Forum Thread: OSI stalls after a while

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
OSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
jpsa OSI stalls after a while
Member 10th Aug, 2009 17:36
Ranking: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 14th Jan, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Sometimes, when using "Enable thorough system inspection", the OSI will run for half an hour or so, then apparently get stuck on some file.

The red activity animation still moves, but the file listed against "Status / Currently Processing" doesn't change (I waited for an hour or so).

It's not always the same file.

Any ideas?

Maurice Joyce RE: OSI stalls after a while
Handling Contributor 10th Aug, 2009 17:46
Score: 12325
Posts: 9,575
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Try this:
Secunia PSI needs to be able to connect to Secunia servers to complete its scanning. However, if you have not configured
the security settings of Internet Explorer, the Secunia PSI may be prevented from getting the scan results. To receive
your scan results, you need to do some changes to your Internet options.
To do this:
a. Open Internet Explorer.
b. Go to Tools>Internet Options>Security tab.
c. Select the Internet zone and click on the Custom Level button.
d. In Security Settings, go to the Scripting>Active Scripting option.
e. Make sure that Active Scripting is Enabled (rather than Disabled or Prompted).
f. Press OK then Yes.
g. Back in the Security tab, select the Trusted sites zone and click on the Sites button.
h. Look at the bottom of the page and take the tick from the box marked"Require server verification(HTTPS)for all site zones" then type in the following and press the Add button to add them to the Trusted Zone Sites list:
http://*.secunia.com
https://*.secunia.com
i. Press Close
j. Run the Secunia PSI again to view the scan results


--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1809 Build 17763.404
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
jpsa RE: OSI stalls after a while
Member 10th Aug, 2009 18:30
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 14th Jan 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Thank you for taking the time to reply, but I don't see how to apply this solution to my problem.

I'm using the OSI, not the PSI; I'm using Firefox and not IE; and a scan with "Enable thorough system inspection" unchecked completes normally, so presumably any relevant servers can be contacted as necessary.

Cheers,
John
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Slamgeden RE: OSI stalls after a while
Member 11th Aug, 2009 10:21
Score: 0
Posts: 181
User Since: 17th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 10th Aug, 2009 18:30, jpsa wrote:
Thank you for taking the time to reply, but I don't see how to apply this solution to my problem.

I'm using the OSI, not the PSI; I'm using Firefox and not IE; and a scan with "Enable thorough system inspection" unchecked completes normally, so presumably any relevant servers can be contacted as necessary.

Cheers,
John


Are you using a supported OS, or Windows 7?

--
Assorted Fnords.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
jpsa RE: OSI stalls after a while
Member 11th Aug, 2009 10:39
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 14th Jan 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
It's happened on XP and Vista
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Slamgeden RE: OSI stalls after a while
Member 14th Aug, 2009 09:16
Score: 0
Posts: 181
User Since: 17th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 11th Aug, 2009 10:39, jpsa wrote:
It's happened on XP and Vista


Are you using a firewall, or anything else that might time out a connection?
If so, allow this as an exception.

Are you running an old version of Java?
if so, get the latest version, after securely removing the old versions (Search the Forum for How-to's)

Are you using No-Script or other protection?
If so, allow all Secunia-related sites access.

Hope This Helps.

--
Assorted Fnords.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.