Forum Thread: Failure to recognise program updated

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Google
And, this specific program:
Google Chrome 56.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
scorpion169 Failure to recognise program updated
Member 12th Mar, 2017 02:06
Ranking: 7
Posts: 5
User Since: 30th Jun, 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Secunia PSI 2.0 is suggesting that Google Chrome 56.0.2924.87 is installed, even after the program has been updated to 57.0,2987.98
I have rebooted the computer, (Windows 10 Home) and restarted Chrome and PSI to no avail. Even run a registry cleaner just in case.
PSI still says 56.0.2924.87 is installed.

Any suggestions?

Anthony Wells RE: Failure to recognise program updated
Expert Contributor 12th Mar, 2017 12:36
Score: 2542
Posts: 3,402
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 12th Mar, 2017 12:43
Hi ,

Maurice has given the relevant answers to your problem in his reply to this recent thread concerning Firefox , if you follow the links he has given :-

https://secuniaresearch.flexerasoftware.com/commun...

My PSI 2.0.0.3003 is currently showing a Temp folder/file with the .old_chromeexe file for version 56.xxx and is not recognising the new .exe for version 57.xxx which is actually installed . Removing ONLY the Temp file should bring the display back into order .

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
scorpion169 RE: Failure to recognise program updated
Member 12th Mar, 2017 13:17
Score: 7
Posts: 5
User Since: 30th Jun 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 12th Mar, 2017 13:25
I followed the link which says that you need to manually remove the offending program.

When I click on 'Open Folder' it takes me to the only Google Chrome folder on y computer. The chrome.exe program that PSI is objecting to is already File version 57.0.2987.98 dated 9/3/2017

I cannot see any 'Temp' folder under PSI in which to delete any earlier version either.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Failure to recognise program updated
Expert Contributor 12th Mar, 2017 15:15
Score: 2542
Posts: 3,402
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 12th Mar, 2017 15:26
Hi again ,

My posts are being blocked/lost atm .

EDIT : So , OK for now .

How does the psi show the state your Chrome entry ?? How many entries for Chrome do you have ?? How many detected instances are shown when you click the + on the lhs of the/each entry ?? What is the complete C:\... entry string ??

There are more Chrome files under C:\Users\... Have you checked there ??

EDIT : I see :-
Detected Instances:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe, version 56.0.2924.87
C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Temp\scoped_dir_15876_25283\ol d_chrome.exe, version 56.0.2924.87

THe first file is wrong , it only has 57.x files in it .


--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
scorpion169 RE: Failure to recognise program updated
Member 12th Mar, 2017 23:37
Score: 7
Posts: 5
User Since: 30th Jun 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 13th Mar, 2017 03:59
In my case Secunia PSI is saying Google Chrome 56.x Version 56.0.2954.87 is installed as follows

Detected Instances:
C:\Program Files\Google\Chrome|Application\chrome.exe, version 56.0.2924.87

When I double click it gives the path: C:\Program Files\Google\Chrome|Application\chrome.exe and on rt click 'Open Folder' it takes me to the only Google Chrome program application folder which contains

Folder 57.0.2987.98 11/03/2017
Folder Dictionaries 31/01/2017
Folder SetupMetrics 12/03/2017
Program chrome.exe 9/03/2017 (hovering over this shows File version 57.0.2987.98 28/01/2017)
File chrome.VisualElementsManifest.xml 12/03/2017
File master_preferences 28/01/2017

Chrome is telling me it is up to date with version 57.0.2987.98.
It appears that Chrome was properly updated and there is no Temp folder or file to delete.

What is need to have Secunia PSI recognise that Chrome is successfully updated?

I have done a complete search of my C drive and there is only one instance of the program, chrome.exe, the one that is already updated.
Why is Secunia PSI 2.0 being so obstinate?

As the Beatles say in "Penny Lane" ...
He likes to keep his fire engine clean
It's a clean machine


I do like to see 100%!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Failure to recognise program updated
Expert Contributor 13th Mar, 2017 13:50
Score: 2542
Posts: 3,402
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello ,

Still having trouble posting/logging-in !!

I have removed the Temp file and a programme re-scan did not react at all and display stayed unchanged . In the past it would show the corrected state .

A full scan (before and after) a PC restart has removed Google Chrome entirely from the "Scan Results" display .

Maybe Secunia are doing some "tweaking" !! They are most unlikely to respond here .

I would wait 24 hours to see if there is any change ; if you are unable to bear your dirty engine you could mail to support@secunia.com and qsk them for HELP!

Let us know if/when things change .

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Leendert Kip Failure to recognise program updated
Contributor 13th Mar, 2017 14:49
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Last edited on 13th Mar, 2017 14:51
Hi Anthony, here no problems with login and posting. Last saturday I had similar problems with the new Chrome version, which wasn't recognised by PSI.
Yesterday nothing changed, so I uninstalled Chrome completely, cleaned left over files, rebooted pc and installed Chrome. No change, I suggested the software via PSI. This morning Jais Vimmer confirmed the situation has been corrected. Just ran a scan, all OK.


--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
scorpion169 RE: Failure to recognise program updated
Member 13th Mar, 2017 23:10
Score: 7
Posts: 5
User Since: 30th Jun 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Thank you Secunia ... a rescan of Google Chrome this morning gave me an 'all-clear'.

I have a clean machine !!!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Failure to recognise program updated
Expert Contributor 14th Mar, 2017 00:25
Score: 2542
Posts: 3,402
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello both ,

Thanks for your efforts and heads up LK :))

All sorted again . Strawberry* fields forever ; first* of the season down here on the Med :)))

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.