:


...
[mm/dd hh:mm:ss.ms] Stopping service
[mm/dd hh:mm:ss.ms] Stopping service
[mm/dd hh:mm:ss.ms] Stopping service
...


[update]:
PSI 2.0 as well, stuck verifying connection.
ping to secunia server seems fine.
icon in tray is green since, via log, all software seem update.

throkr. RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Contributor 15th Feb, 2017 09:30
Score: 139
Posts: 137
User Since: 22nd Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: BE
PSI 2.0.0.3003 working without any problem here...

--
Win 10 Pro x64

Malwarebytes Premium - Windows Defender - SAS Pro - Flexera PSI
Cyberfox (x64) - Waterfox (x64) - SRWare Iron (x64)

- All current versions & updates -
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Expert Contributor 15th Feb, 2017 14:28
Score: 2542
Posts: 3,402
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi ,

Yesterday ,14/02/2017 , my PSI (2.0.0.3003) hung on the opening window and trying to verify the internet connection .

To me ,considering all things , this seemed likely to be a Secunia side "server type" problem ; "your server" is dependent on your location .

Here in France now (CET) my PSI is back to normal . How about you ??

Anthony



--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
passanto RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Member 15th Feb, 2017 18:40
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 12th Feb 2017
System Score: N/A
Location: MT
From here:
Nome: psi.secunia.com
Addresses: 91.198.117.248
91.198.117.247


Still hang to Verifyin Internet Connection.

Outbound firewall is open.


Maybe it's a .NET framework issue...


It's a while that PSI is not working perfectly anymore.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
boadk RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Member 15th Feb, 2017 21:36
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 25th May 2016
System Score: N/A
Location: DK
Last edited on 15th Feb, 2017 21:40
My psi loads after some time, I just waited... maybe it is because the Adobe flash says it is not updated, as another thread says in this forum, the update is delayed from Microsoft.... read here https://secuniaresearch.flexerasoftware.com/commun...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
100PIER RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Member 15th Feb, 2017 23:50
Score: 2
Posts: 14
User Since: 15th Feb 2017
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
Hi,

Is SECUNIA PSI v3.0 compatible with W10 64-bit ? (The help informations do refer up to W7 only..)
I have installed SECUNIA PSI v3.0.0.11005 on my PC.

However,when trying to start the LOAD... does appear and I get no displays, nothing happen, no response after 30 minutes ...
Why PSI does remain in continuous "LOAD.." status?

Is it a know bug ?
Regards
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
throkr. RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Contributor 16th Feb, 2017 00:01
Score: 139
Posts: 137
User Since: 22nd Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: BE
@100PIER

See the requirements here : https://www.flexerasoftware.com/enterprise/product...

--
Win 10 Pro x64

Malwarebytes Premium - Windows Defender - SAS Pro - Flexera PSI
Cyberfox (x64) - Waterfox (x64) - SRWare Iron (x64)

- All current versions & updates -
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
100PIER RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Member 16th Feb, 2017 08:25
Score: 2
Posts: 14
User Since: 15th Feb 2017
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
Last edited on 16th Feb, 2017 08:26
Sorry,
I am strictly conformant with the requirements described within the link provided !!
Do you have a better idea ?
Do you know if Secunia PSI is compatible with Internet Security Software applications such as ACRONIS 2017 New Generation (Acronis Active Protection anti ransomware), EMISISOFT Internet Security, etc..) ?
Regards
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
throkr. RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Contributor 16th Feb, 2017 09:31
Score: 139
Posts: 137
User Since: 22nd Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: BE
Last edited on 16th Feb, 2017 09:33
Hi 100PIER,

Your issue is probably due to a server problem on Secunia's side (see post #3 above).
As PSI is a simple scanner and not a so called "security" program (like antivirus, internet security suites etc), you shouldn't have to worry about compatibility issues with these softwares. As you can read from my signature, I have PSI running alongside with latest version of Malwarebytes which includes an anti-exploit and anti-ransomware module without any problem. On another computer, PSI is running fine with Bitdefender Internet Security 2017.
And "if" PSI should be flagged by a security program, as it is a trustworthy program and you know what you are doing, you could simply add it to the exclusions in the concerned security program.
However, I never had to do this and I'm using PSI since version 1 ... ;-)

Hope this helps.

