Forum Thread: PSI won't start

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
rd52 PSI won't start
Member 31st May, 2017 17:59
Ranking: 21
Posts: 80
User Since: 4th Dec, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
It has been two days since the last time I was able to do a scan. Any others having this problem? My location is in Southern California.

Spiff RE: PSI won't start
Member 31st May, 2017 18:41
Score: 22
Posts: 47
User Since: 22nd Dec 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Last edited on 31st May, 2017 20:50
Thanks for your post.
Yes, I see the same.
Last time I initialized a PSI 3.0 scan was a week ago. Yesterday, I opened PSI to start a scan, but it didn't get past "Loading". The same, today. I guess the PSI server is down.
I've seen PSI server downtime before, but usually only for a short time.
Let's hope it'll be fixed soon.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
SumarianOne RE: PSI won't start
Member 1st Jun, 2017 00:44
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 1st Jun 2017
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Upgraded to Windows 10 64 bit v1703 (Creators Edition) yesterday on Intel CPU

Uninstalled old Secunia 3.0 version
Reboot, download current Secunia PSI v3.0. and install

Launch it and get the "Loading" page forever....

Under Services, Secunia PSI Agent is running, automatic, but Secunia Update Agent is not present.
Tried starting it, but no help:

Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.15063]
(c) 2017 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\WINDOWS\system32>cd c:\

c:\>cd program files (x86)

c:\Program Files (x86)>cd Secunia\PSI

c:\Program Files (x86)\Secunia\PSI>sua.exe -i -L
[05/31 15:24:43.650] Initializing Secunia Update Agent
[05/31 15:24:43.651] Determining computer name
[05/31 15:24:43.651] Computer name is 'RAMA'
[05/31 15:24:43.652] Workgroup Name is 'WORKGROUP'
[05/31 15:24:43.652] Installing service
[05/31 15:24:43.665] Requesting 'Secunia Update Agent' service start
[05/31 15:24:44.243] 'Secunia Update Agent' failed to start
[05/31 15:24:44.243] Secunia Update Agent 3.0.0.11005 shutting down

c:\Program Files (x86)\Secunia\PSI>

What else can I do?
Thanks,
Joe
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
rd52 RE: PSI won't start
Member 1st Jun, 2017 01:18
Score: 21
Posts: 80
User Since: 4th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
on 1st Jun, 2017 00:44, SumarianOne wrote:
Upgraded to Windows 10 64 bit v1703 (Creators Edition) yesterday on Intel CPU

Uninstalled old Secunia 3.0 version
Reboot, download current Secunia PSI v3.0. and install

Launch it and get the "Loading" page forever....

Under Services, Secunia PSI Agent is running, automatic, but Secunia Update Agent is not present.
Tried starting it, but no help:

Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.15063]
(c) 2017 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\WINDOWS\system32>cd c:\

c:\>cd program files (x86)

c:\Program Files (x86)>cd Secunia\PSI

c:\Program Files (x86)\Secunia\PSI>sua.exe -i -L
[05/31 15:24:43.650] Initializing Secunia Update Agent
[05/31 15:24:43.651] Determining computer name
[05/31 15:24:43.651] Computer name is 'RAMA'
[05/31 15:24:43.652] Workgroup Name is 'WORKGROUP'
[05/31 15:24:43.652] Installing service
[05/31 15:24:43.665] Requesting 'Secunia Update Agent' service start
[05/31 15:24:44.243] 'Secunia Update Agent' failed to start
[05/31 15:24:44.243] Secunia Update Agent 3.0.0.11005 shutting down

c:\Program Files (x86)\Secunia\PSI>

What else can I do?
Thanks,
Joe


>>Joe, I have been using the Creator Edition since early April. I do not think that this was your problem with Secunia. Secunia has worked for me every day, till the last two. Your problem is probably Secunia. I scan every day, when I am able to scan, I'll post it here.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
SumarianOne RE: PSI won't start
Member 1st Jun, 2017 02:14
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 1st Jun 2017
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I also run Norton Security and Malwarebytes. So I added exclusions for the Secunia .exe files in both and rebooted.
Same problem...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Spiff RE: PSI won't start
Member 1st Jun, 2017 03:13
Score: 22
Posts: 47
User Since: 22nd Dec 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
@SumarianOne/Joe,
As mentioned by rd52, and by me as well - PSI worked fine until very recently.
The issue must be with the Secunia/Flexera PSI server, not your system.
Allow Secunia/Flexera some time to find out there's an issue, and to fix it, and try again later.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Leendert Kip PSI won't start
Contributor 1st Jun, 2017 04:51
Score: 137
Posts: 611
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
I agree, PSI stopped working 31/5 at around 9pm local time. Nothing changed up to now. It's clear that there are server issued or maintenance. Just wait! Uninstalling/reinstalling doesn't help.

--
PC: PWA Computers
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
Kingston DDR3 ValueRam 4GB 1333
Kingston SSD SV300S 240GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Google Chrome 66.0.3359.117

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.11005
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 59.0.2NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
rd52 RE: PSI won't start
Member 1st Jun, 2017 15:20
Score: 21
Posts: 80
User Since: 4th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Just wanted to say, PSI finally opened and I was able to run a scan. I think this is the longest time that I've notice Secunia not working. I really like this product, and have been a long-time user of this useful software. Thanks to the powers that be for fixing PSI.
s



















s
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Spiff RE: PSI won't start
Member 1st Jun, 2017 15:34
Score: 22
Posts: 47
User Since: 22nd Dec 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Thanks for posting, rd52.
Same here, PSI works fine, now.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.