Forum Thread: NOS Microsystems getPlus ActiveX Control 1.x

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
And, this specific program:

This thread has been marked as locked.
bjm__ NOS Microsystems getPlus ActiveX Control 1.x
Member 16th May, 2009 00:11
Ranking: 64
Posts: 374
User Since: 9th Mar, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
My PSI Scan lists > NOS Microsystems getPlus ActiveX Control 1.x
Open Folder > c:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files\gp.ocx does not exist. My Windows Downloaded Program Files folder is empty. Don't know where this ActiveX came from or why the Installation Path is empty. But, PSI lists it with Patched Programs. Comments or information about this listing appreciated.
Respectfully submitted,
bjm-

Maurice Joyce RE: NOS Microsystems getPlus ActiveX Control 1.x
Handling Contributor 16th May, 2009 08:54
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 16th May, 2009 08:57
Try.

Start>Control Panel>Folder Options - click on the VIEW tab

Activate Show Hidden Files & Folders

U should see the file in the path given by PSI - the programme is a Download Manager.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
bjm__ RE: NOS Microsystems getPlus ActiveX Control 1.x
Member 16th May, 2009 20:09
Score: 64
Posts: 374
User Since: 9th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 16th May, 2009 21:06
Maurice Joyce,
Thank you for your interest in my issue..
Thank you for the information the Program is a Download Manager. My Folder Options View is always set to "show hidden files and folders". I have an NOS folder in my Program Data directory but it's empty. PSI NOS listing has an Icon that resembles the Adobe Reader Icon. I wonder if NOS is somehow related to the recent Adobe Reader security patch. The URL's are images of PSI scan. Don't know if Forum will allow actionable links or copy/paste will work. Images uploaded with Imagehost.org as you can see from the string. I hope they will work. (URL's are the same image)
http://g.imagehost.org/view/0121/NOS
http://g.imagehost.org/0121/NOS.jpg
[url=http://g.imagehost.org/view/0121/NOS][img]http://g...
Respectfully
bjm-
PSI Open Folder goes to "Downloaded Program Files" and the folder is empty.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
bjm__ RE: NOS Microsystems getPlus ActiveX Control 1.x
Member 16th May, 2009 20:42
Score: 64
Posts: 374
User Since: 9th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 16th May, 2009 20:49
postscript
Imagehost links appear to work..I sent three not knowing the best link to include
bjm_

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: NOS Microsystems getPlus ActiveX Control 1.x
Handling Contributor 17th May, 2009 13:33
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
U are correct. Adobe appear to be using the Company as their download manager.
details here:
http://www.sans.org/newsletters/risk/display.php?v...

I do not use Adobe products therefore unable to try & pinpoint the "missing" file on my system.

Is it showing as an add on in your browser?

IE8 - Tools>Manage Add Ons

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
bjm__ RE: NOS Microsystems getPlus ActiveX Control 1.x
Member 17th May, 2009 19:26
Score: 64
Posts: 374
User Since: 9th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 17th May, 2009 19:29
Maurice,
Thanks for sticking with this thread...I reviewed the sans.org info..thanks for introducing me to sans.org. It appears to be an IT site or not? NOS info appears to be from 08'. My NOS listing just appeared with the recent Adobe Reader patch. So, you helped me to appreciate it is related to Adobe Reader. I seldom open IE8. I run FF. I did check IE8 add-ons and don't find NOS. Thanks again for your interest. I've considered abandoning Adobe Reader for all the obvious reasons. Might you care to share what PDF app you're using.
Compaq Presario Notebook
Vista HomePrem SP1 32 bit
IE8
Respectfully
bjm-
P.S. Maybe I'll email Secunia. I'm curious why PSI finds what I cannot. I'm curious if the NOS was just a one time app used with the latest Adobe patch and PSI is finding a remnant. I'm curious were you able to view the screen shot. Just started using imagehost.org
Sincerly appreciate our exchange.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: NOS Microsystems getPlus ActiveX Control 1.x
Handling Contributor 17th May, 2009 22:24
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I work a fair bit with PDF files so use Nuance (Scansoft) Professional

Details here but is not free or cheap.
http://www.nuance.co.uk/pdfconverter/
I have also copied from one of many posts I have done on the dreaded Adobe. It may be helpful to U.

COPIED POST.
If like many U only use Adobe Reader to read web pages & email attachments in the PDF format U only require a reader.

The updated Adobe (9.1) has put 3 elements in add/remove
Adobe Reader
Acrobat.com
Air
in all a total of 41.1MB!

Foxit is about 4MB

If U prefer Foxit U can uninstall all 3 Adobe elements and still read any PDF document perfectly.
Foxit can be downloaded from here:
http://www.foxitsoftware.com/pdf/reader/down_reade...