--
Win 10 Pro x64

Malwarebytes Premium - Windows Defender - SAS Pro - Flexera PSI
Cyberfox (x64) - Waterfox (x64) - SRWare Iron (x64)

- All current versions & updates -
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
100PIER RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Member 16th Feb, 2017 09:50
Score: 2
Posts: 14
User Since: 15th Feb 2017
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
I am located in France.
Do you think that Secunia Servers are not reachable from my location.
I have tried with different browsers (Mozilla, Palemoon, Vivaldi, Google) this exact address: "https://psi.secunia.com:443/" described in the "Requirements" and got an immediate refuse to display the page..
The message error reported is something like that (I translate)
" Please contact the WEB supplier "!!!
So, what do you think about ?
Regards
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
throkr. RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Contributor 16th Feb, 2017 10:01
Score: 139
Posts: 137
User Since: 22nd Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: BE
I'm located in Belgium and, at the moment, PSI is not loading and systray icon is red = server problem.
Solution : patience ! It's not the first time and won't be the last ... :-)

--
Win 10 Pro x64

Malwarebytes Premium - Windows Defender - SAS Pro - Flexera PSI
Cyberfox (x64) - Waterfox (x64) - SRWare Iron (x64)

- All current versions & updates -
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Leendert Kip Hang and won't load workaround
Contributor 16th Feb, 2017 10:09
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Last edited on 16th Feb, 2017 10:10
I think that's a server issue. Around 7.00am Amsterdam time the PSI icon went grey. Tried to restart PSI in vain till now. We have to be patient and wait.

--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Expert Contributor 16th Feb, 2017 12:14
Score: 2542
Posts: 3,402
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 16th Feb, 2017 12:23
Hello again ,

My PSI is hanging on "verifying...." again .

Some points to note :

1: There can be several reasons for this type of event ; in this case it is almost certainly coming from the Secunia servers.
2: The PSI appears to work fine on W10 versions irrespective of country location when all servers are functoining normally .
3:Support have been ignoring this Forum for years : if you have a problem not elucidated here , you should mail them direct to support@secunia.com
4:This website has been very ,very slow here for me in France for the last few days . Today it is very quick and the community log-in box that I use has changed it's style/appearance : I smell something afoot .
5: The latest NPAPI flash plug-in for Firefox is available on the Adobe website and loads fine ; obviously I cannot "see"this on the PSI . M$ has not yet updated their ActiveX plug-in for IE nor Edge atm ; neither has Google updated the Chrome PPAPI as yet .

[EDIT:]6:In my expereience , a problem with the PSI version 3.0.x can often be rectified by version 2.0.x.

All will become clear within the mists of time ; sometimes IT runs- thankfully - at human speed .

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
100PIER RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Member 16th Feb, 2017 13:04
Score: 2
Posts: 14
User Since: 15th Feb 2017
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
Hello from France,
I don't use Internet Explorer nor Edge..
I have updated FlashPlayer NPAPI and PPAPI v24.0.0.213 to v25.0.0.113, but this does not change anything.
Regards
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
throkr. RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Contributor 16th Feb, 2017 14:46
Score: 139
Posts: 137
User Since: 22nd Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: BE
Last edited on 16th Feb, 2017 15:06
Latest Adobe FP Plugins official version is 24.0.0.221 (https://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/). These versions (NPAPI + PPAPI) are downloadable since yesterday; as for the Active X Plugin for IE and Edge, it will not be updated before 14th March (= Patchday March) as MS has decided to delay February's Patches till this date (http://www.zdnet.com/article/microsoft-to-delay-it...).

--
Win 10 Pro x64

Malwarebytes Premium - Windows Defender - SAS Pro - Flexera PSI
Cyberfox (x64) - Waterfox (x64) - SRWare Iron (x64)

- All current versions & updates -
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
throkr. RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Contributor 17th Feb, 2017 05:32
Score: 139
Posts: 137
User Since: 22nd Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: BE
Situation back to normal here : PSI (version 2) loads and works correctly again.

