Forum Thread: Problem installing update

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Sun Microsystems
And, this specific program:
Sun Java System Access Manager 6.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
This user no longer exists Problem installing update
Member 2nd Apr, 2009 11:53
Ranking: 0
User Since: 1st Jan, 1970
System Score: N/A
I am trying to instal a downloaded update, Sun Java JRE 1.6.x / 6.x, as advised by scan manager. I am getting a message saying that I must close the program manager. Is this the java manager? if so where is it please? If not what have i to close? As u can probably tell I am not very technical. Hopefully u can help quickly. I am running XP with all updates. Regards michael

GoneToPlaid RE: Problem installing update
Member 3rd Apr, 2009 01:48
Score: 5
User Since: 1st Apr 2009
Get Java 6 Update 13 from here:

http://java.sun.com/javase/downloads/index.jsp

You want the first download which is listed under

Java SE Runtime Environment (JRE)
JRE 6 Update 13

Installing will require that you close down your web browser(s). I have never seen it ask to close down Program Manager.

on 2nd Apr, 2009 11:53, wrote:
I am trying to instal a downloaded update, Sun Java JRE 1.6.x / 6.x, as advised by scan manager. I am getting a message saying that I must close the program manager. Is this the java manager? if so where is it please? If not what have i to close? As u can probably tell I am not very technical. Hopefully u can help quickly. I am running XP with all updates. Regards michael

Was this reply relevant?
+0
This user no longer exists RE: Problem installing update
Member 3rd Apr, 2009 10:42