I have had 5 ActiveX files added to my scan list by Secunia over the last few days. Clearly they are adding them to help us track more potential areas of insecurity. Very interesting on why U cannot find the file. Although secure it may be worth checking it out with secunia support.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: NOS Microsystems getPlus ActiveX Control 1.x
Secunia Official 22nd May, 2009 08:55
Hi

ActiveX Controls can be very tricky, they are often installed on the users computer without any notice, additional, Windows does not display the actual files, but rather the "Package" they come in.

Try to navigate to the c:\Windows\Downloaded Program Files.

You most likely have several "Packages" inside this folder.

If you rightclick one of them you have 3 Options:

Update
Remove
Properties


Go to Properties and in the new window, switch to the Dependency tab.
Now you should be able to see what files the "Package" uses. (Not all Packages will have files listed)

Now its just to locate the Package with the insecure file, and get rid of it.



--
Kind regards,

Morten Hansen
Secunia PSI Support

Secunia PSI
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal

bjm__ RE: NOS Microsystems getPlus ActiveX Control 1.x
Member 22nd May, 2009 19:06
Score: 64
Posts: 374
User Since: 9th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 22nd May, 2009 19:56
Good day Morten Hansen
Thank you for your interest in my issue.
I have previously indicated my Secunia System Score is 100%. So, I do not have an "Insecure" issue per my 100% System Score.
To summarize my query and this thread.

NOS Microsystems getPlus ActiveX Control 1.x 1.5.2.19 appeared one day in my PSI "Patched Programs" list. PSI "Open Folder" points to an empty folder. I manually navigated to the Installation Path c:\WINDOWS\Downloaded Program Files(as you instructed in your post)and it was also empty. I suspected an Adobe connection which was confirmed by Maurice Joyce. I confirmed to Maurice Joyce that I had searched my IE8 Add-Ons for a NOS or Adobe ActiveX that may be associated with my recent (May09') Adobe Reader 8.1.5 update/patch. I have no Add-On I can identify as NOS or Adobe or ? with a recent (May09') File date.

Your reply offered ActiveX Controls can be very tricky. This NOS ActiveX must be one tricky monkey! PSI points to an empty folder. Please view images ~
[url=http://f.imagehost.org/view/0222/NOS][img]http://f...
http://f.imagehost.org/view/0222/NOS
[url=http://f.imagehost.org/view/0442/C_Windows_DL_PF][...
http://f.imagehost.org/view/0442/C_Windows_DL_PF

So, my issue remains and I agree with you. This NOS ActiveX is one tricky monkey!
Respectfully submitted for reply
bjm-


Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
amisam RE: NOS Microsystems getPlus ActiveX Control 1.x
Member 8th Jul, 2009 17:53
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 8th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Found solution in thread:

insecure IE8 browser, started by famousinwar.

Maurice Joyce has solution that worked for me.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
bjm__ RE: NOS Microsystems getPlus ActiveX Control 1.x
Member 8th Jul, 2009 18:49
Score: 64
Posts: 374
User Since: 9th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 8th Jul, 2009 18:50
Hi amisam,
can you post link
thanks for your interest
bjm-
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
amisam RE: NOS Microsystems getPlus ActiveX Control 1.x
Member 8th Jul, 2009 18:55
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 8th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Here it is:

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/219...

my system is happy now...:)
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: NOS Microsystems getPlus ActiveX Control 1.x
Handling Contributor 8th Jul, 2009 18:55
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
This is the link
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/219...

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
bjm__ RE: NOS Microsystems getPlus ActiveX Control 1.x
Member 8th Jul, 2009 19:22
Score: 64
Posts: 374
User Since: 9th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Thank you amisam and Maurice.
I found that tricky monkey ocx (with your help) and made it go by by.
Secunia protects me and also teaches me. Secunia is just like family.
Regards
bjm-
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
johnjemcameron RE: NOS Microsystems getPlus ActiveX Control 1.x
Member 22nd Feb, 2010 15:33
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 20th Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Well, I just went through the exact same thing. Glad I found this thread. I can confirm that its an Adobe download effect (I did an upgrade on 1/25/10 and got it). The upgrade I downloaded is newer than this thread, so Adobe hasn't fixed the problem.

There's a gp.inf file that comes with the gp.ocx one and gp.inf ends with

[hook1]
run="%EXTRACT_DIR%\getPlusPlus_Adobe_reg.exe" /ie
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nova RE: NOS Microsystems getPlus ActiveX Control 1.x
Member 23rd Feb, 2010 20:14
Score: 0
Posts: 35
User Since: 20th Jan 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi, I have found that in Add/Remove via Control Panel, the Adobe DLM/GetPlus
can be removed from there. After removing both, then restart your computer.

This should also remove the gp.ocx files and the gp.inf as well.

The DLM/GetPlus downloader etc is supposed to disconnect after being used, but does not sometimes.

Hope that solves your problem. I think also as Anthony has advised, clear your recycle bin also.

Nova
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.