Forum Thread: PSI V3 and AVG

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
David12846518 PSI V3 and AVG
Member 29th May, 2017 15:43
Ranking: 17
Posts: 25
User Since: 19th Feb, 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Sigh... I was away for 5 days and came home when I received word part of my home had burned. I've had more things to do than keep up on prior problems.

I had a post with a long thread "PSI was good, but bye-bye" (located at: https://secuniaresearch.flexerasoftware.com/commun... ). My AVG Free program was preventing PSI from finishing a scan. After going through 2500+ e-mails when I had time while I was fixing my home, AVG had instructed me to add the PSI program into AVG's exception list. I'm not fond of putting programs into an exception list. Viruses can be hidden in executables, especially if a program is updated or the program is popular. I'm not saying PSI has a virus or will contain a virus when it is updated. It is potentially possible for a rogue program (not PSI) to make small multiple changes to any other program (like PSI). The changes could be spread out over weeks. Eventually the changes result in a virus. Consequently, I refrain from putting programs (like PSI) and any executables into AVG's exception list.

Except for AVG's e-mail scanner, I have stopped using AVG Free until I hear their program works better.

I never did get a reply from Flexera regarding my PSI log.

David

David12846518 RE: PSI V3 and AVG
Member 3rd Jun, 2017 02:50
Score: 17
Posts: 25
User Since: 19th Feb 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I received the following e-mail from AVG:


= = = = =
Hello David,

Thank you for contacting AVG.

Our virus specialists have been working on this issue and the provided files have now been whitelisted.

<snip>
= = = = =


The files I provided to AVG were the PSI V3 executable and the download link for PSI V3. I have not had time to verify if PSI V3 works when the AVG Free security software is installed.

David
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
joeadinolf RE: PSI V3 and AVG
Member 3rd Jun, 2017 03:44
Score: 36
Posts: 36
User Since: 18th Mar 2017
System Score: N/A
Location: US
David, many thanks for filling us in.

That was good information.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
David12846518 RE: PSI V3 and AVG
Member 9th Jun, 2017 00:13
Score: 17
Posts: 25
User Since: 19th Feb 2012
System Score: N/A
Location: US
In a previous post (before my reply from AVG) I mentioned I had only the E-mail Protection component from AVG Free and Secunia PSI V3 was working. With the other components of AVG installed, PSI V3 was freezing on the loading page.

After AVG replied saying they have now white-listed PSI V3, I re-installed additional components of AVG Free. I now have the Email Protection, the Resident Shield and the Software Analyzer components. I'm happy to report that PSI V3 is still working. I have not installed the 4th component of AVG Free; the Online Shield.

David
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.