--
Win 10 Pro x64

Malwarebytes Premium - Windows Defender - SAS Pro - Flexera PSI
Cyberfox (x64) - Waterfox (x64) - SRWare Iron (x64)

- All current versions & updates -
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
100PIER RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Member 17th Feb, 2017 09:21
Score: 2
Posts: 14
User Since: 15th Feb 2017
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
Hello,
On my side, located in France, I have installed PSI v2.0.0.4003 to replace v3.0 !
PSI2 is working perfectly.
Conclusion:
PSI 3.0 "freezing" is totally out from several weeks now.
I don't understand why PSI3 has been released..
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wmahmood RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Secunia Official 17th Feb, 2017 11:35
Score: 0
Posts: 29
User Since: 10th Aug 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Hello,

Our Operation's team is performing a scheduled maintenance on PSI 3.x. Most of the maintenance is already complete but few of the back-end servers are still experience issues which may result in PSI start up issues.

Our operations team is diligently working to resolve all of the outstanding issues and we will update this post when we have more information.

Thanks for your patience and maintenance.

Sincerely,

Waqas Mahmood
Flexera Software Support

For more information, please follow:
https://secuniaresearch.flexerasoftware.com/commun...

--
Best Regards,

Waqas Mahmood
Flexera Software Support
wmahmood RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Secunia Official 17th Feb, 2017 12:57
Score: 0
Posts: 29
User Since: 10th Aug 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Update:

The maintenance is complete on PSI back-end servers. PSI console should start working again.

Please make sure to restart the PSI related services. Here are the steps:

1. Go to Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services.
2. Double click on Services.
3. Select "Secunia PSI agent" service.
4. Right click and choose "Restart".
5. Select "Secunia Update Agent".
6. Right click and choose "Restart"

Please note that you can also access services by going to start menu > Run > Type: services.msc and press enter.

--
Best Regards,

Waqas Mahmood
Flexera Software Support

100PIER

RE: Hang and won't load workaround
[+]
This reply has been deleted

100PIER

RE: Hang and won't load workaround
[+]
This reply has been deleted
passanto RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Member 19th Feb, 2017 13:19
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 12th Feb 2017
System Score: N/A
Location: MT
quoted from requirements:
Access to Flexera Software's encrypted servers via SSL (https://psi.secunia.com:443/) and access to Microsoft Windows Update servers, see also Software Requirements below


How one can check that?
Telnet?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Handling Contributor 19th Feb, 2017 16:57
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
@passanto

It looks like you have a problem but I cannot understand what it now is.
Which version of Windows are you using?
Which version of PSI is currently installed?
What makes you think .NetFramework has got anything to do with your issue?
Do you think Telnet has got something to do with Flexera?
Was PSI working correctly on your PC before Flexera Support started tinkering with their servers?
Do you use a Proxy?



--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
100PIER RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Member 19th Feb, 2017 18:38
Score: 2
Posts: 14
User Since: 15th Feb 2017
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
Hello,

On my side (France, W10 x64) it takes about 4 minutes to get the scan display from Secunia PSI v3.0.0.11005.
Is it normal ?
Login to "Secunia Research Community" is also quite long (never less than 2 minutes).
Is it normal ?

If I use PSI2 the scan display does appear in less than 30 seconds.

So, does it mean that PSI2 and PSI3 do use differents servers ?

If yes, we observe PSI2 servers access time is 8 times better ? Why not the same access time for the PSI2 and PSI3 ?

On my side I observe that only 2 patches do remain to get 100% score.
Both are related to Microsoft sofware (Flash Player for IE, and MS XML v4.0).
Normally Windows Update does install and manage FP version because the user can't install manually the proper FP version even if this one is already available. (it is the case at the moment).
MS XML v4.0 is native within W10 x64, so do you recommend to manually modify Windows system component ?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
passanto RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Member 19th Feb, 2017 19:41
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 12th Feb 2017
System Score: N/A
Location: MT
@Maurice Joyce
Thank you for such interest.
Replies in line below:

Which version of Windows are you using?
Win10 Pro 64bit
Version 1607 (build 14393.693)

Which version of PSI is currently installed?
PSI2, the version available on this page:
https://secuniaresearch.flexerasoftware.com/suppor...
Previously the latest 3.

What makes you think .NetFramework has got anything to do with your issue?
Once you fully enable outgoing firewall, disable Windows SRP, and still hangs... start thinking about anything.

Do you think Telnet has got something to do with Flexera?
https://www.flexerasoftware.com/enterprise/product...
Connectivity:
Access to Flexera Software's encrypted servers via SSL (https://psi.secunia.com:443/) and access to Microsoft Windows Update servers, see also Software Requirements below
Do you suggest another way for testing this?
ping is working

Was PSI working correctly on your PC before Flexera Support started tinkering with their servers?
can't tell how many months, but yes. it was perfect.

Do you use a Proxy?
no.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Handling Contributor 19th Feb, 2017 20:21
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Thank you for the response.
Is PSI 2 working but just slow or have you got another problem?
Have you rechecked all your settings are as per the FAQ here
https://secuniaresearch.flexerasoftware.com/suppor...

When you click on https://psi.secunia.com:443/ does it open a website belonging to Flexera? If so that test is correct.

Can you successfully run a Windows Update scan on your PC without errors? If so that test is also correct and you have met the requirements to use PSI.


--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Handling Contributor 19th Feb, 2017 21:34
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
@100PIER

It is well documented on this Forum that he Flexera Servers are running slowly. Nothing can be done until they return to work and fix it.
You will need to contact Flexera Support to ascertain how their servers are allocated.
Details of what to do about updating the Flash Player embedded in Windows 8 and 10 are also on the Forum - details here
https://secuniaresearch.flexerasoftware.com/commun...
Microsoft have delayed the next round of updates until March 14th so you can do nothing until that date except for switching Flash off.

[b]You are totally wrong about MSXML 4 being native to Windows 10 - nothing could be further from the truth. MSXML 4 was NEVER designed for Windows 7,8 or 10[b/] and was declared obsolete (End of Life) by Microsoft in April 2014. It is on your PC because you are using a very old programme that downloaded it for dependency. There are no updates available from Microsoft. This subject was extensively dealt with years ago - a few of the threads are here:

https://secuniaresearch.flexerasoftware.com/commun...

Flexera Support advice on End of Life programmes is to uninstall them but that is a matter for you to decide.

MSXML 3 and 6 are the only MSXML versions native to Windows 7,8 and 10.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

Maurice Joyce

RE: Hang and won't load workaround
[+]
This reply has been deleted
passanto RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Member 20th Feb, 2017 06:23
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 12th Feb 2017
System Score: N/A
Location: MT
@Maurice Joyce
on 19th Feb, 2017 20:21, Maurice Joyce wrote:

Is PSI 2 working but just slow or have you got another problem?

Both PSI 2 and 3 are able to "notify" if an update is available, but since the interface doesn't load, you need to open the log file to retrieve which is the software..
So they work, but not 100%!
https://www.flexerasoftware.com/enterprise/product...

on 19th Feb, 2017 20:21, Maurice Joyce wrote:

Have you rechecked all your settings are as per the FAQ here
https://secuniaresearch.flexerasoftware.com/suppor...

The only doubt is regarding the ActiveX plugin option to check.
There are a lot, and of course you dont want to enable the "not recommended" ones.

on 19th Feb, 2017 20:21, Maurice Joyce wrote:

When you click on https://psi.secunia.com:443/ does it open a website belonging to Flexera? If so that test is correct.

Sure, it lands on this:
https://www.flexerasoftware.com/enterprise/product...


on 19th Feb, 2017 20:21, Maurice Joyce wrote:

Can you successfully run a Windows Update scan on your PC without errors? If so that test is also correct and you have met the requirements to use PSI.

If you mean a Windows "check for update", yes. It is updated.
Indeed just updated Windows Defender definitions.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Handling Contributor 20th Feb, 2017 07:56
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 20th Feb, 2017 07:57
I sent you a list of things to check from the FAQ which covers the interface not loading. The list does not include anything to do with Flash nor are there any options not recommended. PSI does not require Flash to work.
Please clarify you have checked the settings as per the list from the FAQ I sent you.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
100PIER RE: Hang and won't load workaround
Member 20th Feb, 2017 09:08
Score: 2
Posts: 14
User Since: 15th Feb 2017
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
Hello,
Response time is now quick for PSI2 and PSI3 as well for Community Forum login.
I got 99% index now, and have to wait for the future MS patch Tuesday on 14th March 2017.
Thanks a lot to your team for the server access time properly fixed now.
Regards
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.